Why Must Open Blind During Aircraft Takeoff and Landing ?

Clarence07

This topic was 'inspired' by the earlier thread in the General Car Discussion on "cabin light on while driving."

I have have been wondering why the stewardess and steward keep asking the passenger to pull up their window blind in the plane during take off and landing during day time and night time.

Anyone got an answer?

Also do you all know that turning off the Cellphone is a myth... it does not interfere with anything at all....

Have u ever receive a phone call or sometime even when there r no calls, there are wierd noise from ur PC speaker or car radio if ur phone is close by? Imagine, when the tower is communicating with the pilot or vice versa, Runway 2 XXX, do XXX proceed. The pilot would have hear Runway 2, do proceed, when it is actually Runway 2 CLOSED, do NOT proceed.

Technically impossible... not proven and no history...

Till date not a single air crash has been proven to be caused by the use of a cell phone onboard a plane.

An airplane's electronic systems are "all heavily shielded. That means that stray signals cannot get into those systems."

Edited by Ahgongwolve

After 9-11, they are thinking of allowing phones to be used in the sky actually. but then till now no news.

I have another question actually, how does the plane propel itself while on the ground? The towtruck only bring the plane out of the gate. I know it's either propelled by the airthrust or power geared wheel, but I'm skeptical. If it's by airthrust, as it will be hazardous to surrounding objects. If it's by power geared wheel, so small wheel can be power geared to move such a big object? The torque would be tremendous...

After 9-11, they are thinking of allowing phones to be used in the sky actually. but then till now no news.

I have another question actually, how does the plane propel itself while on the ground? The towtruck only bring the plane out of the gate. I know it's either propelled by the airthrust or power geared wheel, but I'm skeptical. If it's by airthrust, as it will be hazardous to surrounding objects. If it's by power geared wheel, so small wheel can be power geared to move such a big object? The torque would be tremendous...

The plane is propelled by airthrust during taxi along the runway. That's why you dun see any vehicle driving around the area when the plane is moving. The thrust from the plane's jet engine is powerful enough to blow away a small bus, they did it on Mythbusters... hee hee

"...The only people who can see the engines and what happens in the surroundings, are their passengers. Crew who are seated at their crew seats, will not be able to see a whole lot of the plane's exterior...."

Passengers paid so much for an air ticket still have to "work" for them?

The plane is propelled by airthrust during taxi along the runway. That's why you dun see any vehicle driving around the area when the plane is moving. The thrust from the plane's jet engine is powerful enough to blow away a small bus, they did it on Mythbusters... hee hee

Police car in james bond also kena blown. Very strong force..

Till date not a single air crash has been proven to be caused by the use of a cell phone onboard a plane.

An airplane's electronic systems are "all heavily shielded. That means that stray signals cannot get into those systems."

Dun have to have a crash to proof that!

very funny leh...u sld have asked the cabin crew directly liao.

anyway i was told it is to:

- be aware of the surrounding. if the plane going to crash, u know whats the outside is like.

- allow your eyes to adjust to the light outside in case of crash landing. some ppl have dark blindness and may need sometimes to adjust..for example when u enter the cinema, u may be 'blinded' for a while.

very funny leh...u sld have asked the cabin crew directly liao.

anyway i was told it is to:

- be aware of the surrounding. if the plane going to crash, u know whats the outside is like.

- allow your eyes to adjust to the light outside in case of crash landing. some ppl have dark blindness and may need sometimes to adjust..for example when u enter the cinema, u may be 'blinded' for a while.

Allow eyes to adjust is during lights dimming at night on take off or landing. Nothing to do with the window shades. But I am always surprised to see Qantas jets landing at night with cabin lights on. Wonder if anyone of u noticed that