Kb27 Supersonic January 9, 2009 Share January 9, 2009 i personally find that RL gives buttery smoothness which goes away after 2k kms. not say it's rough after that, but the smoothness no longer so shiok. power wise, no diff to me. but engine is quieter with RL oil than with other brands i've used (mobil 1, shell, schaeffer). probably not on par with boutique oils (to me, it's those expensive double esters like motul 300v) but good enuff for me. probably gonna stick with this unless i backside itchy to try better oils. The smoothness might be due to the moly added to the base stock, just like Schaeffer. But it's interesting that some say RL makes the car more powerful. I thought RL is also a boutique oil. Personally, I haven't a chance to use it yet as it is too ex for me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Monkey888 Neutral Newbie January 10, 2009 Share January 10, 2009 per quartz for RL is around $17.50. trust me its worth the $$$! Now Redline is having a promo gp buy, only $15 per quartz. PM me for the link. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcng Neutral Newbie January 10, 2009 Share January 10, 2009 r u referring to RP? yes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 10, 2009 Share January 10, 2009 The smoothness might be due to the moly added to the base stock, just like Schaeffer. But it's interesting that some say RL makes the car more powerful. I thought RL is also a boutique oil. Personally, I haven't a chance to use it yet as it is too ex for me. well, i got it for abt $14 a quart or slightly less when the US dollar plunged. one of the RL dealers also lowered prices. not terence this kinda price is considered quite affordable la. abt the same price as mobil 1 sold by terence. but he also lowered his prices soon after. now not sure of the prices but i got 20 quarts last time. slowly use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear January 10, 2009 Share January 10, 2009 its only a group iii, sure will rough after 5-6k What will be those in group ii and iv ? Can share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titank 1st Gear January 18, 2009 Share January 18, 2009 I remembered RP used to sell like $8/quad but that was many years back. I had even get a big barrel can where spilt among many brothers for joint venture in buying. Like some Brothers had said once it reach 7,000 or 8,000 is not so ok. In my own opinion, can consider as semi-synthetic & not fully synthetic oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 18, 2009 Share January 18, 2009 What will be those in group ii and iv ? Can share? most oil will have group ii as carrier, the cheap ones better ones like mobil1 and castrol all group iv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 Sorry where can I get REDLINE cheeapest now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 Sorry where can I get REDLINE cheeapest now? think its still mx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 most oil will have group ii as carrier, the cheap ones better ones like mobil1 and castrol all group iv do u noe amsoil oil belongs to which group? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 most oil will have group ii as carrier, the cheap ones better ones like mobil1 and castrol all group iv Castrol are not group IV. Its actually Group III. Some brand label their Group III as synthetic, and its legal. Ref: http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbth...366&fpart=1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 do u noe amsoil oil belongs to which group? I hear Amsoil XL series mostly group III? Anyway I believe most oil use some form of blend instead of 100% group IV or 100% group V base. For example, Schaeffer 7000 is 20%~25% PAO + Group 2, and Schaeffer 9000 is 20% ~ 25% PAO + Group 3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear January 19, 2009 Share January 19, 2009 I hear Amsoil XL series mostly group III? Anyway I believe most oil use some form of blend instead of 100% group IV or 100% group V base. For example, Schaeffer 7000 is 20%~25% PAO + Group 2, and Schaeffer 9000 is 20% ~ 25% PAO + Group 3. Yes you are right, Amsoil XL series are Group III base but blended with very high quality Amsoil proprietary additives package(similar to the 100% series). The Amsoil 100% series are PAO base though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onslaught Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Author Share January 20, 2009 juz bought RL 4 quartz @ $15 per bottle 2 wks back & changed engine oil to RL 5w30. can feel the engine rpm very smooth & more powerful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 juz bought RL 4 quartz @ $15 per bottle 2 wks back & changed engine oil to RL 5w30. can feel the engine rpm very smooth & more powerful u got it at the fjc gb?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onslaught Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Author Share January 20, 2009 u got it at the fjc gb?? actually the fjc gb has closed...so i directly called to the shop & gave me same price as stated in the forum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear January 20, 2009 Share January 20, 2009 actually the fjc gb has closed...so i directly called to the shop & gave me same price as stated in the forum Redline 5w-30 $15 per Litre is good price leh. Can PM me the lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onslaught Neutral Newbie January 20, 2009 Author Share January 20, 2009 Redline 5w-30 $15 per Litre is good price leh. Can PM me the lobang? alr pm u ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...