Akula Turbocharged January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 Have owned and driven both 4 and 6 cycs. In terms of smoothness and shiok factor, I would say the 4 cyc has improved over the years. But the purr of the 6 makes that difference. I can also understand why people buy the 4 cyc bmw. Last I asked , the reason was mostly becos it was the cheapest way to own the badge. Nothing against 4 cyc cars. Err, you are stating the obvious. Who makes both 4 and 6 cylinder engines and put the 4 cylinder engine model higher up than the 6 cylinder one??? 4 cylinder engines are generally the starting/entry level for these "premium" makes. And by that yes they are the cheapest way to get into the brand. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 Err, you are stating the obvious. Who makes both 4 and 6 cylinder engines and put the 4 cylinder engine model higher up than the 6 cylinder one??? 4 cylinder engines are generally the starting/entry level for these "premium" makes. And by that yes they are the cheapest way to get into the brand. but then again, who minds being seen in a bmw; be it 320i or 735i? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 but then again, who minds being seen in a bmw; be it 320i or 735i? who? right now, that would be me. I mind being seen in a 320i or a 520i. Frankly i would buy a Volvo instead Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Binxuan 1st Gear January 19, 2009 Author Share January 19, 2009 guess the next cheapest way to get into the brand + have an enjoyable ride is to top up 20k and get a used 325 coupe.. =) btw does anyone here have bad experiences with servicing of their bmw outside of performance motor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 guess the next cheapest way to get into the brand + have an enjoyable ride is to top up 20k and get a used 325 coupe.. =) btw does anyone here have bad experiences with servicing of their bmw outside of performance motor? servicing BMW outside PML, no problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 (edited) i don't mind to be seen driving a 320 or 520. here is my view and it is not directed to anyone who agree or diagree whether to get a 320 vs 325 or 520 vs 525. i have encounter the following scenarios when i greet my colleague at the car park Mr A drives a white Civic with Type R kits. I greet him, nice ride. He quickly responds that this is a normal civic and not type R. paiseh paiseh Mr B drives a Subaru WRX with nice kits I greet him, nice ride. He quickly responds that this is a normal WRX and not STi. paiseh paiseh Why ? Is it something wrong with a Civic or WRX ? Does that mean if there is a "big brother" in the league of the car make that you got and if you ain't get the big brother, anything lesser is "inferior" ?. If your ride aint got the most horsie, don't mention. My boss (a lady) bought a E200. I don't think she miss out anything because if I ask her a) this one Kompressor or non Kompressor ? b) supercharge or no SC ? c) 4pot or V6 ? d) bhp and torque ? I strongly believe she loves her Merc to the fullest. She feels great about her car because it is a good car and it serves her well. Can't we be proud of the car that we own as long as it serves us well ? Edited January 19, 2009 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue850r Clutched January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 i don't mind to be seen driving a 320 or 520. here is my view and it is not directed to anyone who agree or diagree whether to get a 320 vs 325 or 520 vs 525. i have encounter the following scenarios when i greet my colleague at the car park Mr A drives a white Civic with Type R kits. I greet him, nice ride. He quickly responds that this is a normal civic and not type R. paiseh paiseh Mr B drives a Subaru WRX with nice kits I greet him, nice ride. He quickly responds that this is a normal WRX and not STi. paiseh paiseh Why ? Is it something wrong with a Civic or WRX ? Does that mean if there is a "big brother" in the league of the car make that you got and if you ain't get the big brother, anything lesser is "inferior" ?. If your ride aint got the most horsie, don't mention. My boss (a lady) bought a E200. I don't think she miss out anything because if I ask her a) this one Kompressor or non Kompressor ? b) supercharge or no SC ? c) 4pot or V6 ? d) bhp and torque ? I strongly believe she loves her Merc to the fullest. She feels great about her car because it is a good car and it serves her well. Can't we be proud of the car that we own as long as it serves us well ? Your colleague are just being humble and they probably felt that there is room for improvement. Not that they feel inferior. