Food in Johor Bahru

Genie47

I not so fussy lah.

As long as she young, got nice features, nice eyes, a good body, smooth milky skin n a tight little pussycat [gorgeous] ......I wil accept lah.

Sud not b too difficult fr u to find one in a couple of hours. [rolleyes]

These XMMs has to find faked birth cert to keep you safe from the law... May take sometime [:(]

Ya in the mean time u wil b trying them out first. [sly]

Remember u overseas also come back can b prosecuted for underaged sex with a minor hor.

When u return n ty ask u to follow them to a interview room, u know why hor.

Ya in the mean time u wil b trying them out first. [sly]

Remember u overseas also come back can b prosecuted for underaged sex with a minor hor.

When u return n ty ask u to follow them to a interview room, u know why hor.

Really ah?! :blink: :blink: I only spoke to XMM tour guides, how come ty want to interview me?? [sweatdrop]

SG gharmen got spies everywhere. U go places like Thailand or Taiwan or Phillipines etc n ty know u go to find XMM.

Their spies r there n wil take pics of u n send back here. When u return ty use them as evidence.

So u already tok to XMM n then tok tok tok n go into the room ah? Like that is kenna already.

If u >55 yrs old then at least u wil b spared the rotan. [sweatdrop]

SG gharmen got spies everywhere. U go places like Thailand or Taiwan or Phillipines etc n ty know u go to find XMM.

Their spies r there n wil take pics of u n send back here. When u return ty use them as evidence.

So u already tok to XMM n then tok tok tok n go into the room ah? Like that is kenna already.

If u >55 yrs old then at least u wil b spared the rotan. [sweatdrop]

55 meant only one thing...... WHERE'S MY FULL CPF!!!??? [mad]

We will never hv a chance to see the FULL CPF in our hands lah. Only they can see. [furious]

Can lah... In the form of paper statement that you are holding in your hand.. you can see the full CPF amount, but cannot see, cannot touch..

Ya ty smart. Let u only see the statement but not the actual cash.

Cash only ty can see, touch, smell n spend. [furious]

Am I in the right thread or not. I scrolled back to the last 5 pages and I still dun see any food recommendation in JB.

All I see is ... ...

Unless your kind of food is different from mine... Wahaha....

I recommend the below. Their Fish is a must try. Boiled instead of steamed.
Hidden gem. When I went there on a weekend morning 9am, I did not see any singapore cars.

Kedai Bak Kut Teh Hin Hock 兴福肉骨茶

Along the way, Tony casually mentioned about a restaurant selling one of the freshest tasting fish he has eaten in Johor. “The two handsome sons are being groomed to take over the shop”.

“Handsome, how handsome?” Now that got Tyng’s attention!

Yea, we want to see the sons, erm… fish! Yes, we want to see how fresh the fish are icon_wink.gif?m=1129645325g

Tony thought we’d missed the highway exit to the restaurant but we hadn’t. So excited to see the sons, ahem, fish icon_biggrin.gif?m=1129645325g

I was wondering about the congested entrance to this restaurant and realised we’ve entered by the back.

hin-hock-img_2569c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

“Hi Tyng! I’m Mr. Handsome”

hin-hock-img_2573c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Mrs. Liaw showing us the different variety of fresh fish they cater.

hin-hock-img_2601c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=1
hin-hock-img_2575c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=1
hin-hock-img_2596c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=1
hin-hock-img_2592c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=1

Mrs. Liaw insisted we must have a fish meal before we go. We relented and stayed behind.

hin-hock-img_2584c2a9bondingtool1.jpg?w=

The fish was boiled not steamed.

hin-hock-img_2587c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Next, the golden fried garlic was laced generously onto the fish.

hin-hock-img_2588c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Homemade soy sauce marinade was drizzled onto the fish.

hin-hock-img_2594c2a9bondingtool1.jpg?w=

Garnished with scallions and our fish meal was ready.

hin-hock-img_2676c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

We were scattered, taking pictures while the food was being prepared so when we finally sat down to eat, we were shocked to see the array of food displayed on our table.

hin-hock-img_2631c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=4
hin-hock-img_2625c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=2
hin-hock-img_2626c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=2
hin-hock-img_2638c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6
hin-hock-img_2614c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Dou Miao 豆苗, aka pea shoots are the juvenile tips of the snow and sugar pea plants.
They have a delicate “grassy” flavour and requires very little cooking time when not eaten raw (similar to alfalfa).

hin-hock-img_2617c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Barely hitting thirty seconds in boiling water, the sprouts were topped lavishly with minced pork and garnished with Hin Hock’s fragrant signature golden fried garlic.

hin-hock-img_2610c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

家常豆腐 or Home-style Tofu.
Home-style but not homemade.
Mrs. Liaw said they buy their soybean cakes from a famous tofu manufacturer in town.
Tyng mentioned that the Tofu was good and miraculously, another plate appeared!

