Cataract Surgery

what're the symptons/tell-tale signs that you've cataracts?

For me, I noticed that when using the PC, I had to shift my head left and right

as my vision seemed to be blurred down the middle. I believe its because of the lens

slowly clouding up.

It got progressively worse and I found out my degree jumped from 600+ to 1000 within

less than a year. Went to SNEC for check up and the rest is history.

I would recommend Dr Chan Choi Mun to anyone who is making an appointment there.

She has a calming personality and takes the time to explain everything in detail to you

and you feel at ease with her in charge.

For me, I noticed that when using the PC, I had to shift my head left and right

as my vision seemed to be blurred down the middle. I believe its because of the lens

slowly clouding up.

It got progressively worse and I found out my degree jumped from 600+ to 1000 within

less than a year. Went to SNEC for check up and the rest is history.

I would recommend Dr Chan Choi Mun to anyone who is making an appointment there.

She has a calming personality and takes the time to explain everything in detail to you

and you feel at ease with her in charge.

By the way, forgot to add that every single cent of my op was covered by my medical insurance under Pru Shield. I paid first, (partial deduction from medisave and partial cash) and made the claim

after the op. They reimbursed fully after about 3 weeks if I remember correctly.

Hi TS,

Not to worry I had on my right eye years back. It started when I have to change my glasses after 3 months thought the prescription was wrong but was advise by my optometry to see an eye doctor and was diagnose with cataract on one eye.

Had several pre-ops check up follow by a day surgery lasted for half a day after that next day follow up check up follow by next week then becomes half yearly.

During ops I was put to sleep so when I wake up everything was done I was told to go home and rest.

Good thing is my degree reduce from 700 to 100.

Hi, What type of implant lens did you go for? Is it the Monofocal or Multifocal ?

Wow didn't know there was such a thread in this forum...

Just to share my experience...

I had high myopia....10 diopters on both eyes.

Last June, i had retina detachment on my right eye... went to  NUH A&E

Mine was the worst kind....mascula off.... had the surgery to "re-attach" it...It was GA and the whole operation plus recovery from GA was almost 3 hrs... The method used was vitrectomy and a gas bubble was inserted into the right eye. You can google all about the recovery period after vitrectomy....  Was given hospitalisation leave of almost 1 month.. After the operation, the surgeon told me due to the insertion of the gas bubble; it might expedite the cataract growth in the operated eye. Some might not have it years later...some might have it months later.

3 months after the operation, the doctor said my recovery was good..and  I can proceed to make a new pair of glasses if necessary.. immediately after i had put on  the new pair of glasses; found that my vision was not really that good... went for my periodic checkup in Jan this year and found that my myopia in the operated eye had gone North...and the doctor saw some sign of early cataract....so I said let's monitor the situation.

went back for my periodic check up in Mar and this time my myopia seem to have drop at least based on the machine read out.. The doctor said there was sign of cataract on my right eye...and the myopia will go yo yo (up and down).. said I should consider a cataract operation.

Upon checking, found there was slight cataract on my left eye too.

So decided to go for both eyes..starting with my right eye first but I could only choose monodical lens due to my mascula off detachment. 

Did my cataract surgery in early May , the result was fantastic...the improvement can be seen the next day. The operation was very simple.

put eye drop and using LA... the process was within 30 min... the whole process from checking in and leaving the hospital (NUH) was few hours.

Given almost 1 month of hospitalisation leave... supposed to do my left eye one week later....but last minute kena another medical complication...went for another surgery instead  lolx..

Finally did my left eye 2 weeks ago....using multifocal lens.  

Again the impact can be seen immediately.

The period between the right and left eye operation was really terrible ..

I couldn't see anything on even my mobile phone with my right eye. I will either have to wear my old glasses (with the right lens removed), or bring the phone very close to my left eye... and when I tried to clear some work using my notebook... I will either wear my old glasses  which look weird without one of the lens....or without wearing spec; but the screen font size was increased to 200% lolx. However I could still drive without glasses...the feeling was shiok...

but now with the implant of the multifocal lens on my right eye, I can read anything far or near without any glasses; even those small wording on audio CD cover. Quite remarkable ... this is after wearing glasses for couple of decades and progressive lens glasses in the last 4 years!

