Do cyclists have right to use pedestrian crossings?

Pringles

I wonder what is the status of these cyclists. Happened to me several times already. When the group of pedestrians clear the traffic light, suddenly a cyclist zooms in from no where and I almost hit him. Logically speaking, they do not have the right to use these crossings.

Who's rights is protected when a cyclist is knocked down at a pedestrian crossing?

Does anyone know?

On 1/15/2009 at 10:25 AM, Pringles said:

I wonder what is the status of these cyclists. Happened to me several times already. When the group of pedestrians clear the traffic light, suddenly a cyclist zooms in from no where and I almost hit him. Logically speaking, they do not have the right to use these crossings.

Who's rights is protected when a cyclist is knocked down at a pedestrian crossing?

Does anyone know?

You can refer to an old thread: "Offence for cyclist to cycle across zebra crossing?"at http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...&hl=cyclist for reference.

Regards,

On 1/15/2009 at 10:42 AM, Redstorm said:

From what I know, they can use but they are not allowed to cycle across. They have to push their bicycle across.

Ya, the law is there but I doubt the authorities enforce it.

Regards,

these cyclist are a hazard to motorist around them and they themselves..suddenly can transform from 'road traffic' to 'pedestrian'..

On 1/15/2009 at 10:42 AM, Redstorm said:

From what I know, they can use but they are not allowed to cycle across. They have to push their bicycle across.

yes. actually, i'm fine as long as they stop first and look, instead of assuming that drivers have seen them.

it's a great pity natural selection works over thousands of yrs. that's why so many idiots are still alive and causing trouble

Does anyone know?

Look look see see first, these buggers can jump out from anywhere. HORN the hell out of them!! [flowerface]

On 1/15/2009 at 1:30 PM, Vroomtattat said:

Look look see see first, these buggers can jump out from anywhere. HORN the hell out of them!! [flowerface]

Agree,especially when there is a blind spot....and yes,its the only time i get to use my horn [lipsrsealed] .

On 1/16/2009 at 2:50 AM, Voxster said:

even if it is an offence for cyclists to ride across, if u knock them, u are liable for "failing to keep a proper lookout".

Something like the TIB bus driver? They have no right but u knock them u wrong. So wat's there to argue liao?

Does anyone know?

Whoa! So many rights? Where do you check up these rights from anyway?

If that's the only cyclist that offended you, confront him there and then. Dun come to forum and drag every cyclist into it. If got balls go after that cyclist and kick him between the legs.

I'm not a cyclist btw. It's just that a lot of cowards dun have what it takes to confront the individual who offended them, come to forum and whine like a fagot. [laugh]

Being a cyclist is tough. Its like stuck between a rock & a very hard place. Ride on road, drivers complain, ride on Predristian, predistrain complain....

Singapore (except parks) are just not design for cyclists to be honest.

However, some times the riders also need to take some of the blaim.

1) Not bother to wear protective gears

2) not wanting to install backlights or at least wear reflective vest. Worst is some even wear black without them & ride at night

3) Dashing across zebra crossing. Applicable to Perdristain as well.

However, drivers, we should also look out for potiential danger . In Singapore, unless you are traveling on express way, chances are, you are travelling on high density crowded areas like HDB housing, school zone & CBD. Just drive slowly & responsibly, look out & drive especially slow when passing zebra & traffic lights.

Also as a rulz, when I wanted to overtake or change lane, usually, I will make sure (as far as possible) I am clear of bikes before doing so. Usually if there is a bike behind (especially at middle of lane) I will let it pass before I change lane. The last thing you need is to be guilty for someone else lives for the rest of your live.

Does anyone know?

A pedestrain is allowed to wheel a bicycle across a zebra crossing

A cyclist is not allowed to ride across a zebra crossing

[drivingcar]