My Toy in Perth - AE86 Trueno

Vivioman

Get a low mileage Mit 380, can get a 2005 model around 13k-16k, big, safe with good power but abit thirsty(7-8km/L).

oh drove one of those when i went for a road trip down to albany & margaret river, very nice car indeed!

hey guys, thinking of getting a car with a budget of about 10-12k when return in february, looking a carsales i saw a ford cougar(which i think is pretty sweet), some integra vti-rs but they have quite high mileage (worried about maintainence)

what do you all suggest ?

go for a ek4 vti-r civic. cheap on fuel, raw old sch vtec goodness and reliable, needless to say heaps of aftermarket mods support

So are you perthies mainly SOR? I think I might be the only NOR guy among the perth people! :(

yea honkhonk, bmw320i, ahhan7 and myself all south.

is ur workplace near where u stay?

yea honkhonk, bmw320i, ahhan7 and myself all south.

is ur workplace near where u stay?

yeah I work in Wanneroo, 25 mins from my home.

anybody got lobang for 2nd hand? lol

depending on what car you are after it is worthwhile checking out the local car forums for members selling cars as well. Sometimes you get good deals.

search google for perth or WA forums + car brand and you might find the forums.

In addition to carsales.com.au, autotrader.com.au is also a good resource.

Edited by Vivioman

wa this thread become so quiet le... OT from this thread, saw mondeost's DC2 in curtin visitor carpark this afternoon

wah so long never update liao thought I'd post an updated pic...

Upgraded suspension, rims and tyres, front lip...

engine upgrade next, prob to 20V 4AGE...

DSCF5977s.jpg

wah so long never update liao thought I'd post an updated pic...

Upgraded suspension, rims and tyres, front lip...

engine upgrade next, prob to 20V 4AGE...

Wow! Must be nice to drive in Perth, it's just too damn congested here in Singapore! Btw, my Trueno's running a 20V Blacktop and it's nothing to shout about really. It's not really that fast & tuning's a real b*tch as the wiring harness is totally different from the 16V lump, and I'm on a Motec M400 standalone...not quite the ideal choice for this engine.

If you must have the 20V engine, I'd recommend sticking with the stock 20V ECU and wiring stuff...even better, stick with the 16 valver lah! My mechanic & tuner here in sg actually recommends that I switch back to a 16V head (the bottom-end's the same) with hi-comp pistons, cams, camgears, new valves & valve springs etc...much more managable with similiar power output [thumbsup]

How's the parts situation down under, it's next to impossible to find parts for this car here!!

^^ wah looks like I have to learn from you about 20V engine bro! :)

Parts over here no problem, but the only thing is the high price that they are sold by importers. Actually 20V is an option that I would like to consider, but depending on situation I might start with just a 16V transplant in the first instance. Which tuner do you use in SG?

Check out this forum if you are interested:

http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/forums/

Any pics of your car?

^^ wah looks like I have to learn from you about 20V engine bro! :)

Parts over here no problem, but the only thing is the high price that they are sold by importers. Actually 20V is an option that I would like to consider, but depending on situation I might start with just a 16V transplant in the first instance. Which tuner do you use in SG?

Check out this forum if you are interested:

http://www.ae86drivingclub.com.au/forums/

Any pics of your car?

Wow! The hachi owners in oz pretty damn hardcore huh?? Here, we try to keep it as subtle as possible though that's really kinda hard when my engine's on ITBs...unfiltered!! [sweatdrop]

Well, not sure if I can actually post the name of workshops here but the guys who do my car are L*m T*n Motorsports. Perhaps the 20V is the way to go down under, just have to make sure the engine's in tip-top condition and that there are experiened, trustworthy mechanix & tuners to whom you can turn when things go awry. Not that they will if installation and tuning is done properly in the first place...once again, you need experienced & trustworthy people [cool]

Phew! Had a real hardtime connecting the bluetooth of my phone to the bluetooth of my com! Gave up in the end 'cos I'm a real computer dinosaur and sent it via e-mail instead. Not very clear though but here it is anyway...

post-47957-1246935747_thumb.jpg