Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Like that traffic light? But if really that is the rule, it sure is 1 blanket cover whole sky ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 instead of waiting, taking pic and asking the wife the look for the police officer to pwn them; he could haf went find an alt route and reach his destination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Ok.. I LOVE to hate him also.. I think is him ba.. change his nick to anyhowparkcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 based on 1 of the pice, it shows the car can pass by the side. but in the other pic, it seems to be not possible due to a barrier. As for reversing out, in heavy rain, it seems dangerous, i will not take this choice no matter what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 haha, but this ong fellow went there wif the intention of parking i guess. qoute a classic example..i once saw 2 police man talking to a grp of youngsters at the void deck playing table tennis, at about 2230hrs. i overheard one of them questioning "got law say cannot play table tennis meh?" the police man simply point to the "no table tennis games after 10pm" sign just beside the table. self pwned at its best. dunno got tio summon by town council bo. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 I'd thought he'd be more creative and choose either one or both nicks, RadX and myself came up with 1. Hitbycar 2. Langgabycar Maybe after loosing money, Nomoneybuycar. This kind of sick puppy will be back one, he seeks attention and the constant bombardment from those who hate him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 I read the papers, he wanted to drop his wife off for her to buy things and i guess he intended to wait there. The way i see he stop behind the TP i guess because of the QX his wife got caught in the rain... thus they so pissed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 got umbrella mah. the QX parked there because it's valid parking point and also its passable.(according to wat u mentioned) so even if there is no QX there, this ong guy would drive right up there and hog the place until the wife comes back.(assuming this ong guy dun park and leave) hence depriving others of dropping of their passengers. either way, he is no saint either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 He is still lurking here..I believe.. looking for fresh blood.. Anyway back to topic, the reason why I say protein is the same as Mr Ong is they tend to see things only from the surface.. complain and complain without realising they are doing just as bad.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Yah, and then the fool thought he was "morally" and "legally" right and empowered to whack the cops...must have been a sight to behold when they were told of the sign....haha... Aiyah, let it be lah...the idiot must bear the consequences of his actions, if we were to push for the reasoning, legally speaking, the matas have the right to book him..think the report says they booked another car too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Actually to me, i used to assume parking means car stopped, driver not in car simple as that. But ever since i saw the reply in straits times that stopping awhile is ok, i realised it was a grey area. Maybe I would like to clear this ...... Under the Road Traffic Act (RTA), the word "Parking" refers to the vehicle is in stationary position, in material whether the driver or passengers is inside the vehicle, or the driver is standing beside his/her vehicle and the engine running or not...... "Parking" offences under RTA rules also define as the vehicle does not park at a designated parking area be it along the lane, street or road . As well as the vehicle is not moving (wheels in rolling motion), it is define as "Parking".... Parking lots drawn along the streets, lanes & roads, HDB car parks, private car parks are classified as designated parking areas. So if one doesn't park at the designated areas, the vehicle commit an offence of 'illegal parking' That sounds like nonsense. What if I'm stopping at a traffic light? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Think its bloody apparent...at traffic light, if lights are green and you are not moving, you are obstructing traffic, not illegally parked... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 It means that this ah Ong also sabo other cars.. if not they also ahem ahem bochap.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 Like that traffic light? But if really that is the rule, it sure is 1 blanket cover whole sky That is the technical definition. What I used was the working definition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged December 18, 2008 Share December 18, 2008 From TNP 12/18 edition - Ang Mo Kio Man Tells Cops : You Can't Park Here Summary : Mr Ong and his wife, Marilyn found a police car blocking a narrow access lane to a rain shelter decided to act against the policemen. Mr Ong began taking photos of the patrol car while the wife went about to track the policemen. The couple were returning to their residence in Palm View, AMK. The wife found the policemen talking to a man in a coffeeshop. She proceed to tell the policemen that their patrol car was blocking the lane. The 3 then walked back to the patrol car when the policemen found Mr Ong taking pictures of the police car - 'in case anything goes wrong'. That was when the argument ensued. The policemen were explaining that they were attending a case - that of a sleeping drunkard. The policemen then further explained that there was a exception for authorised vehicles to park there. It was at this point of time that Mr Ong was cited for parking -behind the police car - in a no-parking zone. Apparently Mr Ong did not read the sign - No Parking, Except Police, Ambulance and Authorised Vehicles. Mr Ong claimed 'not aware of the sign' because they were too small to read. Mr Ong parked there because he felt it would be too hazardous to back out because of the heavy rain and reduced visibility. The summon reads a fine of $120 and 3-point demerit. There was another vehicles besides Mr Ong's parked illegally there. The police noted that as well. BlK 232 & 233 Covered Car Porch, Plam View Estate, Ang Mo Kio. Not related to the Ongs and my views are based solely on what was posted here. IMHO, i find it is an abuse of authority, as the police car (i assume) may be blocking the narrow access lane to the rain shelther.... and surely the case of a sleeping drunkard is not that urgent till they can't park a place when it will not cause obstruction to other cars. It seems they are unhappy with the ruckus that the Ongs had kicked up and thus fine them for it. How can they deem it as parking if the Ongs car is behind the police car and thus partially or fully obstructing the lane. Even if it is possible to squeeze thru, there may be little leeway if the fella miscue and scratches the other car, who should be liable for both damages? When we see indiscrimate parking by police, everyone will say let give them benefit of the doubt that they are working on a urgent case but a sleeping drunkard? A drunkard maybe still consider urgent but a sleeping one? first issue, the officers parked at a lot which they are legally allowed to park. from the pics, there's no obstruction cause and as such in this case they have every right to park there even if they are not attending to any urgent case. a simple case of drunkard sleeping can escalate to someone who turns violent and being close to the car will help them in case if there's any need for arrest. even if the drunk person is unable to wake up i believe the officers would have to bring him back. if the car is parked far away from the location how are they going to convey the person. are they going to carry the drunkard up to the nearest mscp?? not likely or risk one officer keeping watch over the drunkard while the other officer scramble to his car to drive it nearer to the location. second issue the defination of parking under road traffic act states "to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down persons, goods or luggage; which legally means the couple had committed an offence. my 5 cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 No one will stop at traffic light and not moving when light turns "Green" .... Traffic lights control junction are not included. But if you stop by the side of the traffic lights junction or even predestrain crossing traffic lights, then you have committed 3 offences, 1. Parking within 3 meters of junction/control lights, 2. Parking in such manner that cause obstructions or 3. Illegal Parking. Usually, they only take action on the heaviest offence which is 'Parking within 3 meters of junction/control lights' Only way to escape all this is when your vehicle breaks down but that also, you have to move (push) your vehicle to a safe place. For major junctions, EMAS tow truck will come and help you to tow away or you have to call your own tow truck to tow your vehicle immediately...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Like that traffic light? But if really that is the rule, it sure is 1 blanket cover whole sky What can we do ....... Under the 'Boh Pian' Act, it is stated clearly that all vehicles are to "Park" at designated parking area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 19, 2008 Share December 19, 2008 Bro. there's just too many of these kind around, every where you look, there's one FLP floating in front of you. Want fresh blood, women's toilet got a lot, and they come in packets, well known brands like WHISPER. He is still lurking here..I believe.. looking for fresh blood.. Anyway back to topic, the reason why I say protein is the same as Mr Ong is they tend to see things only from the surface.. complain and complain without realising they are doing just as bad.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...