Youngsters Lingo?

Sleepyman

cannot say "jude" or "jam" now, confirm ppl say we are uncles!

Hey Toapayohkid,are you ard when Adrian Lim is hanged? If u are then u uncle

last time we say go disco... now they say go clubbing

last time we say go karaoke... now they say go sing K

last time we say go chiu par lim jiu.... now they say go pubbing

last time we say go skating..... now they say blading

last time mata cheng ter kor.....

wah lan eh... now a days all kid all "creative"..... knn don't know kong simi lj.... one piece one piece.... wanna tell you late just say lim peh lai liao.... eh sai tan tio tan, beh sai tan tio mai tan..... [lipsrsealed]

lai..this is called EDMW english..somehow it has become the mainstream electronic spelling for teens nowadays..let me translate to you..

"moi ish on moi way riao. sowwy eveybutties who ish waitng for moi. chui noe i don rike to rush de."

Direct translation: Me is on my way liao. sorry everybody who is waiting for me. You know i don't like to rush 'de'

Proper English: I am on my way already. Apologies to everyone who is waiting. I don't like to rush, you know

I thought the purpose of SMS lingo was to save on the number of characters, but this new lingo seems to less efficient??

E.g. It is more efficient to type "my" instead of "moi", and "is" instead of "ish", isn't it??

Me too! And in those days, we used to call pretty girls jude instead of chio!

Heh heh, we're same generation [:)]

Nowadays if i use that term, get blank looks from today's youngsters...

Edited by Sosaria

using the term "jude" are probably early 30s-40s. am i rite?

i use a mixture of them. use the word jude sometimes as it sounds nicer. chio sounds abit crude. [laugh]

i used to hate SMS..simply because it's v diff to bring the point across..

but after army, i saw the importance of covering backside..therefore, now impt stuff i try to SMS so as to keep record in case people play punk with me, i can whack back..

so, now i am using a phone with qwerty keyboard..making typing sms so much easier, and i have unlimited sms.. [thumbsup]

still prefer the predictive text function of on the alpha numeric keypads. for qwerty to work for me, a full size keyboard is required. heh.

using the term "jude" are probably early 30s-40s. am i rite?

i use a mixture of them. use the word jude sometimes as it sounds nicer. chio sounds abit crude. [laugh]

i know that term... and fall into the age group you mention. [;)]

I think i also realised tHaT tH3 n3w3R gEn3Ra7i0n tYp3s lIkE 7his

( I think i also realised that the newer generation types like this )

damn i spent 5 minutes typing that first line...

Hey Jude don't make it bad

Take a sad song and make it better

Remember to let her into your heart

Then you can start to make it better

hahaha. old skool! [thumbsup]