For those who have doubt on having IOL implant, go for it..

No regret..of cos it means removal of our natural lens but sometime we need some artificial mean to improve our daily life experience !!

Cheers.

I have tried to delay this op since the beginning of this thread 7 years ago, but finally my time has come.

Now contemplating which lens to choose. Multifocal len seem the best of all but success rate only 60 to 70% (due to halo vision at night side effect).

Does those whom have cataract having periodic back of the eye aching symptoms? Thanks 

Wow didn't know there was such a thread in this forum...

Just to share my experience...

I had high myopia....10 diopters on both eyes.

Last June, i had retina detachment on my right eye... went to  NUH A&E

Mine was the worst kind....mascula off.... had the surgery to "re-attach" it...It was GA and the whole operation plus recovery from GA was almost 3 hrs... The method used was vitrectomy and a gas bubble was inserted into the right eye. You can google all about the recovery period after vitrectomy....  Was given hospitalisation leave of almost 1 month.. After the operation, the surgeon told me due to the insertion of the gas bubble; it might expedite the cataract growth in the operated eye. Some might not have it years later...some might have it months later.

3 months after the operation, the doctor said my recovery was good..and  I can proceed to make a new pair of glasses if necessary.. immediately after i had put on  the new pair of glasses; found that my vision was not really that good... went for my periodic checkup in Jan this year and found that my myopia in the operated eye had gone North...and the doctor saw some sign of early cataract....so I said let's monitor the situation.

went back for my periodic check up in Mar and this time my myopia seem to have drop at least based on the machine read out.. The doctor said there was sign of cataract on my right eye...and the myopia will go yo yo (up and down).. said I should consider a cataract operation.

Upon checking, found there was slight cataract on my left eye too.

So decided to go for both eyes..starting with my right eye first but I could only choose monodical lens due to my mascula off detachment. 

Did my cataract surgery in early May , the result was fantastic...the improvement can be seen the next day. The operation was very simple.

put eye drop and using LA... the process was within 30 min... the whole process from checking in and leaving the hospital (NUH) was few hours.

Given almost 1 month of hospitalisation leave... supposed to do my left eye one week later....but last minute kena another medical complication...went for another surgery instead  lolx..

Finally did my left eye 2 weeks ago....using multifocal lens.  

Again the impact can be seen immediately.

The period between the right and left eye operation was really terrible ..

I couldn't see anything on even my mobile phone with my right eye. I will either have to wear my old glasses (with the right lens removed), or bring the phone very close to my left eye... and when I tried to clear some work using my notebook... I will either wear my old glasses  which look weird without one of the lens....or without wearing spec; but the screen font size was increased to 200% lolx. However I could still drive without glasses...the feeling was shiok...

but now with the implant of the multifocal lens on my right eye, I can read anything far or near without any glasses; even those small wording on audio CD cover. Quite remarkable ... this is after wearing glasses for couple of decades and progressive lens glasses in the last 4 years!

For those who have doubt on having IOL implant, go for it..

No regret..of cos it means removal of our natural lens but sometime we need some artificial mean to improve our daily life experience !!

Cheers.

I have tried to delay this op since the beginning of this thread 7 years ago, but finally my time has come.

Now contemplating which lens to choose. Multifocal len seem the best of all but success rate only 60 to 70% (due to halo vision at night side effect).

Does those whom have cataract having periodic back of the eye aching symptoms? Thanks 

My mono lens is coming to 3 mths...while my multifocal is into 1.5 mths post ops....

for the halo vision, it is a case of if you don't know what is it... you won't experience it.

thus far, I am doing ok....similar to the days I was wearing my glasses in term of vision.

@RadX

solly reviving again old thread..

