Josho 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Nowadays Maybank CC not so easy to apply due to the privileges... my friend working as a RM there told me they rejected alot of applications My wife and me were one of the those who got rejected by MB. LOL Anyway, ABN Switch card require 1 transaction a year to get 1 Yr waive off. I got most of the bank Ccard and usually I got to waive annually. I only hate to call HSBC because i got transfer here and there, the COS talk so loud until my ear explode! For my Citibank, I tot of canceling the Clear Plat until the CSO called me to confirm again. He told me that since I got so many pts currently, why not he waive the fee for me rather then I redeem within 3 days. I end up agree with waive off and gotten $50 voucher for Isetan and Jack Place. Yummy! I dun beat round the bush and ask courtesy for waiving. lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 a question here, if say u got alot of points with the card, then want to cancel the card due to no waiver, how to go about doing it? can ask CSO to redeem first den cancel? redeem and cancel lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 If is is Hao Sin Bank China...then they are getting too much.. The Under Overecook Bank...mine never been charged for last 12 yrs....and mine Infinite somemore... As for the former...I wrote to their CEO you different.. you big boss.. otherwise only small time sub sub contractors.. if cancel existing card, then no chance to get another one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 (edited) Just to share my experiences with these credit card companies. UOB - first year free for Signature Card and you gets auto waiver if you spend not less than 12K per year for second year. I got auto waiver this year (2nd yr) UOB SingTel Platinum - waived. AMEX - I have Kris Flyer Gold and AMEX Platinum. AMEX billed me $300 for renewal of Platinum. I called to ask for waiver, the bank offerred to upgrade me to Platinum Reserve, but I have to pay a discounted annual fee of $250.00( The annual fee is $500) I said NO, either wiave or I cancel the card. Finally They waived. CITI - I have Platinum, Premier Miles (VISA Signature) and Gold (Master). Platinum - waived, Gold (Master) I requested to cancel the card b'cos I have never use it from the day it was issued to me. They asked me to keep the card and waived the fee. For Premier Miles, I was given the option to either pay the fee of $180 and given 10K miles reward or to have the fee waived. I opted for fee waived. DBS - I have POSB Everyday Card and DBS Altitude - first year free, Not due yet, so I do not know? OCBC & HSBC - waived after telephone calls. The import thing here is you must not have any outstanding payment with them, whereby you can afford to cancel the card if they refuse to waive the fee. Edited January 5, 2009 by Civic2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Just tell them that you will cancel if not waived. Simply go sign with another bank , no big deal . but make sure that your credit history is ok and you do not have any installment plans with them before doing so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Sometimes dun even get the chance to speak to the CSO...All calls go thru the automated system...Eg. U*b. Go main branch and bang counter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Plexus Neutral Newbie January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Just to share my experiences with these credit card companies. UOB - first year free for Signature Card and you gets auto waiver if you spend not less than 12K per year for second year. I got auto waiver this year (2nd yr) UOB SingTel Platinum - waived. AMEX - I have Kris Flyer Gold and AMEX Platinum. AMEX billed me $300 for renewal of Platinum. I called to ask for waiver, the bank offerred to upgrade me to Platinum Reserve, but I have to pay a discounted annual fee of $250.00( The annual fee is $500) I said NO, either wiave or I cancel the card. Finally They waived. CITI - I have Platinum, Premier Miles (VISA Signature) and Gold (Master). Platinum - waived, Gold (Master) I requested to cancel the card b'cos I have never use it from the day it was issued to me. They asked me to keep the card and waived the fee. For Premier Miles, I was given the option to either pay the fee of $180 and given 10K miles reward or to have the fee waived. I opted for fee waived. DBS - I have POSB Everyday Card and DBS Altitude - first year free, Not due yet, so I do not know? OCBC & HSBC - waived after telephone calls. The import thing here is you must not have any outstanding payment with them, whereby you can afford to cancel the card if they refuse to waive the fee. Does the Kris Flyer miles expires? Thought of getting an AMEX card for the miles but not sure how good it actually is. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Does the Kris Flyer miles expires? Thought of getting an AMEX card for the miles but not sure how good it actually is. Dun think got such thing as non expiring mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Just to share my experiences with these credit card companies. UOB - first year free for Signature Card and you gets auto waiver if you spend not less than 12K per year for second year. I got auto waiver this year (2nd yr) UOB SingTel Platinum - waived. AMEX - I have Kris Flyer Gold and AMEX Platinum. AMEX billed me $300 for renewal of Platinum. I called to ask for waiver, the bank offerred to upgrade me to Platinum Reserve, but I have to pay a discounted annual fee of $250.00( The annual fee is $500) I said NO, either wiave or I cancel the card. Finally They waived. CITI - I have Platinum, Premier Miles (VISA Signature) and Gold (Master). Platinum - waived, Gold (Master) I requested to cancel the card b'cos I have never use it from the day it was issued to me. They asked me to keep the card and waived the fee. For Premier Miles, I was given the option to either pay the fee of $180 and given 10K miles reward or to have the fee waived. I opted for fee waived. DBS - I have POSB Everyday Card and DBS Altitude - first year free, Not due yet, so I do not know? OCBC & HSBC - waived after telephone calls. The import thing here is you must not have any outstanding payment with them, whereby you can afford to cancel the card if they refuse to waive the fee. Siao... how many cards do you have? One or two more than enough.