Cancellation tour from agent

Joemit7850

I had book my tour in august thru one of the travel fair,

the tour are suppose to be on Jan,

but till now, i did not receive any confirmation or call from the agent till

i call them today, i was inform that the tour was cancel due to insufficent booking of 10ppl.

the airline does not allow if the tour are less than 10.

Can the agent do that?since we had already make the booking?can we get any compensation, since we had taken our leave etc...

Have you paid any deposits? did they offer to pay you back the deposit

or arrange another tour? or give you another tour destination option on the

stated dates?

That's bxxxxxxt (the airline part).

I believe yours is a mid/long haul tour. The reason why the agency set the minimum pax is due to ensure that they make a profit out of it.

Yes, they can do that. They should already have offered you alternative dates. If you are unable to make it, you can ask for a full refund, nothing more.

i had paid deposit before, he had given me two option

1)to join another group which are confirm date which only 2 week from now

2)full refunded of deposit

but my concern are we had already took leave on this date and we can't afford to change the date to nearer date,

and i had bought insurance together with the package, can i claim for non-departure?

no lah, mine is only to a asia country near hong kong,

i ok with full refund but i must make sure that i am getting back the payment straight instead of waiting for them to sent back the cheque which normally take very long..

Actually it doesn't work like that. NATAS guidelines give agents a window period for the refund. Agents themselves have disclaimers to safeguard their arses.

No use going to CASE.

ok liao...not too bad still got 2 options for u to choose...bo bian count yourself unlucky, since leave applied liao, if there is time, go n look for other agencies in chinatown this weekend n see whether can get yourself another booking.

meanwhile demand a full refund from the travel agency. remember to check your T&C and see whether they pay u full refund or not. bu ya dong bu dong jiu qu complain to CASE (dun be a typical singaporean complain here n there) unless you have exercise all options liao.

have a nice talk with them, dun bang here n there, sure can work up a win-win situation.

but dun expect them to refund your travel insurance. what you should do is call up to the travel insurance company and explain to them, and see what other options they can do.

Edited by Help1

Please note that this isn't a CANCELLATION.

For group tours, it is always SUBJECT TO CONFIRMATION and I believe this is highlighted to you. Like Bro Kianbeng mentioned, your insurance does not cover this.

You took the risk to sign up for a non-confirmed group tour, please bear the consequence with grace. If you want a confirmed tour, sign up for a confirmed group tour the next time.

There is no free lunch in this world. You want a trip that costs less, you bear the risk of this situation you are in.

yeah....which is why i dun like to follow group, prefer free n easy, organise your own trip, dun need to wait here n there, hate the touch n go sightseeing...such organised tours suitable for oldies, lazy bums, not adventurous type ppl [:p]

near hongkong as in u going hongkong or shanghai? i believe if u can speak canton or mandrin go free and easy.. IMHO free and easy better to relax.. no nid follow schedule..

dun flame me.. just my opinion on tours.. hehe

i dun have any intention to go to CASE unless they do not refund me, i am not those fellow which are unreasonable to them if not, i will not be here writing..instead of at the agency office..

likely will go for another agent since my wife are so disappointed when she hear the news as she have looking forward for the holiday..

To Bro Leslielai

first

did i expect "free lunch" or tour this time? nooo.. i paid for it and i did not paid cheap either, even through i book from fair doesn't mean i am getting cheap either, i am paying the same price as during the normal period,

i made the booking because my wife looking forward for a holiday...

second

which comment made you think that i did not bear the consequence with grace???

Edited by Joemit7850

can understand the disappointment, both of you happily looking forward and now kenna setback...don't be despair, sleep early, tomorrow go chinatown see see look look...can recommend you a travel agency, www.airfares.com.sg (aka misa travel), this is one of my preferred agency if to book airfare, hotel etc though usually i book thru online.

u like going bali, if yes, can recommend you a private villa (http://www.sanyas-suite.com/) to stay, easy to negotiate the price with the GM, his name is Gede.

Edited by Help1