Workshop doing skimming of disc brake

Jamestan

Hi anyone know a good workshop to skim the rotor disc? My car when braking tends to be jerky, which I suspect is warping of rotor disc. (Toyota ISIS, 3 years old) Suspect its the numerous petrol station washings (spray water onto the front wheels when its still hot.

Thanks much

Skimming is a temporary solution. The problem will come back as little as few weeks depending on usage.

By thinning your rotors, you are also reducing your rotor co-efficient for friction and heat. This results in deteriorating of brake performance.

bmw320i is right. U should seek a good mech to look at it or change a new set.

Brakes are very vital safety components & shouldn't "skimmed" on $$$.

my 2 cts.

What has this gotta do with Volkswagen? Haha.

Anyway, you can try Riverview. They bought a skimming machine as 1 bro said.

The rotor disc can be skimmed once, no problem. I done it for 2 of my vehicles liao.

It's ok to skim. Just dun drill holes or machine slots on the braking surface. [laugh]

Avoid hard braking before going for car wash lor. Anyway uneven wear is common. Your driving habit affects the condition of your brakes also, gentle braking or hard last minute braking.

Hi anyone know a good workshop to skim the rotor disc? My car when braking tends to be jerky, which I suspect is warping of rotor disc. (Toyota ISIS, 3 years old) Suspect its the numerous petrol station washings (spray water onto the front wheels when its still hot.

Thanks much

like what other bro has mentioned,

skimmed is a temporary solution, the jerking of rotor will

definitely come back.

look at it this way, u spend say 60 to skimmed the warp rotor

say 2 month later the problem come back, u skimmed again?

might as well get a new set of rotor to have a peace of mind

rather than guessing when the problem is coming back or

the next time i apply brake will it jerk.

actually warping of rotor reduces the effectively of braking.

so pls change the rotor before u rear end somebody.

Thanks much

as so bros have mention, skimming is only temporary solution, as your ride is already 3yrs old, time to change a new disc rotor, solved the problems once and for all

just side track a bit,how much to change the rotor?compare to skimming.one rotor change can do how many skimming to rotor?

Bro,

Can advise whether it is on wheel skimming of the rotors?

Also, appreciate if you can advise the price if you should know.

Thanks

Try Riverview. I heard they bought their own machine when i went servicing few months ago.

Thanks for all replies... Decided to change the rotors as my car is 3 yrs old. Where and abt how much am I looking at? ISIS is PI so obviously cannot go to Borneo.

Thanks in advance

Thanks for all replies... Decided to change the rotors as my car is 3 yrs old. Where and abt how much am I looking at? ISIS is PI so obviously cannot go to Borneo.

Thanks in advance

Skimming about $80

Change about $200 to $250

Thanks in advance

buy from stockists..... sure have one.....

skimming is no good.... a good workshop will never tell u to skim. they will advise its safer to change to change one.....