Wt_know Supersonic December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 hi, is there a 'universal' suction cup for dashboard to hold the gps device ? see picture below. it looks so much better than the windscreen suction cup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Yes, it sure looks better and practical. Where did you get it from? Interested. Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 It looks better but is also a dead giveaway that a GPS is installed on the car. Sometimes it is good enough to smash the windows to look around for it. At least with window suction cup mount you can take off the whole mount and leave no trace of your GPS. Some people don't care, just leave the car parked with the GPS in plain view on the dashboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Many GPS are portable units. The suction cap should be left behind and you bring along the GPS unit with you when you get out from your car. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 19, 2008 Author Share December 19, 2008 (edited) remove the gps and leave the suction cup on the dashboard. hopefully the suction cup looks tasteful . the best is to get the model that can attach/detach just like the windscreen suction cup. Edited December 19, 2008 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ncp91 1st Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Yes it is removable, but even that dock is a giveaway that there's a GPS on board. Kind of like a IU unit cover. Sure, its out of sight, but thieves know that its there somewhere. Few people would take their GPS with them when they leave the car unattended. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 19, 2008 Author Share December 19, 2008 (edited) valid point. unfortunately, we are not living in a 'perfect' world. however, when i was holiday in nz, i encountered several times that convertible cars with roof down parked at road-parking & open carpark. not sure whether they are ignorant or have faith in society perhaps they are having a coffee in a nearby alfesco and constantly looking at their car but what for ? hehe Edited December 19, 2008 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 bird fly past and have urgent need for toilet, fly over convertible and release themselves... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 my car can open top... i only left the roof open, with windows wind up... of cos no exp stuff on sight, only when i am at the side having coffee or makan. which is in sight and not so much of effort to keep looking. and its only a while. thats where i dun need to open and close all the time if not ,will close up then dun bother when going somewhere Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 hi, is there a 'universal' suction cup for dashboard to hold the gps device ? see picture below. it looks so much better than the windscreen suction cup. I suspect it is a suction cup as the dashboard is not smooth enough for it to work! It could be "stuck on" type or even screwed on type! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 agree... i've never seen any "suction" design gadget which works on rough surface.... if it works, im sure there are many items in the market incorporate that technology or design.. go one round of fix-it shop and we'll know this thing most likely a stick-on or screw-on and not a suck-on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 bro..paiseh ah..borrow your thread.. anyone knows where they sell those windscreen suction cup at a reasonable price? i go SLS there..all selling for above 20 bucks..which i think is blardy expensive.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Yes it is removable, but even that dock is a giveaway that there's a GPS on board. Kind of like a IU unit cover. Sure, its out of sight, but thieves know that its there somewhere. Few people would take their GPS with them when they leave the car unattended. GPS is so cheap today (some are even MIC), you mean there are people that go around smashing windscreen just to pocket a GPS in Singapore? Like that better install a shock sensor and anti-thief windscreens. My car is programmed as such when people trying to open the door handle, I will be alerted by my remote not to mention about hitting the windscreens. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 You can try Jusco TC JB 2nd floor. One of the phone shops is selling the buy one get one free suction cap. Surely cheaper than your S$20. If run out of stock, don't flame me hor . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 i dun wanna go in JB just for that leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 ya, i also want to know. i looking for those thick arm and can rotate to horizontal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Go to moostafar!!! Top level, car accessories, sure cheaper and different models to choose from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Any idea if they have suitable ones for 3.5 inch to fit my garmin? Probably will go one of these days to take a look. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...