Couple on warpath with cops....

David

maybe i disagree for the sake of discussion but somehow i just feel that i would prefer them getting summon for something else rather than parking, As it has made the grey area more grey.

nah.. you are contradicting yourselves and also twisting the discussion with a lot of your own assumption. Your stand from the initial post to now have changed.

in the beginning you talk about police trying to have their "revenge" thus the summon on parking. now you said they shd go direct to more serious charges.

If they really did that, would you change your talking point to one that the police is high hand and don't give people chances? [:/]

If I get fined for doing something wrong, I sure as hell will not blame anyone else for it. Our bro is assigning blame to the police when it should be on the two for being dumb enough to park illegally.

Edited by Elfenstar

If you notice something, i never said they were never wrong, in fact i think they should be punished but yes i agree alot of S'gporeans is now like this.

But even if want to punish, must punish for correct thing and be fair. Is not like, ok you wrong i gonna fine you but i dun want fine you too jialat, i still a bit kind, so fine you parking only.

You understand what i mean?

not really.. the police, in this case, have given the Ong the benefit of the doubt and not charge them with obstruction of justice but given them summon which is outright obvious coz they parked their car at a place which they shouldn't.

Isn't that correct?

No i had not work in polic ops room but yes i have experiences with police before and is making opinions based on it. I dun think i am wrong am i?

And like i previously mentioned, my constant brushes with the police has shown that they are just human with the same emotions as us and thus is entirely possible to do what i had mentioned.

Had you encountered someone that says even if you had not committed the offence, they will wack you till you admit you did?

I did experience 1st hand.

can I assume that your constant dealing with the police is on the opposite side, opposing the police?

serves mr ong right! typical farked up fella want to find fault with police instead himself kena. no wonder SPF not enough officers nowadays. police do job or dont do job also public want to complain, everything also complain, 1 day left no police officer see they wanna complain what.

this mr ong must be 1 of those stupid fella no common sense, like those stompers always post stupid posts on STOMP of police/cisco anyhow park when they are just doing their job. i hope he gets the fine and demerit points + fine for wasting police's time/resources! thumbsdown.gif

but your post make it seems like you have plenty against the police..

however, in this case on the Ong, I would say the police have done the correct thing.

Have just read the news report.

Including the pictures.

And summarised what i feel, assumption or not, I am sure we can live with different opinions.

My main query is simple, if the Ongs had not argued with the police officer and raise his voice but had politely informed them instead, would he been fined?

As mentioned by elfenstar previously, he be glad if the other car had not been summoned it shows that the police has shown discretion to only the 'troublemaker', if that is the case though the car was parked illegally, was the action to summon due to the 'illegally parked car' or due to the argument?

Have seen the 2 pictures and noticed something funny, when taken from the back it shows no obstruction at the side but when taken from the front, somehow there seem to be an obstruction at the side. Whatever it is, though it is a lame excuse but the fella say he can't reversed out due to heavy rain and is dangerous. It sounds valid to me.

I believe we have different views. No point trying to make each other agree with the other party. And dun see the need for indirect remarks.

Depends. Was the engine stopped? If yes was the driver in the car? If no then could the driver be seen rushing to do something and rushing back? If no then its parking.

And based on the above, if elfenstar is a current or ex police officer, i guess this is the process that determined if a person is parking, so was the engine stopped?

Edited by Galantspeedz

that is what you make feel, just like when i feel some things the govt is doing right i get called a pappy, etc. I can't stop people from thinking what they think so i dun really bother.

I just offer my views. Because in anything i always believe there is 2 sides of the story and just like the report, both sides contradict each other. But it is possible both were tell the truth because when emotions is at play there is alot of misunderstandings.

In fact, if not for the discretion of the police, i may not even been having this discussion with you now. [;)]

Edited by Galantspeedz

I have not seen the picture but if the man have waited there instead and talk to the police nicely, he would not be in the possible light of obstruction of justice and maybe unauthorised parking, and given the heavy rain, police might let go with warning.

but he chose to escalate, so the charges got escalated as well.

I wonder why the wife can go around looking for police when the husband think it's dangerous to reverse his car out. it sound lame to me.

I don't wish to question what the police wants to do but I think as civilian, I need to do my part well 1st.

sadly, others look the other way. others must do right before one follow [:/]

Edited by Sony

the moment i read the news, 1st word came to my mind "stupid", to the ong. they still dare to confront the police n tell the whole world about it. the police did the rite thing. to the ong couple [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

maybe i disagree for the sake of discussion but somehow i just feel that i would prefer them getting summon for something else rather than parking, As it has made the grey area more grey.

nah.. you are contradicting yourselves and also twisting the discussion with a lot of your own assumption. Your stand from the initial post to now have changed.

in the beginning you talk about police trying to have their "revenge" thus the summon on parking. now you said they shd go direct to more serious charges.

If they really did that, would you change your talking point to one that the police is high hand and don't give people chances? [:/]

had to reply to this. because my stand since the 1st post was how do they deem it as parking if their car was blocked thus it is of my opinion that it seem more of revenge or abuse of authority for arguing rather for the illegally 'parked' car.

And my stand do not change, that the Ongs was summoned because of the argument rather than cuz of the illegally 'parked' car. To me, that was just an excuse to get back at the Ongs.

Just because i did not mention in the first post they should have gone to more serious charges it means i am contradicting or twisting my words... geez... next time i need to put everything in 1 post then can... [sweatdrop]

maybe you should look at the pic then.

I think i can understand why he got pissed though the reason is stupid. Because it means his wife may have got caught in the rain.

And the 2 pics differ. Based on 1st pic, it is only a 1 way, 1 lane street but on the 2nd pic it shows maybe a lane big enough for 2 cars.