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cbx750p 1st Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 My boss (a lady) bought a E200. I don't think she miss out anything because if I ask her a) this one Kompressor or non Kompressor ? b) supercharge or no SC ? c) 4pot or V6 ? d) bhp and torque ? I strongly believe she loves her Merc to the fullest. She feels great about her car because it is a good car and it serves her well. Honestly....wonder if your boss actually realise what's the diff between a Kompressor, SC, 4pot, V6 or bhp/torque....unless she is a speed freak....guess she goes with the Star in front because it is a sign that she is the boss and she have made it ! As for the regular worker like myself, we want our ride to look good so a bit of dressing up at a small cost would be okay. Cannot afford the real thing so at least make it look real ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 I know of many people who simply like to criticize the IL4 engine from BMW. Most have not even tried driving it but simply refuse it just because it's not an IL6. Do not forget, BMW actually makes one of the best IL4 engines. They are good performers and extremely smooth in operation. I had a 520i (courtesy car from PML) recently. I drove it for about 2 weeks and found the power to adequate for local driving (both highway and city). The engine was a smooth operator and surprisingly frugal. I took the car up to KL over the weekend and was crusing at 220 without much issues. Engine remained refine throughout but overtaking at higher speed (above 180) requires more effort. Overall, it wasn't a bad car and i can understand why people buy the 520i and even the 320i. It drives just as well as its IL6 siblings but consumes lesser and it's road-tax friendly. I ve driven the 320i all the way to penang and many times to KL,genting, cameron and back. 1/2 tank of fuel can get u to KL. Top speed of about 210-220kmh is possible with 4 adults. The car is lowered with sports suspension so hugs the road very well. I get to KL in 2 hours in moderate traffic averaging 150kmh. very reliable n great handling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skinky 1st Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 There has been a lot of advertisements in the Classified ads for this particular BMW coupe and the price is really ATTRACTIVE. Some of them are going as low as $138k with guaranteed COE. Does anyone have any experience with this particular model and do you think it's a good idea to get it from PI ? I know the 320 engine isn't really that good but 138-142k for a BMW coupe is really enticing.. haha Hi TS, Get the PI coupe if you really like it. Ignore people who say its underpowered etc etc or whether they say its the best way to enter the brand. Either they're green eyed or just a wet blanket. The il4 is one of the best engines out there on the market compared to audi, merc, toyota, honda etc etc. I think it even usurps Volvo's 5 cylinder and some V6s on the market. True, the il6 is smooth and creamy and great to cruise and yes of course there is more power. For the il4 and while on the NSH, i do wish there was abit more power, but in Singapore, there was never once i wished there was more power. But whenever i drive out the il6, it does drives much more smoothly and with less effort, but it does makan more petrol. It's a balance and i'm glad to experience both. If i had to choose and if PRICE was the same, i'll take il6 anytime. But if there is a premium to be paid, i'll happily take the entry level but still FANTASTIC il4. So ifs within ur budget, just get the 320coupe. It's a beautiful and sleek car. BMWs are designed to be a great driver's car, be it il4, il6, v8 or v10. Look at the bmw touring car championship, they are using an uptuned version of the il4 320si. Don't bother with wat people say. There is a good reason why 320 is one of the BEST selling cars in the world, and i dun think the reason is becos everyone is a badge whore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Hi TS, Get the PI coupe if you really like it. Ignore people who say its underpowered etc etc or whether they say its the best way to enter the brand. Either they're green eyed or just a wet blanket. The il4 is one of the best engines out there on the market compared to audi, merc, toyota, honda etc etc. I think it even usurps Volvo's 5 cylinder and some V6s on the market. True, the il6 is smooth and creamy and great to cruise and yes of course there is more power. For the il4 and while on the NSH, i do wish there was abit more power, but in Singapore, there was never once i wished there was more power. But whenever i drive out the il6, it does drives much more smoothly and with less effort, but it does makan more petrol. It's a balance and i'm glad to experience both. If i had to choose and if PRICE was the same, i'll take il6 anytime. But if there is a premium to be paid, i'll happily take the entry level but still FANTASTIC il4. So ifs within ur budget, just get the 320coupe. It's a beautiful and sleek car. BMWs are designed to be a great driver's car, be it il4, il6, v8 or v10. Look at the bmw touring car championship, they are using an uptuned version of the il4 320si. Don't bother with wat people say. There is a good reason why 320 is one of the BEST selling cars in the world, and i dun think the reason is becos everyone is a badge whore. Well Said! