Zxcvb Turbocharged January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Why car workshops don't open on Sundays or holidays?? If restaurants, clubs, pubs, shopping centres, cinemas and so on can open on weekend holidays, how come majority of car worshops here don't open? I mean isn't it the best business opportunity to open on weekends and holidays to draw in the cars when their owners are not working? Anyone in the car industry care to enlighten me? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xefera 6th Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 6:51 AM, Zxcvb said: Why car workshops don't open on Sundays or holidays?? If restaurants, clubs, pubs, shopping centres, cinemas and so on can open on weekend holidays, how come majority of car worshops here don't open? I mean isn't it the best business opportunity to open on weekends and holidays to draw in the cars when their owners are not working? Anyone in the car industry care to enlighten me? There are lah, probably just that you have not come across one. I know of many who still open for business on Sundays and PH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Ask youself, do you want to work 365 days without rest? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 bosses got to give workers some rest day.....its a law. so the majority choose to let them rest on sun/ph. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 so u want all the stocklists and delivery drivers to be open thats extra costs and overhead end of the day, ur labour and parts more expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 2, 2009 Author Share January 2, 2009 of course rest days need to be included, just like in the service industry, many workers are off during quiet weekdays like mondays/tuesdays. so why can't workshops have their workers rest on weekdays? i reckon their suppliers and banking needs are done on office hours weekdays, but so do restaurants, pubs or any other retail/consumer industry who regard sundays and public holidays as their main takings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 Maybe they practise Ferrari way? Sunday is race day? Workshop think ppl use car on Sunday more, so not open loh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 6:51 AM, Zxcvb said: Why car workshops don't open on Sundays or holidays?? If restaurants, clubs, pubs, shopping centres, cinemas and so on can open on weekend holidays, how come majority of car worshops here don't open? I mean isn't it the best business opportunity to open on weekends and holidays to draw in the cars when their owners are not working? Anyone in the car industry care to enlighten me? and banks, post office, etc should open from 5pm to 8am everyday Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentrain Clutched January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:02 AM, Twofouronenite said: Maybe they practise Ferrari way? Sunday is race day? Workshop think ppl use car on Sunday more, so not open loh. i'm thinking the way you are thinking bro..haha..i tink most folks wld wan their cars to be repaired during the wkdays..as there is work n may not need the car so urgently..and sunday is the day they wanna use their cars..so wun wanna leave in a workshop..so they close on sundays..haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:02 AM, Twofouronenite said: Maybe they practise Ferrari way? Sunday is race day? Workshop think ppl use car on Sunday more, so not open loh. actually quite true.... sunday is for relax and going out..... who wants to spend a sunday in a car workshop.... except those hardcore and bo pian ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 (edited) On 1/2/2009 at 6:51 AM, Zxcvb said: Why car workshops don't open on Sundays or holidays?? If restaurants, clubs, pubs, shopping centres, cinemas and so on can open on weekend holidays, how come majority of car worshops here don't open? I mean isn't it the best business opportunity to open on weekends and holidays to draw in the cars when their owners are not working? Anyone in the car industry care to enlighten me? r u a workaholics? why dun you work 7 days a week without rest? workers and bosses need to rest and enjoy with families and friends during Sun n PHs... car workshops do not have the resource to operate on 7 days a week. Given the fact, car owners want cheap servicing, how do the car workshps justify the cost by operating 7 days a week? are you willing to pay extra costs if to have your car service during sundays n PHs? recently OCBC open their banks on sunday as well....i pity those staff...the authorities are encouraging ppl to have work-life balance whereas the companies are "forcing" staff to work during weekends...just to increase topline n bottomline...or should i say attract ppl to buy their investment products Edited January 2, 2009 by Help1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 u can pay a higher price for sunday servicings... Do u want? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:15 AM, Singaporesiao said: u can pay a higher price for sunday servicings... Do u want? That might be another reason workshop don't open on Sunday. More ex, end up only few ppl willing to pay so they don't open on Sunday and Holiday. But if they are those that operates on Sunday but off on Monday or weekdays, there should not be a reason to charge extra unless it is Holiday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:24 AM, Twofouronenite said: That might be another reason workshop don't open on Sunday. More ex, end up only few ppl willing to pay so they don't open on Sunday and Holiday. But if they are those that operates on Sunday but off on Monday or weekdays, there should not be a reason to charge extra unless it is Holiday. If you own a workshop that operate on weekends and PH, do you not charge a premium? let me quote my morning quote. "It's a different story when one sit on the chair". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:13 AM, Help1 said: r u a workaholics? why dun you work 7 days a week without rest? workers and bosses need to rest and enjoy with families and friends during Sun n PHs... car workshops do not have the resource to operate on 7 days a week. Given the fact, car owners want cheap servicing, how do the car workshps justify the cost by operating 7 days a week? are you willing to pay extra costs if to have your car service during sundays n PHs? recently OCBC open their banks on sunday as well....i pity those staff...the authorities are encouraging ppl to have work-life balance whereas the companies are "forcing" staff to work during weekends...just to increase topline n bottomline...or should i say attract ppl to buy their investment products now some banks are open even on weekends so as not to miss out on the opportunity costs. many customers are working on weekdays and are free only on weekends. Hence to capture this group of ppl, banks gotta to open on weekends too.. things have changed tremendously a lot since the collapse of huge financial institutions in Sept. it's so much harder to get customers to invest in bank products now! In good times, we can afford to talk abt work-life balances and family commitments,etc.. but when come the bad times, everyone will do anything just to keep their jobs safe. sad but true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:24 AM, Twofouronenite said: That might be another reason workshop don't open on Sunday. More ex, end up only few ppl willing to pay so they don't open on Sunday and Holiday. But if they are those that operates on Sunday but off on Monday or weekdays, there should not be a reason to charge extra unless it is Holiday. BTW, I tot workshops like autobacs and stamford open 7 days a week.. you can try them.. but not cheap.. want cheap, want good, then got to DIY liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:27 AM, Sony said: If you own a workshop that operate on weekends and PH, do you not charge a premium? let me quote my morning quote. "It's a different story when one sit on the chair". PH, yes, as I've already mentioned but weekends say Saturday, No or not neccesary, unless it is PH. IMHO, if the operation is 5 day then the other 2 days rest may have additional premium. In short if the operation is 7 days a week then can accept the additional premium on Sat or Sun. Not when the rest day is on week days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear January 2, 2009 Share January 2, 2009 On 1/2/2009 at 7:36 AM, Twofouronenite said: PH, yes, as I've already mentioned but weekends say Saturday, No or not neccesary, unless it is PH. IMHO, if the operation is 5 day then the other 2 days rest may have additional premium. In short if the operation is 7 days a week then can accept the additional premium on Sat or Sun. Not when the rest day is on week days. but but .. even with 2 off day on weekday, it's still a premium to work on weekend. like factory workers, you get extra pay per hour if the work is on sat and sun, right? anyway, me no so sure of the factory worker rate coz me help radx collect bodies, at times, jago toilet for appllo and collect dishes for throttle ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...