Good Value E90 325i

Taohuaychui

+1. For the same price (or even lower), you get a nav system, better interior, not to mention German prestige & better handling car.

Suddenly BMW become so affordable even poor folk like me can also realistically own one. Price of cars have drop quite a lot, there should be alot of good deals when I change ride at the end of the year. [flowerface]

I don't think you shd see it that way.. otherwise, why not wait another 5 more years and get the 325 at its 8th or 9th year at the scrap value.. isn't that even more worth it?

Price for cars drop, and sadly it get better with age.. thus the affordability of such car cannot be guage at its current selling price, much less compared to a brand new car.

heh heh, i think you guys overlooked some things.

affording a car is not just about the buying price.

road tax, maintenance, insurance, fuel, depreciation etc..

therefore (not to offend) to be very fair, able to afford an $80k+ brand new jap is not equal to being able to afford an $80k+ 3 yr old 325i

guess we are singing the same song

heh heh, i think you guys overlooked some things.

affording a car is not just about the buying price.

road tax, maintenance, insurance, fuel, depreciation etc..

therefore (not to offend) to be very fair, able to afford an $80k+ brand new jap is not equal to being able to afford an $80k+ 3 yr old 325i

Road tax of 2L and 2.5L not that much difference now.

Insurance for 325 very much difference from 320?

FC depends alot on right foot and driving habit too.

Depreciation should be "better" for 2nd car (esp BM ?) than 1st hand!

Maintenance - this one i dunno, unless u are saying UDM is ultra more unreliable [lipsrsealed]

Its only $80k++, not $180k++ or $280k++ dont need to be brave to buy lah, Picanto.

me no high income earner, that's why 80k is a lot.

even if one day got high income, also need to think twice cos noawadays no more metal rice bowl liao.

Not directing at Picanto but in general, some people would not spend more than 50k for a car..

in fact, for 50k, they want a big size, small cc coz cheaper roax tax, must run fast, handle well, got a lot of things inside the car. then when transaction time, must squeeze discount and freebies..

80k is not something they can decide without thinking for 10-20years..

Suzuki APV for $51.9K [flowerface]

Road tax of 2L and 2.5L not that much difference now.

Insurance for 325 very much difference from 320?

FC depends alot on right foot and driving habit too.

Depreciation should be "better" for 2nd car (esp BM ?) than 1st hand!

Maintenance - this one i dunno, unless u are saying UDM is ultra more unreliable [lipsrsealed]

Plse read Sony's post.

Same frequency of thoughts as mine.

Comparison is between brand new Jap and 3 yr old BMW.

I also hope all brand new Jap car buyers will look to buyer secondhand BMW, then secondhand BMW price will be steady steady, then I will sell my BMW and buy a Jap...heh heh

Edited by Throttle2

3 year clock 100K mileage is high but not very high lah especially if the person work as sales who can clock up to 100KM per day including travel to msia (ie: kl) 2-3 times a year.

i went to see this car

very high mileage

3 yr old car done almost 100K km liao

i think the owner drive to China and come back

tsk tsk tsk [sweatdrop]

but other than that ... car looks quite unmolested and clean

Suzuki APV for $51.9K [flowerface]

1.9k more.. so it's out of range for some people already..

anyway, that one is van, car or MPV? or all into one?

To me 3 yrs 100,000km is very very high beco si do only 12,000 per yr

I wont buy a 3 yr old car that has 100,000km mileage.

not meaning that the car is no good.

but rather prefer something which is not as heavily used.

I think my threshold is about 20,000km per yr

In other words, when a person uses the car especially as a tool in his trade resulting in such high mileage then it is only right that he sell it for cheaper.

Plse read Sony's post.

Same frequency of thoughts as mine.

Comparison is between brand new Jap and 3 yr old BMW.

I also hope all brand new Jap car buyers will look to buyer secondhand BMW, then secondhand BMW price will be steady steady, then I will sell my BMW and buy a Jap...heh heh

I know the comparison is with a new Jap car. I'm just trying to look at it more quantitatively in terms of the factors u mention.

Maybe i should have asked if the insurance of a non-high performance BMW (which 325 is arguably one) is much higher than your normal jap sedan?

