Kelpie 2nd Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Hi all, Was watching a talk show about how poor celebrities survived financial hardship whether when young or once. I'm of the thought that the younger generation is indeed fortunate and prompted me to fire this topic. When I was a small boy, I went around selling biscuits by knocking at doors. I would be lucky if I get a S$2 as commission in one evening provided I sold away all. I also worked part-time in a renovation firm during primary school. My job is to solder neon light bulbs into pipings that they used for nightclubs. It is a dangerous task for a small boy, as I still have the burnt mark on my arms and legs till today. If the bulb didn't lighted up, I got slapped by the foreman and I earned $5 for one evening. Later on, the foreman runaway and I was owed 3 months of my $5. Still could remember when I 1st put on the Burger King uniform at the age of 15. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sleepyman Clutched January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 (edited) Clean up rubbish after NDP during NS considered? Anyway I did hse to hse sales b4 as a kid too. selling hair bands. sell 1 make 50 c... that time still pri 3-4... was really poor at that time... Then my whole family, mom, bro, sis did this accessories thing for a shop... must use the glue gun to stick... alot of burns that time... man 1 pc was 10 c... But strangely we were happy at that time... Edited January 15, 2009 by Sleepyman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 What are the most lowly job that you have done before? I served NS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Hi all, Was watching a talk show about how poor celebrities survived financial hardship whether when young or once. I'm of the thought that the younger generation is indeed fortunate and prompted me to fire this topic. When I was a small boy, I went around selling biscuits by knocking at doors. I would be lucky if I get a S$2 as commission in one evening provided I sold away all. I also worked part-time in a renovation firm during primary school. My job is to solder neon light bulbs into pipings that they used for nightclubs. It is a dangerous task for a small boy, as I still have the burnt mark on my arms and legs till today. If the bulb didn't lighted up, I got slapped by the foreman and I earned $5 for one evening. Later on, the foreman runaway and I was owed 3 months of my $5. Still could remember when I 1st put on the Burger King uniform at the age of 15. Regards, for me it was doing hamper wrapping...I was really bad in it..only managed to complete 3 in a day...haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Hi all, Was watching a talk show about how poor celebrities survived financial hardship whether when young or once. I'm of the thought that the younger generation is indeed fortunate and prompted me to fire this topic. When I was a small boy, I went around selling biscuits by knocking at doors. I would be lucky if I get a S$2 as commission in one evening provided I sold away all. I also worked part-time in a renovation firm during primary school. My job is to solder neon light bulbs into pipings that they used for nightclubs. It is a dangerous task for a small boy, as I still have the burnt mark on my arms and legs till today. If the bulb didn't lighted up, I got slapped by the foreman and I earned $5 for one evening. Later on, the foreman runaway and I was owed 3 months of my $5. Still could remember when I 1st put on the Burger King uniform at the age of 15. Regards, As long as it is hard earned money from a decent job, how can it be called lowly?? All my teenager/part time jobs, clearing tables, clearing rubbish, factory worker.. All decent one hor.. Nothing lowly about them.. Never steal, never rob, never harm people.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 I helped my auntie at her economic food stall when I was around 13? I earned 20$ then, worked from 10pm to morning... The only bad thing about this is that I am full of oily stench in the morning... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 (edited) Rubbish collector for me. Was 15 years old and wanted to buy an American Standard Fender Stratocaster (electric guitar). Worked for a month and blew it all at once for the guitar. The memories of maggots, brown water dripping out of torn plastic bags, the wonderful smells...etc linger on today... Oh btw, I still have the guitar today and it is very much a part of my professional toolbox which generates income for me. But it is zhng'd beyond recognition already... Edited January 15, 2009 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 worked in K fried chicken in 1992 to 93, earning S$2.10 per hour...during sec 2. after working there, i told myself not to eat the gravy of the whipped potatoes... ... then served NS, during my posting time after drop out of OBisir Cadet Skool, was posted to undergo driving course. waited for 2 months for my name to be pop in the course due to huge no. of applicants. Was made to sweep the surrounding areas daily from 8am to 5.30pm during that two months Damned.. The camp surrounding area was swept very clean, even cleaner than our botanic garden... until the next day, when fallen leaves filled up the surrounding area again... and it goes on and on... some recruits sweep until buay tahan, went AWOL becos of that.... those were the days.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 i heard they used used oil used to fry chicken into the whipped potatoe gravy right?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Used to work as a warehouse assistant in GM located at Tuas. It was in the early 90s. Got to see a lot of newly-shipped Opel Astra. It was a cleaners' job. Everyday wiped the car spare-parts placed on the shelves. Never-ending work but got to earn about S$40 a day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 these days very easy earn money so many part timers out there $100 a pop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 a packer at HP when i was 16..$3.50/hr i think. kanna pushed around by the malaysian supervisor. clerk at NUS, $7/hr..some engineering assistant at jurong island for $900/mth and air con technician at some "big" air con company in the west. guess wat? they asked me to wear used uniform and even BOOTS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldpen Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Well, when I was a kid (about primary 3) I sell Nasi Lemak from house to house. I forget how much I earned back then. Few cents I reckon. Its damn tiring but fun doing it with friends. Lower secondary, I help an uncle sell satay on bicycle. Earn about few dollars a day to help pay for school. Graduated to Macdonalds, Factory production worker (while O level), Despatch Rider while waiting for NS and after NS to pay for school. Not lowly by any means, just not my ideal job at the same time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerms Clutched January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 clean table at newton.. its not lowly... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idunspeed 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 At 9yo, I've worked as a gardener in one of the orchid farm in Jalan Kayu.. $1 per hour.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 i heard they used used oil used to fry chicken into the whipped potatoe gravy right?? the gravy is made of.... u know after frying....there bound be residue or those sediments left beneath the cooking oil? cos the oil, 1 week change 1 time (i cant remember how long change...) so after the oil is drained, there is this solid sediment of all the frying left at the bottom of the pit so what happens is that, they will take this whole solid thing (which is brown in colour and would be like one big piece), wrapped in those ''tracing paper''.....then put it under the equipment where they cooked the fries...under the hot hot light bulb leh... to dry it... after it is dried, then they pour hot water onto the sediments, blend it until it become gravy and is smooth flowing from there, they add this gravy onto ur mashed potatoes..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 Rubbish collector for me. Was 15 years old and wanted to buy an American Standard Fender Stratocaster (electric guitar). Worked for a month and blew it all at once for the guitar. The memories of maggots, brown water dripping out of torn plastic bags, the wonderful smells...etc linger on today... Oh btw, I still have the guitar today and it is very much a part of my professional toolbox which generates income for me. But it is zhng'd beyond recognition already... nice guitar u have there! i play the guitar too, have a yamaha classical and an ibanez electric. nice to know there are guitar players in MCF too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gliny Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...