Adrianli Hypersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote Yup, have an ex naval officer of capt rank here who took over my job when I was promoted. He was a communications officer and navigating officer in the navy. But when comes to real work relating to Inmarsat C and other marine communicating devices, he know nuts abt them. I asked him wat he learn in the navy as they also had similar equipments. He told me in actual fact, he knew very little and just sign the papers presented to him only. I was a naval specialist only and I know more things than him!!! And now he is working as a junior in my company. u working in sinktel or the swedish sat communication co? Immarsat C? A B? miniM? hehe... ship to land? land to air? lolx... Nope. Working at a ship owner company. In the offshore n marine line. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? maybe can be security guard ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? It was reported in the news before a ex-Army general joined DBS Bank as a Managing Director mah. No Banking experience required. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote I have dumped many of the ex-rsaf applicants' resumes to the bin.... No relevant experience yet asking for senior staff pay. Advice to them : be more modest in expected salary, you can't demand anything yet. I think they should try GICs rather than private sectors. I know of organizations that value officer rank as a bonus when come to recruitment and promotions. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verve 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 thats because its singapore inc. dbs is glc mah. its not uncommon to see army ltcs, majs and such in glcs like st and the likes maybe its one of the ways that the govt keep them employed after their stint in nation building activities. the thing is the private sector does not seem to embrace them with open arms the way govt related glcs do. your example is one. i believe private sector there is only so much leverage you can have with so called soft mgmt skills - imho when you manage a team of soldiers its either do it accordingly or get charged and etc, very different from private sector so i don't really buy that. plus the bottomline in military and private sector is very diff. try asking the ex army general to apply for jp morgan director position, i don t tnink he will be as welcome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) Quote u will be surprised how many DBS 'key officers' were from SAF........key officers referring to MD level.. of cos..those are high level ex-saf ppl, overseas scholars etc.. =) you said it yourself, those are high level type and DBS isnt totally private sector , if you get my drift Anyway, i believe the discussion is more about "normal" SAF officers... Edited December 15, 2008 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cutebeat Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 haha..only the likes of GLCs / parliament welcomes them. Pte sector like JP morgan to employ them? sorry, they have enough sh*t on their board. maybe apply for the floor manager still can lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 The past emplyment records are needed to tell the potential employer the background so that they can consider if there any suitable position. usually when an potential employer invited the applicant for an interivew, they are already had in mind what position for him or her liao. as a whole, is already 50% into a sucessful entry..they rest is very much based on the 'feel' of the attitude and the applicant presentation during the interview. that alot to say during the interview then the CVs..so in term of work ethic, maturity etc etc are, in vague, size up during the interview. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote you said it yourself, those are high level type and DBS isnt totally private sector , if you get my drift Anyway, i believe the discussion is more about "normal" SAF officers... DBS Bank is indeed a privatized legal entity. MAS always like to say they have nothing to do with DBS . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 It is not easy to earn our bars in old days. Almost continued as a regular but I choose to go private sector in the end. I think those skills that we have acquired in the forces do help us in our career buidling. Afterall, it is your EQ, luck and persistence that really count. Again, the definition of a successful career means differently to different people. In a material world, most would measure on tangible assets like how much money in the bank, how many private properties you owned, how luxury is your car and perhaps how many misses you keep too . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_liang Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Had been a regular for 7 years and out in the private for almost 5 years now. Was a specialist then not an officer. Life in the forces was good in my opinion at least for the officers. I left becos I can't stand working in such environment. The officers know nuts but they are called engineering officers, dunno which part of engineering they do except report status everyday. From the places I have been within the force, I can tell you I will not consider officers in technical work but will for logistics. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ltcy Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote u will be surprised how many DBS 'key officers' were from SAF........key officers referring to MD level.. of cos..those are high level ex-saf ppl, overseas scholars etc.. =) Ha... You referring to the Head of Singapore Consumer Banking? Ha... A MD now, formerly from SAF... OCBC Head of Secured Loan was a LTC from the army too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seevic Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Quote Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? LTC (NS) Mohamed Ismail : Ex SAF officer now CEO of Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin53 Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 i know a uncle taxi-driver last time is major.. ask him why now drive cab he said earn enuff already, collect cpf and drive taxi for leisure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Application9999 Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) building security post need someone from the military....SAF officer the best...but skill level must include: 1)able to eat snake...2) sleep inside the security post floor...3)act as if you are checking on the condo unit particular..but actually you are not.... Edited December 15, 2008 by Application9999 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Quote building security post need someone from the military....SAF officer the best...but skill level must include: 1)able to eat snake...2) sleep inside the security post floor...3)act as if you are checking on the condo unit particular..but actually you are not.... I don't think so, CISCO or SPF more appropriate. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Louisckp Neutral Newbie December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 Be your own boss, drive cab, corporate life too fast for you, better la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Louisckp Neutral Newbie December 16, 2008 Share December 16, 2008 aiya, now the hot words is security mah, as long your company need assurance, get some guys to stand in front of the gate to ward off any evils forces. cheap & easy to deploy. better than war time exercise. I hate ranks.. to me, it's basically dog eat dog environment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...