RadX Moderator January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 nah.. i'm just being singaporean by jumping to conclusion and being narrow minded... doesn't have to look at big picture but just nit pick on things you don't really have to answer me.. I already got the answer before i post ... clever biy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 ha ha... this one I think some boss will Imagine during recession whereby your boss is facing decline in sales, you came to work and park a shinny new BMW beside your boss Merc, and check time on a newly purchase AP watch, talking on new iphone, walking on new Prada shoes, or whatever, and still can ANNOUNCE loudly to your colleagues that you want to go for a long PAID 5 weeks leave with your wife and kid to Switzerland IN FRONT of your boss. See how your boss react... maybe the boss say, you deserved it?? your money wor...why shld i bother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 It's just politically incorrect and insensitive to write about 2 things in his article openly, he is asking for trouble regardless of good time or bad time. 1) The amount spent. He can relate his experience but need not spell out the amount so CLEARLY (to boast about his wealth ?). ??? I think he did not spell out the amount spent. It was researched out by some other political website I think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 ha ha... this one I think some boss will Imagine during recession whereby your boss is facing decline in sales, you came to work and park a shinny new BMW beside your boss Merc, and check time on a newly purchase AP watch, talking on new iphone, walking on new Prada shoes, or whatever, and still can ANNOUNCE loudly to your colleagues that you want to go for a long PAID 5 weeks leave with your wife and kid to Switzerland IN FRONT of your boss. See how your boss react... depends on how one is spending within their means.. declining sales doesn't means one's employee cannot enjoy the fruit of labours from past years.. it's a matter of managing one's boss and how they protray themselves.. compared to my boss, i own a much bigger house while he just sold his 5bdrm and got a 3room HDB. sold his car and got a small size japz.. does he frown on me or do I downgrade myself to match him? it's just a method of lifestyle and interest in life.. but to other locals here.. they like to talk and whisper but who cares.. we do things openly and don't have small action behind people's back.. I can sleep peacefully at nite.... in this report, someone just like to sensationalise the whole situation and then, there's people who like to question just because he's tax payers.. get a life.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 clever biy wah.. simi is biy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 depends on how one is spending within their means.. declining sales doesn't means one's employee cannot enjoy the fruit of labours from past years.. it's a matter of managing one's boss and how they protray themselves.. compared to my boss, i own a much bigger house while he just sold his 5bdrm and got a 3room HDB. sold his car and got a small size japz.. does he frown on me or do I downgrade myself to match him? it's just a method of lifestyle and interest in life.. but to other locals here.. they like to talk and whisper but who cares.. we do things openly and don't have small action behind people's back.. I can sleep peacefully at nite.... in this report, someone just like to sensationalise the whole situation and then, there's people who like to question just because he's tax payers.. get a life.. I totally agree with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loneranger Neutral Newbie January 14, 2009 Share January 14, 2009 depends on how one is spending within their means.. declining sales doesn't means one's employee cannot enjoy the fruit of labours from past years.. it's a matter of managing one's boss and how they protray themselves.. compared to my boss, i own a much bigger house while he just sold his 5bdrm and got a 3room HDB. sold his car and got a small size japz.. does he frown on me or do I downgrade myself to match him? it's just a method of lifestyle and interest in life.. but to other locals here.. they like to talk and whisper but who cares.. we do things openly and don't have small action behind people's back.. I can sleep peacefully at nite.... in this report, someone just like to sensationalise the whole situation and then, there's people who like to question just because he's tax payers.. get a life.. That's a poor and pathatic boss you have there. Hope you get paid regulary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 That's a poor and pathatic boss you have there. Hope you get paid regulary. and if he spend, then other people will also talk why he spend so much in such downturn.. see.. either way, also got people want to nitpick... understand the whole situation 1st before you give outright comments.. guess you only look at things from a well.. try to climb out and assess the whole situation.. from selling house to having a smaller car, do you realise how much saving he is going to have on hand? maybe he's saving up for a 5weeks cooking lesson as well?:P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loneranger Neutral Newbie January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 and if he spend, then other people will also talk why he spend so much in such downturn.. see.. either way, also got people want to nitpick... understand the whole situation 1st before you give outright comments.. guess you only look at things from a well.. try to climb out and assess the whole situation.. from selling house to having a smaller car, do you realise how