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Z750 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Well Said! personally, I have nothing against the bmw marquee and in fact am quite impressed with their technology. But somehow i get the feeling that BMW drivers are quite an elitist bunch. Stereotyping? Yes. But most of the posts here does nothing to disprove this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 if u really like it then buy it loh. BTW, 320 Coupe I think only PI bring in, PML only sell 325 n 335 coupe. Hack care what people say lah, those are just carsalesmen selling something else, or sour grapes, or dont even have a licence, never owned one and never driven one but pretending to talk big. Its yr $$ you decide how it shld be spent. Ka Kee Hua Hee Jio Ho Liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Hi TS, Get the PI coupe if you really like it. Ignore people who say its underpowered etc etc or whether they say its the best way to enter the brand. Either they're green eyed or just a wet blanket. The il4 is one of the best engines out there on the market compared to audi, merc, toyota, honda etc etc. I think it even usurps Volvo's 5 cylinder and some V6s on the market. True, the il6 is smooth and creamy and great to cruise and yes of course there is more power. For the il4 and while on the NSH, i do wish there was abit more power, but in Singapore, there was never once i wished there was more power. But whenever i drive out the il6, it does drives much more smoothly and with less effort, but it does makan more petrol. It's a balance and i'm glad to experience both. If i had to choose and if PRICE was the same, i'll take il6 anytime. But if there is a premium to be paid, i'll happily take the entry level but still FANTASTIC il4. So ifs within ur budget, just get the 320coupe. It's a beautiful and sleek car. BMWs are designed to be a great driver's car, be it il4, il6, v8 or v10. Look at the bmw touring car championship, they are using an uptuned version of the il4 320si. Don't bother with wat people say. There is a good reason why 320 is one of the BEST selling cars in the world, and i dun think the reason is becos everyone is a badge whore. Have driven the 320i as well and have nothing but praise for the engine and handling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 personally, I have nothing against the bmw marquee and in fact am quite impressed with their technology. But somehow i get the feeling that BMW drivers are quite an elitist bunch. Stereotyping? Yes. But most of the posts here does nothing to disprove this. Eh wait till you see Honda whores then you know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 (edited) There is a good reason why 320 is one of the BEST selling cars in the world, and i dun think the reason is becos everyone is a badge whore. That IS the reason loh...haha not saying that all who buys the 320i is a badge whore but let's be candid and honest about it. majority who do are. again this does not mean that people who buy better variants are definitely not badge whore. Edited January 20, 2009 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 There is a good reason why 320 is one of the BEST selling cars in the world really? one of BMW's biggest markets, the US, has no such model as the 320i. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maffie Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 (edited) That IS the reason loh...haha not saying that all who buys the 320i is a badge whore but let's be candid and honest about it. majority who do are. again this does not mean that people who buy better variants are definitely not badge whore. i agree with throttle. i've sat in 320s (before newest facelift) and drove them before... personally I think they are a POS from both a driving and passenger point of view. It totally CMI for a german car and for the price. It's really not-value-for-money. So if someone is not looking for value, driving characteristics or the comfort... the only reason left is the badge. Evos, STI, S2K and RX8 have better driving characteristics, with the former having better driving characteristics and the latter having comparable interior (and more power than the 320). If it's comfort with a bit of sportiness that you want... the new accord is much better and you can have a 3.5L V6 for the price as well (and about 10-15K leftover depending on your options) For the BMW 320 - the interior I think it's a bit too plasticky for the price you are paying - the engine is a POS... unless it's a point a to point b car. I mean, when there's no one around and there's a piece of long straight road ahead of you - you would put your footdown and end up in disappointment. - It drives o-k-a-y but nothing to shout about (for it's price) For all it's worth, the same person could have gotten a top notch japanese saloon/coupe/convert. Of course, the decision is ultimate up to oneself. If one values the badge more than anything else then... it's still up to him/her and i'd respect that. But I wouldn't like the person to be high and haughty because they are driving a 'BMW' and thinks 320 is a God-comissioned machine. Edited January 20, 2009 by Maffie ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...