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Surferguy1978 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Just to share my experiences with these credit card companies. UOB - first year free for Signature Card and you gets auto waiver if you spend not less than 12K per year for second year. I got auto waiver this year (2nd yr) UOB SingTel Platinum - waived. AMEX - I have Kris Flyer Gold and AMEX Platinum. AMEX billed me $300 for renewal of Platinum. I called to ask for waiver, the bank offerred to upgrade me to Platinum Reserve, but I have to pay a discounted annual fee of $250.00( The annual fee is $500) I said NO, either wiave or I cancel the card. Finally They waived. CITI - I have Platinum, Premier Miles (VISA Signature) and Gold (Master). Platinum - waived, Gold (Master) I requested to cancel the card b'cos I have never use it from the day it was issued to me. They asked me to keep the card and waived the fee. For Premier Miles, I was given the option to either pay the fee of $180 and given 10K miles reward or to have the fee waived. I opted for fee waived. DBS - I have POSB Everyday Card and DBS Altitude - first year free, Not due yet, so I do not know? OCBC & HSBC - waived after telephone calls. The import thing here is you must not have any outstanding payment with them, whereby you can afford to cancel the card if they refuse to waive the fee. hi, where u get the info that you must spend minimum 12k per year to get auto waiver for UOB visa signature? i didn't know got such regulation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 You mean Under Overdraft Bank? I've been using their card since 2002 and so far never need to pay any fee. Yea, it's be the time of the year I need to taichi with them to get it waved too. i don understand i got 2 uob cards and don have to pau any annual fee too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 hi, where u get the info that you must spend minimum 12k per year to get auto waiver for UOB visa signature? i didn't know got such regulation. When I received the pre-approved VISA Signature card from UOB, they informed me in writting that the renewal fee would be waived if I charged not less than 16K to the card. I did charge more than 16K so they waived the fee for 2nd year. For the subsequently renewal, I need only to charge 12K in a year. so again I got my fee waived for the third yr. The VISA Signature Card come with 2 Supp Card free for life. CITI VISA signature and AMEX Platinum also give you 2 supp card free for life. The reason I signed up for this card is b'cos many merchants give rebate on purchases using UOB Card and this card is also good for dinning that you get good discount with restaurants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 no problems with Citibank Premiermiles waiver... done last week~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amx57 Neutral Newbie January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Nowadays Maybank CC not so easy to apply due to the privileges... my friend working as a RM there told me they rejected alot of applications yeah... I own UOB, Citibank, SCB, DBS cards & Maybank rejected me... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 me too... everyone applied when they had the $100 free credit in Nov, and most got rejected probably due to overwhelming response~ now everyone boycott Maybank due to such attitude, withdrawing the promo when everyone applied Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Surferguy1978 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 When I received the pre-approved VISA Signature card from UOB, they informed me in writting that the renewal fee would be waived if I charged not less than 16K to the card. I did charge more than 16K so they waived the fee for 2nd year. For the subsequently renewal, I need only to charge 12K in a year. so again I got my fee waived for the third yr. The VISA Signature Card come with 2 Supp Card free for life. CITI VISA signature and AMEX Platinum also give you 2 supp card free for life. The reason I signed up for this card is b'cos many merchants give rebate on purchases using UOB Card and this card is also good for dinning that you get good discount with restaurants. okok. this is something new to me. visa signature annual fee very exp. it cost $200. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frozebite Neutral Newbie January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 me too... everyone applied when they had the $100 free credit in Nov, and most got rejected probably due to overwhelming response~ now everyone boycott Maybank due to such attitude, withdrawing the promo when everyone applied Ya lor boucott maybank. Want Standchart one . I got lobang. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Go main branch and bang counter Wah lao, where got time?.... The automated system will send you an sms telling you if your request for waiver is successful or not... Seems to lack the human touch when dealing with your bank these days... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...