The other factor u mentioned is depreciation, which for a new car, even a Jap one, if the owner is to get rid of it within first few years can be quite high too.

Example (conjectural),

New Jap

10 year dep when new = $7K / year

Dep sustained upon re-selling car after 2 years usage = $9K / year

Used BMW 325

7 year dep when bought used at 3rd year = $8.5K / year

Dep sustained upon re-selling car after 2 years usage (excl maintenance) = $9.5K / year

For maintenance, of course i agree used BMW will be much higher than a new Jap. Question is how much exactly are we talking abt here?

I don't think you shd see it that way.. otherwise, why not wait another 5 more years and get the 325 at its 8th or 9th year at the scrap value.. isn't that even more worth it?

Price for cars drop, and sadly it get better with age.. thus the affordability of such car cannot be guage at its current selling price, much less compared to a brand new car.

I understand your point that car price depricated over the year. However, the 325 3 series at 3 years old, still beats most of the newer Japanese cars, in style handling, interior etc at this point of time, so why not.

Of course it lose in terms of "new" feel, maybe a slightly worn interior & parts, otherwise, its good value. Of course then there is the arguement on maintence, which give or take IMO, not that much higher than a Japanese luxury sedan, but I could be wrong.

Thats my opinion at least. I am not looking for a luxury car at the moment (maybe in future), but when I do, its hard to ignore this is at least worth consideration.

I understand your point that car price depricated over the year. However, the 325 3 series at 3 years old, still beats most of the newer Japanese cars, in style handling, interior etc at this point of time, so why not.

Of course it lose in terms of "new" feel, maybe a slightly worn interior & parts, otherwise, its good value. Of course then there is the arguement on maintence, which give or take IMO, not that much higher than a Japanese luxury sedan, but I could be wrong.

Thats my opinion at least. I am not looking for a luxury car at the moment (maybe in future), but when I do, its hard to ignore this is at least worth consideration.

I'm glad you all think this way, I do too.

Thats why i always buy secondhand BMWs ...heh heh

but overall expense for maintaining a BMW will be higher.

If one's budget for Jap car is already tipping the scales at $80k++ then maybe go for a BMW that is $70k++

I know the comparison is with a new Jap car. I'm just trying to look at it more quantitatively in terms of the factors u mention.

Maybe i should have asked if the insurance of a non-high performance BMW (which 325 is arguably one) is much higher than your normal jap sedan?

The other factor u mentioned is depreciation, which for a new car, even a Jap one, if the owner is to get rid of it within first few years can be quite high too.

Example (conjectural),

New Jap

10 year dep when new = $7K / year

Dep sustained upon re-selling car after 2 years usage = $9K / year

Used BMW 325

7 year dep when bought used at 3rd year = $8.5K / year

Dep sustained upon re-selling car after 2 years usage (excl maintenance) = $9.5K / year

For maintenance, of course i agree used BMW will be much higher than a new Jap. Question is how much exactly are we talking abt here?

Insurance is higher, maintenance also higher

I guess that diff in $$ terms per year is not much maybe a few grand if driven to the end of COE

However we are comparing brand new vs second hand.

By the way you wanna buy my 525i?

low mileage, full options, 100% solid running condition with nice no plate.

$95k only !!!!!!

I guess that diff in $$ terms per year is not much maybe a few grand if driven to the end of COE

$95k only !!!!!!

Post the details for all to gauge interest lah. [thumbsup] Pics will be nice too.

$95k only !!!!!!

I sub sub contractor for collecting dishes, jaga toilet, etc.. how to afford 95k? when it's a 9.5k, give me a buzz [:p]

Post the details for all to gauge interest lah. [thumbsup] Pics will be nice too.

posted before in BMW-SG but after a while i pulled back on the sale as i couldnt find the car to replace it and the buyer back and forth on decision.

You really interested meh? I dont think so lah. you probably prefer the 3 series.

I sub sub contractor for collecting dishes, jaga toilet, etc.. how to afford 95k? when it's a 9.5k, give me a buzz [:p]

mai kay kay lah, $95k is only a few months salary for you.