Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 The part when he says "do you want GST to be raise to 8.5%" makes me so pissed... its such an obvious instance of openly threathening the people... and the thing is i always thought bus companies are privately owned... or does govt have a share in it? also the corelations of fare and oil pricing thing is absolutely stupig... during times when oil pricing rise like mad... i dun remember him making such remarks... how can we stand for that??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 and the thing is i always thought bus companies are privately owned... or does govt have a share in it? Do a search and u will realise who is the big boss behind. If not they fight so hard n tok so much for fark Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcfguy 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 The amount of revenue collected from COE over these years is enormous. This money should be channeled to subsidize public transport. Public transport should be almost free. In Austin (Texas), a US$1 daily bus card allows the passenger to take unlimited bus rides within a single day. BTW, US doesn't collect money from COE. NS men kena call back during mobilisation exercise should be given free travel on public transports like buses and trains, why don't implement this and keep talking ****? Oh no, I think you have made a 'good' suggestion...come 2009, there will be weekly mobilisation or all units to boost public transport companies' reserves.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 .... wat to do. freedom of speech with no responsibilities at all. the quality of the people is . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 ...... talk is cheap mah...... talk talk only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 i manage to listen to the actual dialog session between the commoners and him on the radio he sound quite arrogant and at some point he even quoted "do you want GST to be raise to 8.5% instead?" or something like that.. anyone heard that? Heard it this morning. Seems like the recent typical PAP tactic...threatening the public. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 maybe u should add in "local edition - lesson to be learnt" to make it more saleable and to cater to overseas market somemore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chevycavy 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 That dun applies to SG inc. All big companies in SG, ultimately belong to Oh u mean state owned like communist countries? That is shocking... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 wat is new... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 (edited) hi guys sources for reading, the comments made by Raymound Lim on the first part. The next part is the reason on why the bus fare hike when fuel price is high. See those highlighted i think will make you all blood boils. Public transport fares among issues raised at MacPherson dialogue session By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 21 December 2008 1931 hrs SINGAPORE : It would take a further 1.5 percentage point hike in GST if bus and train rides were to be made completely free. Transport Minister Raymond Lim revealed this at a dialogue session with MacPherson residents on Sunday. One resident at the session said: "(During) this tough and uncertain period, I hope there will not be an increase in public transport fares." With leaner times ahead and recovery not yet in sight, public transport fares - always a hot issue - dominated the discussion. And while Mr Lim is making no promises, he said he understands ground concerns and pointed out that the Public Transport Council will look carefully at economic conditions before considering any increase. But if things became really bad, will the government consider subsidising public transport fares? Mr Lim pointed out that even with subsidies, it will still be the public which ends up paying. He elaborated: "There are only two people who pay when it comes to public transport fares. One, I use - I pay. Or two, I use - you help me subsidise my ride. What happens when you help me subsidise rides? The taxpayer pays." Going to the other end of the spectrum, if rides were to be made completely free, that would impose a heavy tax burden on the people, as it takes S$1.2 billion just to run the bus and train systems annually. Mr Lim said : "The money must still come from somewhere. It is 1.5 percentage point increase of your GST. Now it is 7. You want it to be free - GST goes up to 8.5, to run a completely free bus and train system." But with oil prices - which operators traditionally cite as one of their high cost factors - dropping significantly in recent months, why have bus fares not come down in tandem? Mr Lim explained: " This is because public transport fares are not directly linked to the oil prices - we link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in all of Singapore."Moving to a cheaper form of transport, one resident asked: "I would like to know whether we are having, in the near future, a pro-bicycle government policy, whether can provide shady bicycle tracks all around the island." [/b] For now, Mr Lim said using two-wheelers as a form of transport is good for just intra-town travel. And it cannot be applied uniformly across the island but has to be adapted for different communities. Apart from Tampines, authorities are also looking at Yishun and Sembawang for pilot cycling projects. MacPherson is a constituency which has a high number of compact high-rise HDB flats, and a population that has a higher proportion of the elderly above the age of 50 who are more likely to be from the lower household income group. It is not surprising then it was not just public transport fares but also other cost of living issues that dominated the dialogue session. That included whether costs of goods and services are expected to come down in this recession. Another topic was that of foreigners working in Singapore. One issue raised was if the policy of letting foreign workers go first should also apply at the management level. Mr Lim pointed out that this differs from company to company, and depends on how badly the particular company needed the special skill sets of those management staff. - CNA/ms SMRT submits application to raise bus, MRT and LRT fares By Yvonne Cheong, Channel NewsAsia SINGAPORE: Singaporeans may be looking at higher fares for bus and MRT rides, with strong hints coming from SMRT. The company said it had submitted its application to increase fares to the Public Transport Council. The other transport operator - SBS Transit - has up to midnight on May 1 to do the same if it decides to raise fares. Observers have said fare increases are likely since oil prices have remained quite high in recent weeks. But it was not until hours before the end of the closing date on May 1 that SMRT submitted its application for a fare hike. However it would not give details. In a statement to Channel NewsAsia, SMRT's Vice President Goh Chee Kong noted that fares had not increased since 2002. It added that SMRT had been absorbing the GST increases during this period, and average fares collected had declined due to the GST absorption as well as expenditure on an expanding rail network. It also cited higher operating costs, rising oil prices and the $280m it spent on improving ageing systems as reasons. Its proposal will be reviewed by the Public Transport Council and this will take 4 to 5 weeks. Earlier this year, a new formula for fare revision was put in place to take into account not just the Consumer Price Index but also the change in workers' salaries. A spokesperson from the Public Transport Council told Channel NewsAsia that it would also look at the viability of the company and the unemployment rate. SMRT runs the North-South and East-West MRT lines, the Bukit Panjang LRT system and has 800 buses on 65 routes. Competing transport operator SBS Transit, which runs the North East MRT line, says it will be making an announcement on Tuesday. - CNA/ir Edited December 22, 2008 by Ivanpaseo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 maybe next time he will reap what he sow when he is no longer in the favourite list... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncss Clutched December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 Watch CNA just now, our Lemon Lim says that oil price does not link with the fare hike, so there is no justification for the fare to come down amid oil price deflation. I remembered the idiotic bus companies cited the oil price increase as the reason for the fare hike.... Worse Mr Lemon Lim says the bus companies need 500-600million profit per yr till 2010 as reserves to replace their buses...Anyway those buses they bring in also cannot make it, buy china bus lah since their Great leader like to carry china balls Don't like that la... I saw news that he walk 3.5km to do the visiting... never use car leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 they only forget things that they choose to forget... but any good deeds done, they will remember forever and also they will use it to remind u.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singaporesiao Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 Thanks for the heads-up... but still.... threatening commuters n every tax payer is really uncalled for... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 wayang show.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie_driver Neutral Newbie December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 that is what his predecessor's advice to him also ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 Are u local? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 22, 2008 Share December 22, 2008 Are u local? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...