Is is really necessary to display road tax disc?

Alfc

Was just replacing my old road tax disc with newly paid one and realise that quite a lot of cars are without road tax disc. Has it become optional now to display as long as you keep it some where in your car? Or if it is still mandatory, why would one choose to hide it? Anyway, dun see any regulatory bodies or tp enforce this right?

Not necessary as I heard of.

I thought it is mandatory to display? If not law enforcer wants to check how? When I was in KL, was stopped once by MY TP and he checked my road tax disc but didn't kena summon.

Regards,

Really no need? I didn't know that. Then again, why would they issue you with a disc if you don't need to display it, a document that can be kept in the car would do in that case, no?

from onemotoring.com.sg:

Q: Is it an offence for not displaying road tax disc?

A: Singapore-registered vehicles are required to display a valid road tax disc on their windscreen at all times. The registered owner has up to 14 days (excluding Sunday and Public Holiday) from the date the vehicle is registered or last road tax expiry date to display the new road tax disc.

I thought it is mandatory to display? If not law enforcer wants to check how? When I was in KL, was stopped once by MY TP and he checked my road tax disc but didn't kena summon.

Regards,

Definitely need to have insurance before you can renew your road tax right ? So once you key in your licence plate number, all info is updated. So no worry, same apply to your season parking.

I see.

At least this is something new to me. Always thot will kena fine or something but anyway as long as it is paid, no need to display as no one bothers also.

A new thot that maybe is it due to some dun want people to know they driving the lower spec / cc version of a particular model so hide road tax... [laugh] jus kidding...

from onemotoring.com.sg:

Q: Is it an offence for not displaying road tax disc?

A: Singapore-registered vehicles are required to display a valid road tax disc on their windscreen at all times. The registered owner has up to 14 days (excluding Sunday and Public Holiday) from the date the vehicle is registered or last road tax expiry date to display the new road tax disc.

But d answer nvr says directly "It is an offence for not displaying road tax disc"? so what r d the charges or fines or not displayin?

after paying so much, u would want to show off your receipt rite, so display lah :D if no need to display and u anyhow put (misplace), one day TP ask for it where to find !

Was just replacing my old road tax disc with newly paid one and realise that quite a lot of cars are without road tax disc. Has it become optional now to display as long as you keep it some where in your car? Or if it is still mandatory, why would one choose to hide it? Anyway, dun see any regulatory bodies or tp enforce this right?

the thing is..... you don't display, someday you happy happy drive... kena road block and the TP check for your Road Tax, you no have.. how... you need to explain blah blah blah... eventually they call back HQ, check you pay, they let you go.... like that what for leh... you waste time explaining to the TP rite....TP no have the like carpark auntie, got machine to ti ti ti.... in any case, would prob kena "lecture" from the TP also.... just put lar....

Just like carpark disc... you don't put... auntie come... they ti ti ti... see that you pay, some good one will just walk off.... those nener hit quota one maybe give you one tkt.... say you neber put disc.... you write to HDB and expalin and most likely got it waive.... again, what for waste your time on all this leh....

Edited by Nlatio

http://app.mof.gov.sg/cutwaste/suggestionview.asp?id=35815

Dear Sir/Madam,

For enforcement purposes, we draw information from LTA's computer system instead of checking the physical road tax disc. However, the road tax disc is still useful as it serves to remind vehicle owners of the expiry date of their vehicle

Edited by Osiris

huh got position call cut waste secretariat ??? [confused]

Wah low.....such position also have. As a taxpayer, I think the best way for them to cut waste is to cut away this position first.