cleaning the engine bay

Typoerror

engine bay has became dirty and greasy over the years. any lobang to clean and degrease the engine bay to new/showroom standard? i am talking abt more professional type of cleaning rather than merely spraying some detergent and water to wash it. thanks!

i use carb cleaner to clean my engine bay....but dun spray on plastic...now my engine bay look like showroom standard...

engine bay has became dirty and greasy over the years. any lobang to clean and degrease the engine bay to new/showroom standard? i am talking abt more professional type of cleaning rather than merely spraying some detergent and water to wash it. thanks!

for me i use soap to wipe first.. den use wax to wax the metallic parts, den bitsy of tire foam to clean the black parts.

so far so good.

wah...seems that most of bro here DIY. not siong meh.. i scared i use the wrong agent to clean, became agressive to the surfaces.

Get the Black Magic engine cleaner. Abit pricey... but its one of the better ones I DIY with. No problems with plastics, etc....

saw a workshop used wd40.. can?

Can use WD40 to clean plastic? I saw BMS doing that to my windshield water tank.

If no problem, then I think I can use the lube to do some interior cleaning.

Can use WD40..... but you'd need a blow gun to really get rid of the excess.... if DIY, I'd advise against it unless you have the air gun. It helps to "blacken" the dull coloured black plastics.

Also, I notice that it is easier for dust to collect after that treatment.

But if you're servicing your car and request for this, it'll be a FOC thinggy at BMS lah.... takes only 5 min or less......

Dun use WD40 on the paint! They seem very "acidic" will demage the paint work on th elong run. Enginer degreaser will do but still got to be careful with spraying to other parts or dripping down to other part of engine.

Not that there are any professional shops here that does it...cos all scare of damaging the engine. So most if ask to wash engine bay....is wrap the electrical with plastic bags....then spray degreaser...then use hi power jet to hose off....$10 ?

I usually wash it myself...cannot say its showroom standard....but clean looking.

I use diluted detergent....can't remember the brand now...its green in colour and from Kao brand. I use it cos the spray got a foam function and its economical to use. I use 50% strength only.

Wait for the engine to cool (cool to touch) then use a cheap spray (those pple use for gardening one) and wet the engine bay....then using a paint brush (those white bristle kind...cos very soft) and brush the surfaces...for stubborn oily stains...I spray concentrated on that part and brush it lightly.

Before it dries up, use the water spray (the garden kind I mentioned) and hose the detergents. Start engine to make aid the drying bit. Then use WD40 to spray the electrical connections to drive the moisture out. Usually I will leave it at that....but if I backside itchy...I will spray a thin layer of Amourall protectant over the entire engine bay....then close it (when the engine is still warm). When its dry...all will look shiny shiny....just go thru with a sponge to brush those parts that your spray miss.

PS...I only do this when I am sibeh free until nothing to do....

I use those pressure jet to spray the engine bay then after that use airgun to blow dry the compartment. No problem so far and it looks clean.

Since u so wu eng, come my place and wash mine

Not that there are any professional shops here that does it...cos all scare of damaging the engine. So most if ask to wash engine bay....is wrap the electrical with plastic bags....then spray degreaser...then use hi power jet to hose off....$10 ?

I usually wash it myself...cannot say its showroom standard....but clean looking.

I use diluted detergent....can't remember the brand now...its green in colour and from Kao brand. I use it cos the spray got a foam function and its economical to use. I use 50% strength only.

Wait for the engine to cool (cool to touch) then use a cheap spray (those pple use for gardening one) and wet the engine bay....then using a paint brush (those white bristle kind...cos very soft) and brush the surfaces...for stubborn oily stains...I spray concentrated on that part and brush it lightly.

Before it dries up, use the water spray (the garden kind I mentioned) and hose the detergents. Start engine to make aid the drying bit. Then use WD40 to spray the electrical connections to drive the moisture out. Usually I will leave it at that....but if I backside itchy...I will spray a thin layer of Amourall protectant over the entire engine bay....then close it (when the engine is still warm). When its dry...all will look shiny shiny....just go thru with a sponge to brush those parts that your spray miss.

PS...I only do this when I am sibeh free until nothing to do....

Get the Black Magic engine cleaner. Abit pricey... but its one of the better ones I DIY with. No problems with plastics, etc....

Where you get Black Magic engine cleaner?

Thanks!

Seems to be available in Carrefour or Giant. Not cheap (~ $17 if I remember correctly)... but the foam spray is very good....... just spray, let it sit & hose off......

Where you get Black Magic engine cleaner?

Thanks!

Since u so wu eng, come my place and wash mine

For you brudder...I will save my "organic" degreaser for you....only you. When you wanna do it ? Need time to prep 1L of the "good" stuff for you. [laugh]

Saw Malaysia Car Wash centre do provide engine bay washing. Did anyone tried before?

Dun advise you to do it in M'sia....later wash liao engine cannot start then you know...especially if you wash at nite...woohoo....SEOW LIAO !!

If you lazy to DIY, get mech to wash it lor...at least at their place, if something goes wrong can repair on the spot.