Nlatio Turbocharged January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 On 1/5/2009 at 10:45 AM, Ixiz said: Haha ...What you pai ? I pak Siao ... [:p]haha For ESSO ...I normally tell those aunt uncle ...I Pak Lao Hu ...(Tiger) go pak Hum piao is it.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atlantis80 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 On 1/5/2009 at 9:15 AM, Civic2000 said: Caltex gives additional 5% to poor people like me who has no cash but using credit card. If you are SAFRA member Caltex will give you additional 7%, in all 12%, you don't get to enjoy another 5% even if you use OCBC or HSBC Credit Card to pay. Use the citibank platinum dividend card. 7% (Safra) + 5% (site) + 5% rebate (citibank cc) = Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vampgen Neutral Newbie January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 ACtually i think all petrol almost same. for me this is how i feel when i pump 98 into my lan cher. Shell = More torqey feeling, a "little" more power, makes you wanna drive on 1st lane faster speed... Esso & Caltex = Quieter engine, no drag effect, feel more lazy drive on 2nd lane and cruise to your destintion :) SPC = DA*n "High" Feeling = My Needle move like gravity is working on it, car still on 3rd lane.... Well thats just how i feel :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanr 1st Gear January 5, 2009 Share January 5, 2009 anyway, there seem to say all the petrols have the similar proteries n grades so all vehicles can use,right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Urns Neutral Newbie January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 I'm a starcard holder with Viewer's Choice and I have 14% off petrol plus these points known as Thanks! points. However I think I'm going to switch back to Esso very soon, even if I just get 12% discount with my Abecha card for 3 reasons. 1) I am a guy who does some grocery shopping at the petrol mart in which Cheers @ Esso far outshines Star Mart @ Caltex in the sense that there is a greater variety and better pricing. 2) I've pumped Esso 5000 and the equivalent Caltex 95 and realised that despite both being the same grade, Esso 5000 seems to give me better pick-up and the transmission of my auto car also seems to be smoother. 3) FC is better with Esso 5000 at 14.1km/l compared to Caltex 95 at 13.2km/l. This was calculated in the same way and my driving habit which is 60% highway/40% normal roads is strongly adhered to. I am quite heavy-footed and drive a Toyota Vios '05. The above-mentioned is my opinion only and pls do not hold me liable if you find that the results of your own tests differ. Just want to share with you guys based on my experience. Cheers to all and ups for mycarforum!! New year brand new forum!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear January 6, 2009 Share January 6, 2009 (edited) different cars react differently with different brands of petrol. so i guess its based on your princess's preference. i've tried all brands but for now my princess only takes esso or caltex. recently switch from esso to caltex, fc for me comparable just that caltex is slightly more powerful and smoothness wise is similar. shell is powerful yet rough and lousy fc. spc is e biggest NONO!! no fc, no power and rough Edited January 6, 2009 by Robo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Troyempire 1st Gear February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 bro, no diff lar. My Vios still running strong using both Jay Bee petrol and Spore petrol. Can't feel the anything. Most important is the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 20, 2010 Share February 20, 2010 I've used Shell, Esso and Caltex. Doesn't seem to be a big difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Go for Caltex platinum 98. Same price as normal 98 but higher grade. Last time Platinum 98 more expensive the Gold 98 which is same as other RON 98. But since they phase out Gold 98 they are selling Platinum @ Gold 98 price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 On 4/15/2010 at 6:50 AM, Hammerhammer said: Go for Caltex platinum 98. Same price as normal 98 but higher grade. Last time Platinum 98 more expensive the Gold 98 which is same as other RON 98. But since they phase out Gold 98 they are selling Platinum @ Gold 98 price. Ain't Caltex Gold being phased out quite some months ago? Anyway, have always been pumping Caltex Platinum 98 - Caltex Thanks! Points, plus 12% Discount (pay using OCBC credit card). Alternatively, SAFRA members also enjoy 12% discount - but not entitled to the Thanks! Points. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Myth of the petrol. I just pump whichever petrol that gives better discount. So far so good after few years. I am of the belief that making use of all the different additives from different petrol will greatly enhance the engine cleanliness. Of course, I try to run untill my petrol tank reserve light is on before I change the petrol brand. So that the different additives will not react with each other for adverse effect(of course this could be another myth in itself) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 On 4/15/2010 at 9:59 AM, Leepee said: Myth of the petrol. I just pump whichever petrol that gives better discount. So far so good after few years. I am of the belief that making use of all the different additives from different petrol will greatly enhance the engine cleanliness. Of course, I try to run untill my petrol tank reserve light is on before I change the petrol brand. So that the different additives will not react with each other for adverse effect(of course this could be another myth in itself) so, if today i eat kway teow with hum, i have to ensure i lausai untill all those kway teow are gone before i could eat mee siam with no hum?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 Yup....some say if last night eat too much durian, and next morning no toilet activity. Then better dont drink XO, if not stomach will explode. Body more important that any piece of metal car la! Aiya....Dont care lah....a car only last 10 years (some sell it away before 5 years old). So no need to care so much about what fuel or engine oil lah. As long can move good enough. If spoil, just repair or sell away. BUT my body only one, and need to last at least 90 years. So I rather spend money to feed my body with bird nest, chicken essence and good quality vitamins and food for my own body! To those friends who says must use synthetic oil to keep the car tip top and buy good tyres and use high quality 98 rom fuel......... I always ask them in return whether they buy high quality Japanese tuna and salmon and Kobe beef whenever they have the money or not. Most time they say its a waste of money. But how can treating your body to quality food be waste of money, while spending $$$ on a car is WORTH it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Narfeey Neutral Newbie April 15, 2010 Share April 15, 2010 On 1/5/2009 at 8:52 AM, Twofouronenite said: Dun like Esso becuase of name, sounds like axxh0le. Imagine someone ask, wat u pump? Reply: axxh0le, then fight begin? The name Esso cames from S.O. (Standard Oil). It was started by John D Rockerfeller, the richest man in history. Converted to present dollars, his wealth reached US$600 billion. That's TEN times of Bill Gates. Standard Oil became so big that at one time, it monopolized the world's entire oil industry. The US supreme court then forced it to split up into smaller companies in 1911. The oil companies of Exxon, Mobil and Chevron, all once was part of S.O. Ever watched that movie, 'there will be blood'? I would imagine Rockerfeller to be like that Daniel Day Lewis character. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftee Clutched April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 I simply don care about the brand or need wait until fuel tank empty then pump. For me is always either Esso or Caltax. 1/4 tank i will start pumping to full tank liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces 2nd Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 On 1/5/2009 at 9:15 AM, Civic2000 said: Caltex gives additional 5% to poor people like me who has no cash but using credit card. If you are SAFRA member Caltex will give you additional 7%, in all 12%, you don't get to enjoy another 5% even if you use OCBC or HSBC Credit Card to pay. You get further 5% rebate if you use Citibank Dividend card Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 (edited) Interesting that no one ask, why Civic need to pump 98? Type-r? I would have pump 95 all the time. Does 98 yield more power? I think 98 is only for high compression engine (or people who like to rev high) to prevent knocking. I could be wrong though. Since Singapore do not have "supermarket" petrol, I guess all brands is fine. Interesting article Is high Octane Gas worth the money? Edited April 16, 2010 by Kiadaw ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...