E200 / 520 /525 and S80

Spawnstar

Oh crap, no M5 ah ? [inlove]

If that someone can stretch the budget to 530 that would be great. Otherwise 525 is sufficient.

[thumbsup] Wah if it ,.. were me I go for the 530 or the 525 anytime man........power no fight man.....!!!

OMV so low, wah lao.

Secondhand 525i is best.

OMV $61,888 and COE $27k, high paper value cant lose much.

for sale $95k only

lelong lelong.......lelong lelong

hey was thinking of getting the new ody 09

but seriously, i went to discuss with OC about getting volvo instead.

but S60 only.

why don't u consider those used S80 since u are going to spend 100K+ , I think 90K+ can get one that is 18months old and had taken the bulk of the depreciation.

I was at SM Motors one day and saw a car at one side of the showroom facing the side entrance fully covered with a nice car cover and surrounded with tie ropes attached to the posts at 4 corners.

When I asked the sales person who attended to me as to why is the car covered and surrounded with the ropes and she explained to me that it is SM Motors philosophy in treating their buyers with honour when the latter collects the vehicle.

When the buyer arrived at the showroom, the senior staff and sales personnel would be standing around the tie rope and someone will usher the buyer to the car to remove the cover. After the car is exposed, all the staff will start clapping and it makes one really feels great when collecting their vehicle at SM Motors. Thereafter, the buyer and their family members are treated with refreshments.

As for Volkswagon, the buyer's car is placed in an enclosed glass room facing the main showroom. When the buyer arrived at the showroom to collect the car, he will be ushered to the room to feel the car before driving off.

I find that SM Motors sales personnel are very friendly, good service provided to customers, the manner in which they treated the buyer when collecting the vehicle and after sales service.

Yup, can personally testify to that. To add on a few points:

- The refreshments are available anytime you're at the showroom, not just collection.

- They also take a nice picture of the "ceremony" for you at the unveiling

- Everytime you're there and have to leave your car behind, they'll offer a complimentary taxi ride to your destination

Damm shiok feeling, and damm good service.

I can attest to the service standards of SM ... having been an ex owner of 4.5 yrs

love them for always earger to make me smile ... i pay also smile ...

go home then heartache

if i am TS today, i will put my $$ on the 520 despite knowing damn well it is the IL4 that many purist scorn at

reasons are

E200 - relatively smaller cabin + poorer cosmetics + and poorer built quality (even tho almost same price)

525 - a nice to have ... but if i am a hard nose businessman with typical sinkapore mindset, i must get biggest body size for smallest engine size

S80 - i find it too long and slim/narrow ... A prestigious conti car should be long and wide

Edited by Comnao

if i am TS today, i will put my $$ on the 520 despite knowing damn well it is the IL4 that many purist scorn at

reasons are

E200 - relatively smaller cabin + poorer cosmetics + and poorer built quality (even tho almost same price)

525 - a nice to have ... but if i am a hard nose businessman with typical sinkapore mindset, i must get biggest body size for smallest engine size

S80 - i find it too long and slim/narrow ... A prestigious conti car should be long and wide

Comnao, i think you are wrong.

maybe it's just my very keen eye and excellent sense of estimation but even without measuring, I can tell that the S80 is the biggest of the three.

definitely longer and wider than both the E200 and 5er.

the interior also feels wider and longer.

I have sat and driven all 3 cars.

Edited by Throttle2

Guess the customer service @SM Motors comes at a price.

Is servicing there more expensive comparing with PML and C&C??

Edited by Davidcks

first 3 yrs free.... afterwhich can always go outside to service for standard maintenance.

anyway, unless the car breaks down, servicing more or less around there.

maybe it's just my very keen eye and excellent sense of estimation but even without ....

basket ... self praise universal disgrace [scholar]

the S80 reminds me too much of the W126 S280 SEL ... long and narrow

i went for the test drive ... i find the distance between driver and passenger too small

Although i must admit the leg room is definitely very generous

the W211 Merz is [thumbsdown] anytime of the day

E60... i find is a nice all rounder

enough leg room, enough width

honestly, i like it

the more i think about it ... the more i buay tahan

i really scared tmrw i go out and burn a hole in my pocket

Comnao, i think you are wrong.

maybe it's just my very keen eye and excellent sense of estimation but even without measuring, I can tell that the S80 is the biggest of the three.

definitely longer and wider than both the E200 and 5er.

the interior also feels wider and longer.

