Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi all, My DVD Rom drive in HP laptop died or stopped working. Any one can recommend anyone who can repair or change the DVD Rom for me? Any MCF forumer can help me to change? My HP laptop model is Compaq nc6220. Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Juz buy the parts and change urself.. Cheaper... Check with servlink.com.sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 if the com very old liao... like more than 3yrs. than no point changing liao.. time to change a new com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 if the com very old liao... like more than 3yrs. than no point changing liao.. time to change a new com Not tat old.... still can use. running on XP. i only use it for surfing MCF..... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 if only the dvd rom not working..the just buy an external drive and use lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 if only the dvd rom not working..the just buy an external drive and use lor.. external one is troublesome lah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 Hi all, My DVD Rom drive in HP laptop died or stopped working. Any one can recommend anyone who can repair or change the DVD Rom for me? Any MCF forumer can help me to change? My HP laptop model is Compaq nc6220. Thanks You can go to Sim Lim. Lots of repair shops. But don't go this shop that goes by the name of something Star one. Last time sent my laptop there for repair but they couldn't do it and damaged the casing but lost my CB laptop safety cover. CB somemore charge me also. Farking dulan when I think back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 if the com very old liao... like more than 3yrs. than no point changing liao.. time to change a new com now celeron compaq notebook without OS cost about $500++ nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 30, 2008 Author Share December 30, 2008 You can go to Sim Lim. Lots of repair shops. But don't go this shop that goes by the name of something Star one. Last time sent my laptop there for repair but they couldn't do it and damaged the casing but lost my CB laptop safety cover. CB somemore charge me also. Farking dulan when I think back. Star one? i think i walked past there today... is it on top level? 5th level? i wanted to ask them for quote, but i dun have a nice feeling when i see the ppl there... so i just walked past... phew. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 30, 2008 Share December 30, 2008 DVD rom very easy to change. Exactly like changing video tape. There should be a button somewhere which when pressed, the whole DVD rom will pop out. If it doesn't pop out, check if there's any screw securing the drive. usually only a single screw. To install new one just pop it back in, again exactly like loading a video tape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 If this is your first time, then I suggest you bring it to a decent shop to have the DVD-ROM replaced. Let the ppl there install for you for that peace-of-mind. At the same time you can pick up a skill or two from them. Laptop is different from desktop. I would like to introduce you to a shop on L4 or L5 in Funan(just in front of the escalator). The shop name is called TKD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged December 31, 2008 Author Share December 31, 2008 If this is your first time, then I suggest you bring it to a decent shop to have the DVD-ROM replaced. Let the ppl there install for you for that peace-of-mind. At the same time you can pick up a skill or two from them. Laptop is different from desktop. I would like to introduce you to a shop on L4 or L5 in Funan(just in front of the escalator). The shop name is called TKD. TKD? Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear December 31, 2008 Share December 31, 2008 Hi all, My DVD Rom drive in HP laptop died or stopped working. Any one can recommend anyone who can repair or change the DVD Rom for me? Any MCF forumer can help me to change? My HP laptop model is Compaq nc6220. Thanks replacing a removable CD-rom drive for notebook is as hard as changing battery for your handphone. but beware those shops at sim lim might sell you a 2nd drive for the price for a new one because new one very hard to find already if yours is a very old model a sample of the market rate overseas... can ship to singapore http://www.getpartsonline.com/373315-001-r.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic December 10, 2016 Share December 10, 2016 Any recommendations for laptop screen replacement? Asus laptop. Thanks 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 10, 2016 Share December 10, 2016 Any recommendations for laptop screen replacement? Asus laptop. Thanks My go to place is at Sim Lim. PC Clinic. Look for Kenneth. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged December 10, 2016 Share December 10, 2016 My go to place is at Sim Lim. PC Clinic. Look for Kenneth. Same same. Go there look for "Lao Da" aka Kenneth (the fat guy) Reasonable pricing. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic December 11, 2016 Share December 11, 2016 My go to place is at Sim Lim. PC Clinic. Look for Kenneth. My go to place is at Sim Lim. PC Clinic. Look for Kenneth. Thank you. Are they open on Sunday ? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 11, 2016 Share December 11, 2016 Thank you. Are they open on Sunday ? Should be. Better to give them a call first just in case. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...