Renault Laguna worth the $?

Kelpie

This car is spaciousness compare to the competition from the same class at (4695 x 2060 x 1445)mm.

Peformance wise, a light pressure 2.0L Turbo at 170bhp/5000rpm, 270nm/3250rpm, 0-100 is 9.2 and max speed is 220km/h. Supposedly to be better in everything than its predecessor, comes with 8 airbags too. Also come with Toxcity sensor, automatic hazard sensor and anti-intrusion system.

It will be good to have at least 180~190bhp.

Anyone driving this car or test driven this guy? Kindly feedback.

For Renault car, can you bring your own engine oil and filter? Are servicing, parts and accessories expensive?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

The new laguna is a great car.

This is in my NEXT car list.

Servicing can use own engine oil, Wearnes will deduct the total $$.

The VW is quite thirsty.

The new laguna is a great car.

This is in my NEXT car list.

Servicing can use own engine oil, Wearnes will deduct the total $$.

The VW is quite thirsty.

Thanks for the information. Plan to test drive the car. There is actually a GT version, which is also 2.0 Turbocharged but come with 205bhp. Too bad, not available in the local market. In the UK website, the GT is only a few hundreds pound away from the 170bhp model. By the way, do you know what are difference between the Expression and privilege model?

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

The equipment level is different, one is wif sunroof.

After you test this Laguna, go test the Mazda6 (2.3). See which one offers better handling & ride.

Power & Equipment are about the same.

After you test this Laguna, go test the Mazda6 (2.3). See which one offers better handling & ride.

Why a Mazda6? its performance is not that great for a 2.3, Bhp is low too :mellow: . I doubt I want to drive a Mazda 6 unless I'm going for look. Anyway, looking around for an entry level 2.0L conti car not Japanese made lah.

Regards,

For 2.0 conti car, only the Jetta comes close to Laguna.

I will still go for the Laguna.

Jetta is too small though came with a big boot. IMHO, VW is a cheaper conti brand acting like expensive brand in SG.

Regards,

even the french say avoid french cars, so good luck.

want good handler, consider Mondeo.

want sexy, go Alfa.

Renault Laguna will make history then [laugh] , record sales for this model in the Europe.

Ford is also not a strong brand. Mondeo bhp also low. Get Mondeo, better get a Volvo. Alfa...erm Italian..expensive leh for a 159 2.2 JTS, high fuel consumption too.

Regards,

Mazda6 still got 2.3L?? You talking about 2nd hand?

I thought now only 2.0L & 2.5L only.

For 2.0 conti car, only the Jetta comes close to Laguna.

I will still go for the Laguna.

laguna is still quite rare OTR. guess not too many singaporeans buying it.

If someone is that had been used to Japanese reliability , French cars will be a nightmare.

If they have been having a French car all the time, they will take those trouble as a norm and swear that the ride is legendery, especially Citroen.

But once they get out of that mentality and try another European brand, then their eyes will open [laugh]

For Renault car, can you bring your own engine oil and filter? Are servicing, parts and accessories expensive?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Yes, you can bring ur own engine oil. Been doing that for some time liao. Spare parts slightly more ex compared to a jap ride, thus quite reasonable for the comfort and equipment level u r getting for that car.