Kingcopa 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 No need to try. Scholars' path are already set for them. they no need to worry abt anything. Rem LTA boss, one of Minister of State etc........ their next job is already preplan for them even b4 they step down. Relevant Experience?????? what experience they need..... they just need to open mouth can liao. Credit they take, black pot......... other take lor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Property agents, insurance agents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 aiya, now the hot words is security mah, as long your company need assurance, get some guys to stand in front of the gate to ward off any evils forces. cheap & easy to deploy. better than war time exercise. I hate ranks.. to me, it's basically dog eat dog environment. Difficult, there is always a boss to subordinate relationship in workplace. Even as your own boss like what I'm doing now, the customers are your bosses too. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 No need to try. Scholars' path are already set for them. they no need to worry abt anything. Rem LTA boss, one of Minister of State etc........ their next job is already preplan for them even b4 they step down. Relevant Experience?????? what experience they need..... they just need to open mouth can liao. Credit they take, black pot......... other take lor. Still, they must have done somethings right (whether we like it or not) in order to get there lor. Life is not about fairness mah. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tleslie 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 building security post need someone from the military....SAF officer the best...but skill level must include: 1)able to eat snake...2) sleep inside the security post floor...3)act as if you are checking on the condo unit particular..but actually you are not.... imo.. officer good for nothing.. shout here shout there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 The only thing they do right in their lifetime is to be a scholar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_dude Neutral Newbie December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? private sector nt too sure..but if private sector but Temasek link...for ex regular..my recommendation as follow Air force - ST aerospace Army - ST Logistic...Kinetic...DSTA.. Navy - ST Marine... All well sought after coz you got to turn around...from being customer to contractor...their mentality...since you are ex-customer...you are in better position to understand and go tok tok to those ex-colleague Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kranjipioneer 3rd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 i know a uncle taxi-driver last time is major.. ask him why now drive cab he said earn enuff already, collect cpf and drive taxi for leisure. My superiors during my NS days : OC (Captain), now a cab-driver. CSM, now in the security industry. Platoon sergeant, a PE teacher in a JC. Another platoon sergeant, businessman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cavver 4th Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 seen like the specialists hav better prospect than the officer leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Whether or not someone is sought after in the private sector depends on whether their skills is relevant to the business sector he is wants to be in. If he is a S4 and sought work in a logistical company, he has a chance If S1 wants to be in HR, a chance. if combat vocation want to do business, hard lor. But if you are asking if put SAF officer in resume and private sector grant him some benefit by opening doors for them because they are from SAF, then no. It is not the same as putting in your resume that you are from the Big 4 or Google or educated in the Ivy league, which have an effect of giving you an interview because of where you are from. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? In my company ---> NO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? Only those scholar types..the rest begin a pitiful second career ( that if they can find one!) with a measly pay! So the wisdom is....don't waste your prime years with the SAF or whatever 'F' lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sann_1 Clutched December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Hmm.. for technical jobs requiring hands on. 'Cannot'!! I think my officer more suitable for supervisor job. Its a job which you need not do it. You just need to absorb whatever job given by your manager...then force it down your workers without thinking whether the lead time given is reasonable or not. Sorry it i have offended any supervisors here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Quite a lot CMI. Those who can, have positive work attitude. What do you expect, when in the service, they're so used to saying this: Err...do this for me, do that for me..." "Ok, I want you to handle this for me...." So it spills over to the private sector. Please note, not ALL officers are like that. am'I I not correct? Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 (edited) Edited December 16, 2008 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 i know a uncle taxi-driver last time is major.. ask him why now drive cab he said earn enuff already, collect cpf and drive taxi for leisure. Driving taxi's a good choice. One day can earns $320. Better than a SAF MAJ salary. U want*? (*But that is if u drive both day and night shift.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Author Share December 16, 2008 i know a uncle taxi-driver last time is major.. ask him why now drive cab he said earn enuff already, collect cpf and drive taxi for leisure. Sounds like a face saving excuse to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 If he is on pension scheme, why not? Their CPF is and they get to have salary every mth till they mati. See Dr no need $. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...