hin-hock-img_2613c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Accordingly, good tofu comes from soybeans that have been kept in store for some time before grinding and going through the rest of tofu-making process.
However, due to the popularity and high demand of good tofu, this sort of practise may be compromised.
I felt so because although the overall taste of this dish was pleasant, the tofu was not as silky smooth as the many homemade renditions I have encountered (small scale versions catered for the restaurants’ own use).
The minced meat topping was the same as those heaped on the Dou Miao.
By and large, this dish did deliver the simplicity of home-style cooking at its best.

hin-hock-img_2624c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Stewed Pork Knuckles.
The meat was not fatty nor were they overly tender.
While this dish was unlike the Lor Bak I had in Singapore (which has stronger 5-spice flavour), I liked its provision of gelatinous mastication.

hin-hock-img_2642c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

Di Huang Miao 帝皇苗.
This vegetable could be Basella alba, Ceylon Spinach or Malabar Spinach but I’m not sure.
However, a distinct feature of this vegetable is the mucilaginous semblance like those of the okra.
This mucilage is believed to be able to remove mucus and toxins from the body.
Mrs. Liaw offered that the mucilage is also helpful in maintaining the articular and meniscal cartilages.
How thoughtful of her to dish out this preparation for us.
It looked spicy with all the red peppers but it wasn’t.
There’s a distinct salty taste in the minced pork which reminded me of belacan (block shrimp paste).

hin-hock-img_2646c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

It wouldn’t be named Kedai Bak Kut Teh Hin Hock if they do not serve BKT.

hin-hock-img_2659c2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=6

I was impressed with the addition of pork livers and small intestines.
This version is in between the herbaceous Klang and peppery Singapore style.
On a cold rainy evening like this day, having a hot steaming pot of meaty broth seemed heaven sent.

Click on gallery below to see commentary.

hin-hock-img_2726ac2a9bondingtool.jpg?w=

Can you spot the handsome two sons?

Good food from good people!

We had just wanted to say hello to the Liaw family but Mrs. Liaw insisted we have a fish meal before we went our way. Mr. Liaw personally chose the fish and scaled it for us. Before we knew it, a feast has been prepared.

The food we had were mostly boiled and then topped with their special minced pork on the vegetables and tofu. Mrs. Liaw said quick-boiling the food instead of frying them required little or no oil, translating to healthier dishes.

Signature ingredient or rather garnishing is the golden fried garlic which demands careful attention and tireless stirring. Stewed pork knuckles and BKT were like soul food to me on a rainy day in a foreign land.

Besides impeccable tasting delicacies bestowed upon us, the staff and Liaw family were attentive and friendly. They didn’t mind that our phototaking got in their way. They beckoned and welcomed us into corners where their chores were done with smiles and laughters. Even the ladies (washing the dishes, not shown here) were happy to see us nosy parkers breaking their patterned days.

If you are in the area, do not forget to say hello to the Liaws icon_biggrin.gif?m=1129645325g

P.S. The food is cooked in open concept kitchen where everything is transparent. This place is absolutely comfortable and clean.

03-hin-hock-img_2559c2a9bondingtool1.jpg

Kedai BKT Hin Hock in Tampoi, Johor, Malaysia.

Kedai Bak Kut Teh Hin Hock 兴福肉骨茶
Address: Jalan Dato Mohammed Seth,
Tampoi 81200,
Johor Baharu (near Plaza Angsana)
Map: http://goo.gl/maps/E29uq
GPS: 1.496813,103.702429

Operating hours: 8.30am to 3.30pm (Mondays off)

Read Tony Johor Kaki’s Fish review click here and his BKT review click here.

Read The Silver Chef’s review of this restaurant by click here.

Am I in the right thread or not. I scrolled back to the last 5 pages and I still dun see any food recommendation in JB.

All I see is ... ...

Unless your kind of food is different from mine... Wahaha....

You got to read from page 1, not just the last 5 pages lah.... [laugh]

Also those link (eg. Johorkaki, etc) must open to view...cos inside have many good recommendations.

Vegetarian food is hard to find in JB... There are a few restaurants in the Johor Jaya region ...

Da ma ba sha....Got 1 hawker vegetarian..got yummy chou tou fried rice. Permas has like 3 restaurant....ppl say 1 of the 3 is xie shiong guan veg restaurant is there.

Let me know if you interested in permas restaurant. I will supply the address if you required it.

Are you referring ex-media corp artise 谢 韶 光 opened 素 餐 馆 at Permas Jaya ?

Yup boss...Tia gong is at Old permas. You should be familiar with there too right.

loves the tasty dishes, super long queue in weekend, advise to come in weekday.

call me lah, I buying you a good vegetarian meal there.