Tatkoon Neutral Newbie January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 The response for a automotive workshop on Saturdays can be equate as a Sunday/holiday as Saturday is a off day for majority of working class ppl. If the response on a Saturday can easily surpass that of any given weekday, wouldn't it be econimical wise to have it open on Sunday/holiday as well?? For example, does pxx xxxg tyres have more ppl coming to him on Saturdays or Mondays?? And if Saturdays are more crowded, will opening on a Sunday be quiet? I dunno. Likewise, there are many people spending time weekends and holidays with family/friends, BUT how many are willing to take leave to go to workshops to service/repair their car? There is a tyre shop opoosite lavender food centre opening till the wee hours. And i have seen ppl changing tyres at 1am there while I was having supper. My point is there is a seizable market for workshops to open at odd times which there is already a handful of them out there and are doing a roaring business. They are able to manage the operating hours to their best benefits as well as staff welfare. aiyah, whatever you say is not going to change the facts that most workshops will not open on weekends. If you like to send yr car to workshops on sunday, by all means go find 1 which open on sunday. but do not think you can dictate all to open for you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Sorry, me no mention want cheap. Imagine Mcdonald charge extra on Sunday? Suppliers and other companies complementing their service and repair are not open on sunday, so no point to open also. Insurance companies, insurance surveyors etc are not available on sunday, so also no point to do slip shot work when they can't quote a repair price etc to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 If I were to operate a car-related business, I will operate from Wed through Sun, resting on Mon and Tuesday. Many Singaporeans are office-workers and are tied to office hours. They only have the time to service their car on the weekends. I would have the weekend business to myself as there are no competitors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 If I were to operate a car-related business, I will operate from Wed through Sun, resting on Mon and Tuesday. Many Singaporeans are office-workers and are tied to office hours. They only have the time to service their car on the weekends. I would have the weekend business to myself as there are no competitors. then your business will shut down in less than a year. if your idea is workable, i believe that most WS in spore will be more than willing to implement it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tatkoon Neutral Newbie January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 later someone will start a poll to see if majority like to service their cars on weekends or weekdays. Maybe I start 1st. I will definitely go on a weekday be it servicing or modding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 simple, they haf families like u do. they wanna spend time wif their loved ones on weekends. haf u ever thought of suggesting to ur boss tat u wanna work on weekends and haf ur offdays on weekdays instead? Contrary, I am in the service industry and my off days are on weekdays. Hence I usually do my servicing on my off days which are on weekdays. So whether workshops open on sundays/holidays doesn't matter to me as these particular days are also my busiest days at work which i have no time to send my car to. Reason why i'm asking why workshop don't open on sundays/holidays is because knowing myself working in such odd days, scheduling workers' off days, recalling all my part-timers back to work on a busy sunday or holiday eve.... makes me wonder = why car workshops don't do as what i'm doing to maximise their work efficiency?? the best person to understand how one feels to work on weekends/holidays... it's me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Contrary, I am in the service industry and my off days are on weekdays. Hence I usually do my servicing on my off days which are on weekdays. So whether workshops open on sundays/holidays doesn't matter to me as these particular days are also my busiest days at work which i have no time to send my car to. Reason why i'm asking why workshop don't open on sundays/holidays is because knowing myself working in such odd days, scheduling workers' off days, recalling all my part-timers back to work on a busy sunday or holiday eve.... makes me wonder = why car workshops don't do as what i'm doing to maximise their work efficiency?? the best person to understand how one feels to work on weekends/holidays... it's me. I don't work on weekends/holiday but then it would mean I have to take leave to send the car for servicing during the weekdays. Sat is always full booking. So I would like to have workshop doing for Sunday. I don't mind paying extra or as mentioned earlier can even buy Kopi for mech too. It is a conveinient for some drivers. Of course for the workshop if there's no business of little on Sunday, then don't think they would want to work on Sun. Imageine open the workshop and count houseflies ? But for AD, think they should do this service on Sun, earn so much liao ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 then your business will shut down in less than a year. if your idea is workable, i believe that most WS in spore will be more than willing to implement it. some years ago, Tangs shopping mall was closed on Sundays due to the same reason some posters have replied. In the end, they gave in and open on Sundays. As for workshops, I dunno. But I do sure know that Saturdays are usually very busy. Why? plainly because ppl are off on saturdays and uses this time to send their car to workshops. This very argument can be easily brought over to a sunday/holiday which is a off day too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 3, 2009 Share January 3, 2009 Can I help me lowly paid PT worker only.. you got to ask the bosses directly.. How's life since coming back? hope u don't have to work on weekends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 then your business will shut down in less than a year. if your idea is workable, i believe that most WS in spore will be more than willing to implement it. Cannot say like tat.... there are few geniune reasons why most WS dun open on Sundays One reason is their workers are mostly malaysians. they go back home to malaysia/JB over weekends. If the boss wants them to work on sundays, boss need to pay extra OT. Malaysian workers are not stupid. They know about Sunday or PH pay rates. Second reason is those car parts supply shops, stockists and insurance companies are closed on sundays. So WS will be handicapped if they need to buy car parts or communicate with Insurance companies. So these are the reasons why most WS dun open on Sundays. Even those who really open on Sundays, they can only certain repair works on Sunday, NOT everything can do hor..... For example, if one car kena accident, brought into the WS on Sunday, the WS will not be able to do anything, until they communicate with insurance company. They will keep the car in WS until Monday. And those WS who open on Sundays, they have roaring biz. Unlike what you said that they will close down..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric76 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 Cannot say like tat.... there are few geniune reasons why most WS dun open on Sundays One reason is their workers are mostly malaysians. they go back home to malaysia/JB over weekends. If the boss wants them to work on sundays, boss need to pay extra OT. Malaysian workers are not stupid. They know about Sunday or PH pay rates. Second reason is those car parts supply shops, stockists and insurance companies are closed on sundays. So WS will be handicapped if they need to buy car parts or communicate with Insurance companies. So these are the reasons why most WS dun open on Sundays. Even those who really open on Sundays, they can only certain repair works on Sunday, NOT everything can do hor..... For example, if one car kena accident, brought into the WS on Sunday, the WS will not be able to do anything, until they communicate with insurance company. They will keep the car in WS until Monday. And those WS who open on Sundays, they have roaring biz. Unlike what you said that they will close down..... ur first reason might be valid, but if i am the boss i will definitly open the shop and pay OT to the workers, as compare OT money to what u gain during PHs it is peanut....Very simply, most ppl off on Sat and Sunday, so it will be more convienient for them to send car for service instead of take leave to do it during weekdays. Anyway, i feel the local shops owners' minds are very rigid, why PHs must rest, there's business there, u open a shop for what? it's to make profit, and u don't care which day right? I worked in China for few years before, there most of the service industries opens on PHs, even during chinese new year, cos they know that's the time most ppl got free time for shopping ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...