Singapore bureaucrat's cooking trip sparks outcry

Chisiang

The story is blown out of proportion because of the crisis we are in. I agree in good times, no one will bat an eye. He's a civil servant not a politician. The latter will still do it, but keep quiet or spin the story the other way to gain points.

Everyone knows that our ministers are paid millions, but there is a reason why they don't go around in flashy watches, jewelleries, and super cars even though they can easily afford to.

Honestly, I will rather they spent their monies on the luxuries in SG, and pay taxes out of them, than to store them in a swiss bank, only to pass on to their children who may very likely migrate away.

45k meant alot ot us but not you...so pls go n find elsewhere to appreciate your little fine dining things in your life while i enjoy 2 veg+1meat economic rice in market/coffee shop

role n function for a perm sec has always stated clearly in the govt sector, but whether the person in question able to carry out or not is another concern...as i said again 45k to learn cut vegetables, wash potatoes etc. Perhaps this 45k also teach the students how to sayang and talk to chicken, fish, vegetable before cutting n marinating...LOL...duno how to cut and cook, learn from parents lah...unless someone who is brought up by a maid and not parents thus dun even know how to cook and wash

going by your reply, it seems like members need to check on their montly/yearly income before making a reply, least it offend some people from the lower or higher income group..

Precisely my point! I don't understand why some people keep insisting on seeing it that people are sore that he is spending 50k. Geez don't they have a brain.

Everyone knows that our ministers are paid millions, but there is a reason why they don't go around in flashy watches, jewelleries, and super cars even though they can easily afford to.

well.. tax payers here are trying to be high and mighty behind monitor.. what do you expect?

while they are holding their $2 a loaf gardenia bread while we have to overturn our keyboard for crumps.. the whining will go on..

they think they have a right to question, so let it be..

That's his money...we shouldn't bother at all... if we want to kaopeh, we should trace all the way back to their pay...

kaopeh y the government officials r so highly paid and when most of us are tightening belt for the moment, he can actually spend lavishly for cooking classes?

WTH.

If the gov wants to "jie tau sa ren" like you said, they can easily do him in in many other ways without resorting to this measure, and put the civil sector in bad light. Do you really think they are so dumb as to risk their reputation just to "do in" a civil servant??? If the gov wants, they can eradicate an MP easily, let alone a high level civil servant.

So u think this is an honest mistake?

A mistake that so many pairs of eyes at ST missed?

the rich can brag n show off and ultimately forgot one thing that is HUMBLE...even minister teo and civil servant head peter already voice out their disappointment on this mr braggie tan...mr braggie tan can mentioned in his blog like how he n his family spend a nice holiday in france but the mentioning of his career, his wife position and his son etc is basically trying to show off to everyone...lets hope this episode had let him fall to earth with a big thub and hurt his ego. This will also allow his son to learn the mistake that his father commits and hopefully he can grow up to be a useful humble person and not those richie spoilt son that take things for granted and only eyes to the sky

So u think this is an honest mistake?

A mistake that so many pairs of eyes at ST missed?

It's not a mistake. It's simply the case that all the eyes at ST are living in the same ivory tower. Therefore they were unable to spot anything wrong with the article.

So you think it's a conspiracy theory to do a civil servant in? And at the same time risk the reputation of the entire civil service sector???

LOL

LOL

It's not a mistake. It's simply the case that all the eyes at ST are living in the same ivory tower. Therefore they were unable to spot anything wrong with the article.

So you think it's a conspiracy theory to do a civil servant in? And at the same time risk the reputation of the entire civil service sector???

LOL

LOL

You take action against the sacrificial lamb and prove your empathy with the masses lor...reputation still intact.

after the mutton kenna chopped, all those baying for blood will be pacified and return to their normal routine, taking comfort in the fact that those at the top feel their pain and share the same view.

machiam one big happy family, papa smacked the ka chng of the wayward sibling.

but actually all still gorging in the cookie jar.

Edited by Sabian

another case of sour grape..... a person spend his money the way he like. use his leave the way he want... i dont undestand how this could affect other poeple.

Put yourself in his shoes. If a low income person complain bcos u go to hawker and buy a plate of chicken rice with drumstick + another bottle of tiger, spending more than $10 per meal and yet, his whole family survive on a loaf of bread for the whole day, $10 is more than enough for his family to survive for 3 days...

then, u bring ur family to jbee to shop and stay there for a week for holiday, another low level worker come and complain again... he only have 7 days A/L a year and if he apply his leave, his employer will deduct his "good attendance allowance". He may even loss his job if he were to take 1 week leave.... how could you take a week leave and can afford to go for holiday for a week???

what will u feel??? stupid complain rite??? knn, i eat what also u not happy, i go Jbee also u not happy.... den i must eat bread everyday like u do ahh??

think hard n deep n u will realize tat high officials n braggies r not to be blamed 4 all tis. Its e whom who has nurtures n made them e way they r now. stating tat if they r paid well, they will b more focus on their duty. .... blar blar[shakehead].They ve gone on to believe tat they r high up there lookin down on lesser mortals

Edited by Hamburger

He shld know at his level, all civil servants making public statements or interview need line manager clearance! [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

who is his ultimate line manager that gave him the approval to publish this article? why & how is such incident manage to slip thru the crack? Or is he losing touch with the protocol? I don't think so, he was a scholar & smart thinker....ex-BG....also served as PPS to PM. [thumbsup] Someone, his ultimate line manager MUST have approved it? [thumbsup]

Actually, the whole trip is more than $45K, if u add cost of hotel/apartment for 5 weeks, return 3x J-class airfare, meals, general domestic transportation & meals (a little shopping).....boy! You can easily work out actual expenses is $80-100K. [scholar] this is the big picture costing........... [scholar]

Edited by Vyap