Quantum

Mazda3 vs Altis vs Latio  

176 members have voted

1. 1. Mazda3 vs Altis vs Latio

• Mazda3
    • Altis
    • Latio

On 1/6/2009 at 6:26 AM, Hutan said:

u consider Latio? some says it's tall like a van, no VTEC, no real flat cabin, bo power, pick up slow, noise engg....buy HONDA LAh.. if not Mazda lah. [lipsrsealed]

I also expect to buy honda, but my boss din increase my pay leh, yearly income below $30k how to feed vtec [:(]

On 1/6/2009 at 6:36 AM, Quantum said:

I also expect to buy honda, but my boss din increase my pay leh, yearly income below $30k how to feed vtec [:(]

below 30K annual income dare to own a new car??... u r the man... [sweatdrop]

On 1/6/2009 at 6:47 AM, Blackyv said:

below 30K annual income dare to own a new car??... u r the man... [sweatdrop]

thanks economy crisis, drag new car price down give me chance to achive my dream lah [:p]

  On 1/6/2009 at 6:53 AM, Twofouronenite said:

one year 30K 2 year 60K, dun eat, drink etc. Can lah! [lipsrsealed]

eat and drink my darling lah [kiss]

Edited by Quantum

I was considering these 3 cars when I was downgrading my Odyssey to a family saloon.

The Mazda 3 grew on me the most but the rear legroom was too narrow for any short full-load trips. The Altis was struck right off my list the moment i opened and closed the doors and sat inside the car. Doors sounded like milo cans and the interior was just low quality.

Finally settled with the Latio for the better legroom and decent ride quality. Doors also close with a solid thump. Some cons are the feather light steering and weak brakes though. CVT does give a smooth ride despite the perceived slow pickup. Quite acceptable for a small family car in my opinion.

On 1/6/2009 at 6:36 AM, Quantum said:

Can, take 10 years full loan.

On 1/6/2009 at 12:09 PM, Ldlian987 said:

if FC is your priority, u can get the honda civic hybrid or VW polo bluemotion. [:)]

upon FC, price is more priority yet [:p]

how come nobody mention Honda Jazz? be it the pre-facelift or facelifted model.

this car come with very good fuel consumption city + highway driving easily 13.5km

i think this is one of the model that you cannot miss out. and i tried before stock pre-facelift Honda Jazz. at 120 is quite stable. and the interior does not feel as plasticity and cheap skate like some cheapo car.

personally feel the pre-facelift looks better than facelift Jazz. just my point of view.

all the above comment are based on pre-facelift honda jazz. correct me if i am wrong.

On 1/6/2009 at 3:31 AM, Quantum said:

does the latio engine come from Renault? and how is the experience on NSH? :D

After reading through the whole thread, Sylphy was mentioned 2 times but nobody seemed to take notice of it. [confused]

I drive a 2 years old Sylphy 1.5, FC is about 12 km/l (70% city, 30% highway). It uses the same engine as Latio with a 4-speed auto (good for those who don't like CVT). The ride and interior quality are as refined as Latio if not better. It has one of the roomiest interior space in its class, better than many 2L cars. Many of my first time passengers asked whether this is a 2L car without fail.

By my standard, I find it with decent pickup, driving performance/stability on NSH (160 km/h) is credible. It has a quiet ride when traveling at high speed, allowing you to enjoy your music or sound tracks, needless to raise your voice when talking to your passengers. With a reasonably big boot space, it should suit your need as a customer service personnel.

I am not too sure of the price difference between Latio and Sylphy. If it's not too much, you should consider it. I find it a better compromise of the 3 choices you listed.

Lastly, to answer your question, the engine is co-developed by Renault and Nissan. The 2L version comes with VVTi equipvalent technology.

On 1/5/2009 at 1:15 AM, Quantum said:

Thinking to change my 3 years plus old ride to one of above 3, tested drive but the short urban driving, can't judge the performance and handling,although I'm perfer to Mazda3 in term of sporty look, quiet engine, perfect high speed control etc, but the price... too exxx[sweatdrop],

appreciate MCF members give above 3 cars' experience here [wave]

Been driving my Mazda 3 for coming to 2 years already. Till today, i'm still enjoying my ride cos of the stability.

Tested 195kph on NSHW before. Does not have the floating feeling i had with my previous 2002 Lancer (only at 150kph)...

Noise level is definately lower than my previous 2005 Civic. Power wise, can't match a Civic.

On 1/6/2009 at 1:43 PM, Towtan said:

After reading through the whole thread, Sylphy was mentioned 2 times but nobody seemed to take notice of it. [confused]

I drive a 2 years old Sylphy 1.5, FC is about 12 km/l (70% city, 30% highway). It uses the same engine as Latio with a 4-speed auto (good for those who don't like CVT). The ride and interior quality are as refined as Latio if not better. It has one of the roomiest interior space in its class, better than many 2L cars. Many of my first time passengers asked whether this is a 2L car without fail.

By my standard, I find it with decent pickup, driving performance/stability on NSH (160 km/h) is credible. It has a quiet ride when traveling at high speed, allowing you to enjoy your music or sound tracks, needless to raise your voice when talking to your passengers. With a reasonably big boot space, it should suit your need as a customer service personnel.

I am not too sure of the price difference between Latio and Sylphy. If it's not too much, you should consider it. I find it a better compromise of the 3 choices you listed.

Lastly, to answer your question, the engine is co-developed by Renault and Nissan. The 2L version comes with VVTi equipvalent technology.

Sylphy seems overpriced for what it is (a 1500cc sedan for 70k?). A Latio is 9k less.

On 1/6/2009 at 4:13 PM, Macrosszero said:

Sylphy seems overpriced for what it is (a 1500cc sedan for 70k?). A Latio is 9k less.

sylphy base model at 61K lar.... not 70K

On 1/6/2009 at 4:23 PM, Nkps said:

sylphy base model at 61K lar.... not 70K

Sorry, just checked on SGCarmart......

Sylphy 1.5 is $69,500

Latio is $60,000

Prices last updated on 19 Dec. They may have shifted but the difference shouldn't change drastically?

On 1/6/2009 at 4:26 PM, Macrosszero said:

Sorry, just checked on SGCarmart......

Sylphy 1.5 is $69,500

Latio is $60,000

Prices last updated on 19 Dec. They may have shifted but the difference shouldn't change drastically?

was at Nissan showroom this afternoon, the price list still in my car, can't be less accurate than SGcarmart right? anyway, those price in SGcarmart are list price, some AD will have special discount, only when you are in the showroom they will tell you.

check out here: http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...628564&st=0

Edited by Nkps