2 Inch Cracks on Windscreen

Meadelx200

Just back from KL on Friday. After stopping for lunch at Malacca Stop towards Singapore about 218km (one with the overhead bridge) found my rear passenger tire punctured at the Caltex petrol station.

After changing to the small spare tire and travelling at max speed of 80km/h towards Malacca town to service my punctured tire got another shock. I was travelling on the extrem left lane and got hit by a small object which caused a 2" semi circle crack on my passenger side windscreen about 1/3 from top & left. Can felt a small crack hole on the outside but not on the inside. Will bring down to BM tomorrow for an evaluation after advise by AIG.

Do you guys think this crack can warrant a change of the Picnic windscreen and how long will it take to replace ?

I think I will have to pay for the front 3M solar screen though. Anyone knows the cost of replacement ?

post-19708-1230445601_thumb.jpg

Just back from KL on Friday. After stopping for lunch at Malacca Stop towards Singapore about 218km (one with the overhead bridge) found my rear passenger tire punctured at the Caltex petrol station.

After changing to the small spare tire and travelling at max speed of 80km/h towards Malacca town to service my punctured tire got another shock. I was travelling on the extrem left lane and got hit by a small object which caused a 2" semi circle crack on my passenger side windscreen about 1/3 from top & left. Can felt a small crack hole on the outside but not on the inside. Will bring down to BM tomorrow for an evaluation after advise by AIG.

Do you guys think this crack can warrant a change of the Picnic windscreen and how long will it take to replace ?

I think I will have to pay for the front 3M solar screen though. Anyone knows the cost of replacement ?

looks like gotta change liao. mine got a small chip last time and it got bigger over the mths. lucky managed to get it repaired. think ur insurance got cover for windscreen replacement rite? only thing u need to pay is probably ur solar film.

as for downtime, u gotta consult ur workshop. better get it done soon as the holidays are coming. [;)]

2" crack is too big for any repair, it is better to replace the windscreen. Your AIG will definitely cover 1 free windscreen replacement. As for the 3M solar screen, be prepared for at least S$150.

I'm new here, any lobang to replace rear windscreen somewhere in north area preferbably sembawang area.

any way i'm driving a renault kangoo.Price range i should expect?

Rosz

2" crack is too big for any repair, it is better to replace the windscreen. Your AIG will definitely cover 1 free windscreen replacement. As for the 3M solar screen, be prepared for at least S$150.

btw, can do windscreen claims at agent?

I'm new here, any lobang to replace rear windscreen somewhere in north area preferbably sembawang area.

any way i'm driving a renault kangoo.Price range i should expect?

Rosz

eh.. you have a car, is singapore so small that that you can only consider sembawang area?

try ubi or toh guan area for a quote.. price range from less than 200 to close to 1k for your front 3 piece.. assuming you don't need it for rear

Edited by Sony

Call AIG on Sat & asked me to go BM for repair. (my coverage is unlimited windscreen replacement)

Went to BM on Monday to put up the case. Sent in car on Tuesday morning and collect on 2.30pm on the same day.

No hassle and a job well done ! but must take care for the next 48 hrs.

BM suggested me to do the front #M solar screen outside instead because of higher cost.

Any suggested places either in the East side (near pasir ris) or West (near Jurong Island) and how long will it take to complete the front windscreen and estimated cost.

Call AIG on Sat & asked me to go BM for repair. (my coverage is unlimited windscreen replacement)

Went to BM on Monday to put up the case. Sent in car on Tuesday morning and collect on 2.30pm on the same day.

BM suggested me to do the front #M solar screen outside instead because of higher cost.

Any suggested places either in the East side (near pasir ris) or West (near Jurong Island) and how long will it take to complete the front windscreen and estimated cost.

Solar screen got do on outside one meh? [confused]

TS meant go outside workshop to do the solar screen. not put solar screen on the outside of windscreen

Edited by Lab4games

oh... i m late, i wanted to recommend you to do windscreen repair than replace, though you cannot claim the repair cost, but it cheaper than you replace and pay the solarfilm cost.

your insurance should cover the replacement cost... as for solar film... gotta pay yourself.. but i suggest u no need to pay for 3M. just get some reputable but not branded one will do...

My previous experience...could not get insurance to pay for the cost of film replacement as it was done after purchase. However, Insurance company mention that I can claim it if the solar film was part of my purchase agreement. Maybe check with your insurance company

Edited by Kasahwt

As for the 3M solar screen, be prepared for at least S$150.

I was quoted 3M replacement Front screen at S$250 (authorised installer) & S$350 (BM) and take only 1/2 hour to install.

Is S$250 a reasonable price to pay ?