much saving he is going to have on hand? maybe he's saving up for a 5weeks cooking lesson as well?:P C'mon la , broke means broke la. Anyway we'll all say what we want and what we feel right. Differences in our opinion doesn't make yours any better than mine. If you feel certain person has the rights to do what he wants, stick to it. But don't go around calling those whom didn't share your thought shallow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 15, 2009 Share January 15, 2009 C'mon la , broke means broke la. Anyway we'll all say what we want and what we feel right. Differences in our opinion doesn't make yours any better than mine. If you feel certain person has the rights to do what he wants, stick to it. But don't go around calling those whom didn't share your thought shallow. oh.. my apologies then.. it's just a bad habit of mine to verbalise my though while others just keep quiet or give up and not point it out.. my bad.... :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 (edited) read today's ST (Page A3) senior perm sec salary scale = MR4 ? will get a 20% salary cut after cut = 1.54M per annum before cut = 1.92M per annum ? = $160K per month so, $50K vacation is kacang la ... what's the problem ? $50K vacation is already very modest ... 1/3 of monthly income only Edited January 20, 2009 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 I still don't understand what all this grunt is all about... To those who grunt, you buay song is your own problem... Just because you're financially tight, others has to follow? At most I can say is that the article is insensitive. KNN, I saw the CNA, a lady mentioned, "Spending 45K for a vacation, such money can be put to a better use". So, do I have a say how you can spend your money? So, if you have a rich neighbour who can buy a 7 series BMW, you're gonna scratch the car? Wimps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 (edited) what is the job duties of a perm sec huh ? do they contribute to gov policy directly & indirectly ? do they serve the nation interest like the minister ? hmm, they earn 1.9M per annum (before cut) I still don't understand what all this grunt is all about... To those who grunt, you buay song is your own problem... Just because you're financially tight, others has to follow? At most I can say is that the article is insensitive. KNN, I saw the CNA, a lady mentioned, "Spending 45K for a vacation, such money can be put to a better use". So, do I have a say how you can spend your money? So, if you have a rich neighbour who can buy a 7 series BMW, you're gonna scratch the car? Wimps... Edited January 20, 2009 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 ha ha... this one I think some boss will Imagine during recession whereby your boss is facing decline in sales, you came to work and park a shinny new BMW beside your boss Merc, and check time on a newly purchase AP watch, talking on new iphone, walking on new Prada shoes, or whatever, and still can ANNOUNCE loudly to your colleagues that you want to go for a long PAID 5 weeks leave with your wife and kid to Switzerland IN FRONT of your boss. See how your boss react... errr.... boss: whooaaaaa!!!!! Lobert, you see beh huat man!!!! you outside pang siao ah!!!!! (pang siao means lend money, in a illegal sense.) Robert: Tokay, booooooh lah! i don pang siao one! wait polis come and catch ah!!!! i last year sell 100M lament brothers ploducts earned 1M konmission boss: Suuure or not???!!!!! your pee & L ah boh ar ni tok kong ah!!! you issit tio beh biao boh chiar jiat???!!!! (sure or not???!!!! your profit and loss where got so good!!! you kena 4D never give treat or issit!!!) Robert: boh lah boh lah.....Towlay, i tell you a secret.....i tio bao by the XXX client boss: that lao goh you also want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 2) The few sentences of "being at the top". I can understand where he is coming from but this will be considered proud or boasting by many. I have never expected people of his level to make this kind of mistake. This leads us to the EQ of our so called elites. On the other hand, why on earth ST did not do any editing before publishing it, oversight / ignorant ? Hard to believe........ Agree that being a scholar and now as top civil servant, he may be at helm but simply by posting the article at this point of time reveals his lack of EQ. Stomp is already good example how good/bad the current situation of ST is. No or not much editing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 Spend $45,000 to learn cooking (i.e cut vegetables, wash potatoes, marinate meat) seriously the family is idiot to cooking ... the french ppl must be thinking chinese ppl are damn stupid and easy to con...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 what is the job duties of a perm sec huh ? do they contribute to gov policy directly & indirectly ? do they serve the nation interest like the minister ? hmm, they earn 1.9M per annum (before cut) As you mentioned, it's a "job". He worked for it and earned his salary from the job. Period. How is it that by spending own money has anything to do with the interest of the nation? Yes it does not serve the nation, but neither is it any morally wrong. Anyway, as far as buay song is concern, I feel it all stem from the buay song of minister's highly unjustified pay. So, no matter what they spend on, it's bound to be critisized. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Louisckp Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 public have the right to question the amount of salary paid.. but it's not the same as questioning how they spend their salary.. you sure abt of our right to question their salary? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...