First timer reservist question

Curahee

I'm going for my first reservist after CNY, as i'm into my own small biz, a one man show biz as i cannot afford to hire helpers, my whole biz is gg to be affected when i'm in camp 2 weeks, is it possible to get a half day off from officers during certain days to settle my biz, if not customers all run away, jia lat liao.... Any reservist old bird can share whether such request can be granted? If not i have to think of alternatives.

On 1/19/2009 at 6:43 AM, Curahee said:

I'm going for my first reservist after CNY, as i'm into my own small biz, a one man show biz as i cannot afford to hire helpers, my whole biz is gg to be affected when i'm in camp 2 weeks, is it possible to get a half day off from officers during certain days to settle my biz, if not customers all run away, jia lat liao.... Any reservist old bird can share whether such request can be granted? If not i have to think of alternatives.

1st day of reporting, go see your CO and explain. He may consider to give you time off on certain days. However, all these is depending on training plans and needs. Good luck.

I can only think of 2 alternatives. firstly, defer this time and probably for the next ICT, get someone to jagar.

Alternatively, tell OC to allow u book out early..... say 4-5pm? if u say book out 12pm...think confirm they wont allow.

That'll depend on your reservist superior liao ....

speak to your CO/S1/OC/PC. Unless they are kuai lan, otherwise, arrangements can be made.

Whats your rank and appt? Are you KAH?

Call up your reservist unit first, speak to your Chief Clerk about this matter, make a record of your discussion,

and ask her to have put into your case file. On the day of reporting, speak with yrou CSM about this matter,

and have brought up to your PC/OC. You need to go step by step, (proper channel) This is a small matter,

and I've seen early release of some of my men on these grounds. In saying, you will not be allowed to leave if training starts, meaning,

during a field exercise, except for exceptional cases. (wife giving birth or death etc...)

Edited by Mazdaowner

On 1/19/2009 at 6:53 AM, Guyver said:

That'll depend on your reservist superior liao ....

From my buddy who is also OMO.

Chief Clerk says give him 6 months notice to make alternative arrangement liao

CO say depends on training schedule (he only booked out a total of 2 1/2 day in a 2 weeks)

Even when he ask to be excused from weapon familiarization (in preparation for live firing),

CO says it's important in case he forget how to handle, he offer to prove he can, but CO say it's essential to ensure no accident.

My advise after hearing from him.

Prepare for the worse and bring in extra phone/battery and charger including car charger.

He also smuggle in a smart phone to reply email, do quotation.

Depends on your unit and unit head.

Else, ask for deferment.

Actually for OMO, can request for deferment as there's no incoming revenue during your absence. There are certain guidelines that allows u to do this but u have to check out www.ns.sg

On 1/19/2009 at 7:16 AM, Osiris said:

From my buddy who is also OMO.

Chief Clerk says give him 6 months notice to make alternative arrangement liao

CO say depends on training schedule (he only booked out a total of 2 1/2 day in a 2 weeks)

Even when he ask to be excused from weapon familiarization (in preparation for live firing),

CO says it's important in case he forget how to handle, he offer to prove he can, but CO say it's essential to ensure no accident.

My advise after hearing from him.

Prepare for the worse and bring in extra phone/battery and charger including car charger.

He also smuggle in a smart phone to reply email, do quotation.

No need smuggle la. I think can apply for some kind of permit. My reservist mate brought his whole Mac laptop in and used it openly. He's a OMO freelance designer.

you better tell them as early as possible.... but normally will be granted... if not, just appeal higher and higher, they hate this

but some siao on unit then just too bad.... my friend wife going to give birth that period also cannot off. they say got give birth then give early off in the late afternoon... not even a half day....

Bro, depends on your training programme ... [nod][nod][nod]

If your reservist unit is 'On the Bola' type, chances are rare especially if you have got outfield training [:/]

They would at most give you some 'Time Off' during the days where training is not that essential one [nod]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Bro, speak to your OC first but it'll all depends on your training program.

Good luck! [thumbsup]

On 1/19/2009 at 8:39 AM, Ngck said:

you better tell them as early as possible.... but normally will be granted... if not, just appeal higher and higher, they hate this

but some siao on unit then just too bad.... my friend wife going to give birth that period also cannot off. they say got give birth then give early off in the late afternoon... not even a half day....

Actually depend on your rank also, if you got chocolate bar, a lot of things can be sorted out. If you dun have the bar, a lot of things u can 4get about it.. That is life, that is SAF

On 1/19/2009 at 8:46 AM, Yellowbird said:

Actually depend on your rank also, if you got chocolate bar, a lot of things can be sorted out. If you dun have the bar, a lot of things u can 4get about it.. That is life, that is SAF

in some cases yeah... but if you got the gift of the gab, then no worries.... my salesman friend have "made it" several times...

its also depends how you present the story...... unless the OC super duper siao on want to get NS man of the year / RECON 1 type....