Went for yearly routine eye check up at CGH AND was kind of shocked that I have get the cataract done on both my eyes , left one needing sort of immediate attention and right one later 

No tell tale signs whatsoever at all  until this routine check up -  they say it should be done reasonably fast as the pressure needs correction      

Couldn't understand the techno lingo but the doc kept on saying Primary Angle closure  suspect and some synaedice scar (on left)  and  the need to go for the procedure as its obscuring their view of the glaucoma (or something to that effect) 

They advised me to go for monofocal lens ( so I dont have to wear glasses for distance but need for reading) and if - multifocal then both ways dont need glasses but they advised me against the multifocal which some have had hiccups and then had to laser again

They told me the cost is about $1,450 per each eye (subsidized ) though not sure if can claim insurance (though I have normal Medishield plus Rider (integrated plan); Anyways that is not an issue ..... but the sudden news left me shell shocked of the need for surgery ASAP (though CGH says currently the waiting time is 4-6 months but they have slotted me becos of the Urgency in 35 days time and op is by a Consultant with SNEC (SGH) which my Mom see's too ) so I felt a little more comfortable   

24 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

@RadX

Went for yearly routine eye check up at CGH AND was kind of shocked that I have get the cataract done on both my eyes , left one needing sort of immediate attention and right one later 

No tell tale signs whatsoever at all  until this routine check up -  they say it should be done reasonably fast as the pressure needs correction      

Couldn't understand the techno lingo but the doc kept on saying Primary Angle closure  suspect and some synaedice scar (on left)  and  the need to go for the procedure as its obscuring their view of the glaucoma (or something to that effect) 

They advised me to go for monofocal lens ( so I dont have to wear glasses for distance but need for reading) and if - multifocal then both ways dont need glasses but they advised me against the multifocal which some have had hiccups and then had to laser again

They told me the cost is about $1,450 per each eye (subsidized ) though not sure if can claim insurance (though I have normal Medishield plus Rider (integrated plan); Anyways that is not an issue ..... but the sudden news left me shell shocked of the need for surgery ASAP (though CGH says currently the waiting time is 4-6 months but they have slotted me becos of the Urgency in 35 days time and op is by a Consultant with SNEC (SGH) which my Mom see's too ) so I felt a little more comfortable   

Sorry to hear about it. A second opinion won’t hurt. 

keep the schedule for op but get an escalation referral from polyclinic to see a specialist at TTSH if no private route 

19 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

@RadX

You would have probably gotten used to the degradation in contrast bro

go for it. Fully subsidized and you can sian XMM clearer after that

yes, monofocals better really 

all the best

21 minutes ago, RadX said:

You will be in and out faster than sex but the post care is key

Oh didn’t know surgery got orgasm ...... liddat @Angcheek surely go for multiple times 😆

26 minutes ago, RadX said:

You would have probably gotten used to the degradation in contrast bro

go for it. Fully subsidized and you can sian XMM clearer after that

yes, monofocals better really 

all the best

Absolutely can’t feel diff in current vision though last year routine check the doc did mention onset is there but said nothing much of it to like needing an earlier than normal like almost 15 month review 

Edited by BanCoe

31 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Sorry to hear about it. A second opinion won’t hurt. 

keep the schedule for op but get an escalation referral from polyclinic to see a specialist at TTSH if no private route 

But won’t TTSH docs be on the same portal too ; also if i go to a polyclinic and ask for referral won’t they be able to see the case noted of CGH ?? Since they are on Singhealth platform ?? 

1 minute ago, BanCoe said:

But won’t TTSH docs be on the same portal too ; also if i go to a polyclinic and ask for referral won’t they be able to see the case noted of CGH ?? Since they are on Singhealth platform ?? 

I would say at your age, do it! The cataract ripened aldy la

yes, progression can be fast 

5 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Absolutely can’t feel diff in current vision though last year routine check the doc did mention onset is there but said nothing much of it to like needing an earlier than normal like almost 15 month review 

Sometimes certain factors can accelerate it too like exposure to sunlight. You did mention intra ocular pressure change ? 

anyway you would have had that flash test first and pre surgery testing as well to determine the lens correction 

15 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Oh didn’t know surgery got orgasm ...... liddat @Angcheek surely go for multiple times 😆

Can change into Xray eyes ... i can see thruuuuuu. 🤣

32 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

One undesirable thing to happen but also to look forward to

28 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

Donno...I did that when I went to NEC then TTSH...both sides tested this and that then said same thing to me so I just ignored both 

8 minutes ago, mersaylee said:

Donno...I did that when I went to NEC then TTSH...both sides tested this and that then said same thing to me so I just ignored both 

Nec? Shd go sharp 

then eyesight sharp