I have sat and driven all 3 cars.

Hmmm, when I was looking at all three cars, I remembered that the Merc was the smallest. 523 & S80 only differed by a couple of cm in lenght, but S80 was wider. Need to go check out th brochures and measure again. But sitting in both, the S80 feels the most comfortable. Merc seats very uncomfortable, and 5-series somewhere in the middle. For me at least. But quite a few reviews rate the Volvo seats as very good compared to the rest.

Given a task to look for a car for someone , if you have a budget to get one of these , which will you get.

E200 $160L OMV~51K

520 $140K OMV~44K

525 $163K OMV ~51K

S80 $140K OMV~42K

I try to advise the person to consider S80 but was told the look a bit "Woody".

Any owner for these models have any feedback.

E200 is actually cheaper than stated.

E230 is about the 525.

basket ... self praise universal disgrace [scholar]

the S80 reminds me too much of the W126 S280 SEL ... long and narrow

i went for the test drive ... i find the distance between driver and passenger too small

Although i must admit the leg room is definitely very generous

the W211 Merz is [thumbsdown] anytime of the day

E60... i find is a nice all rounder

enough leg room, enough width

honestly, i like it

the more i think about it ... the more i buay tahan

i really scared tmrw i go out and burn a hole in my pocket

Wah last time I understand it was only international disgrace, now universal already???

I'm toying with selling my 525i for a 630i so anyone keen to buy secondhand 525i can PM me.

Lelong Lelong.

even the luxury car owners are effected.. look at the number of auction vehicles in sgcarmart.. especially this BMW 525i

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...5035&DL=501

Oooh looks cheap but unfortunately so does the color.

however still looks like a good buy.

Singaporeans many like to take big loan to drive cars, what to do....

M5 rim with ROTORA BBK ... I LIKE [flowerface]

Mileage only 25K [thumbsup]

Low mileage but already 2 owners .... ??

Colour - can respray [thumbsup]

The only worry is if this car is re-possess, whether the owner got owe AH LONG $$$$ or not. No worry, spray a different colour and then change no plate [thumbsup]

Absolutely ! All friends who drove a Volvo have nice words for SM Motors services. My sis bought the S40 from SM Motors...SC is very professional & patient. She'll be collecting her car next Friday..let's see what can we expect. Will do a report here then. [thumbsup]

I was at SM Motors one day and saw a car at one side of the showroom facing the side entrance fully covered with a nice car cover and surrounded with tie ropes attached to the posts at 4 corners.

When I asked the sales person who attended to me as to why is the car covered and surrounded with the ropes and she explained to me that it is SM Motors philosophy in treating their buyers with honour when the latter collects the vehicle.

When the buyer arrived at the showroom, the senior staff and sales personnel would be standing around the tie rope and someone will usher the buyer to the car to remove the cover. After the car is exposed, all the staff will start clapping and it makes one really feels great when collecting their vehicle at SM Motors. Thereafter, the buyer and their family members are treated with refreshments.

As for Volkswagon, the buyer's car is placed in an enclosed glass room facing the main showroom. When the buyer arrived at the showroom to collect the car, he will be ushered to the room to feel the car before driving off.

I find that SM Motors sales personnel are very friendly, good service provided to customers, the manner in which they treated the buyer when collecting the vehicle and after sales service.

Given a task to look for a car for someone , if you have a budget to get one of these , which will you get.

E200 $160L OMV~51K

520 $140K OMV~44K

525 $163K OMV ~51K

S80 $140K OMV~42K

I try to advise the person to consider S80 but was told the look a bit "Woody".

Any owner for these models have any feedback.

OMG........After 3 years duno sell how much.

Easily lose 80k-100k ! [dizzy][crazy][sweatdrop]

my friend just went wif his relative to book the 520. abt 130k+. 525 no stock must wait 2 mths. POA cos new shipment ! [shocked]