Nus24 Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 Please don't ask the super expensive AVA to test anything anymore! It will ultimately come from tax payers pocket...I hope GST will not have to be raised if AVA were to continue to provide Free chemical tests for the public! http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits...221-109343.html Melamine saga cost Singapore nearly $4 million Sun, Dec 21, 2008 The Straits Times By Tessa Wong The recent melamine food contamination saga in Singapore cost the Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) $2 million to do additional laboratory tests on food to detect the chemical. A total of 440 tonnes of tainted food, from milk and candy to biscuits and chocolates, were destroyed. They were worth an estimated $1.6 million. Their destruction cost an additional $33,880 but this was borne by the importer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 those scholars on top of the tree already take 1mil+, 2mils sounds reasonable.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 They never feel paiseh in quoting all these senseless figure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 seeing the $2m from different angles This is cost of guaranteeing only those tested batches are safe. Does not guarantee future batches. Given how costly a comprehensive test is jus for 1 chemical, does it leave you to wonder how much QC all ur other goods have? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 see.. even a mere AVA can charge 2M for conducting such test.. Further shows that I die die have to make my children to be top scholars and sit at the helm of any stat board or govt body.. bao jia one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 play safe complain, dun play safe also complain... which one you want? your taxpayer's money or stones in your kidney? seriously this complain, I find it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 All this while theya are charging for all the lab test for importers. they are not free by the way. This time round it was the urgency to test thousands of product in a short time so that consumers are safe and importer dun loss their business if taken too long for the test. if you-the tax payer (if you are paying tax!) do not want to consume any imported goods, then u better grow your own vege and feed a hen/cow behind your backyard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 (edited) i think the TS's intention is to highlight the cost of testing. Not so much of a complaint. My qn is, did you know melamine has always been added to food termed as "protein essence"? http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China/JK14Ad01.html U may be rite to put safety first above everything else. However, if such comprehensive test can cost $2m for <500 products, how confident are you about the other food tat is not tested? Cos if tested, ur food cannot be tat cheap If untested, ur food cannot be tat safe. We live in a complex global supply chain that your safest food is as safe as the weakest link in the food chain. Edited December 22, 2008 by Peqasus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 I tink its worth it for the safety of singaporeans, my questions are- 1) How they ensure future food products is free from it? 2) Why they did not detect it in the 1st place,muz wait for China scare then do it. 3) What about other chemicals which is harmful? Before the China scandal,i oso dunno wat the hell is melamine..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...