Ahtong 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 simi relevant skill set? one can write anything in resume, but whether will pichar during interview ownself noe... work ethics, maturity and analytical skills very individual one....so cannot comment also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Certain fields in the private sector may look for ex military personnel. But if you are talking about overall general private sector then "sought-after" is definitely not the word Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Yup, have an ex naval officer of capt rank here who took over my job when I was promoted. He was a communications officer and navigating officer in the navy. But when comes to real work relating to Inmarsat C and other marine communicating devices, he know nuts abt them. I asked him wat he learn in the navy as they also had similar equipments. He told me in actual fact, he knew very little and just sign the papers presented to him only. I was a naval specialist only and I know more things than him!!! And now he is working as a junior in my company. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 I know one personally in my company. You would also need to have the skill to convince company to employ one. Usually, ex-officers would rely on management skill sets if they have; while serving in SAF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michel Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Perhaps more attractive to prospective employers in the security industry... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 u will be surprised how many DBS 'key officers' were from SAF........ key officers referring to MD level.. of cos..those are high level ex-saf ppl, overseas scholars etc.. =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Depending on individual. The experience, the exposure, learning skills and etc. Very hard to tell from their cv/resume. Depending on vocation also. If generalized as sought after in private sector. No. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B777jubilee 2nd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) not exactly sama sama but I hate flying with Ex Air Force Pilots. They are used to doing things alone (1 man show) but in commercial airlines, its about c0ckpit resource management and somehow I find them not very good team players. There are always 2 pilots in c0ckpit but they think its only one. Of course the system will prevent them from acting alone but still, the mentality is such as they are used to flying alone for more than a decade Edited December 15, 2008 by B777jubilee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 sign up a missionary soldiers (soldier of fortune), else security guard supervisor loh...what skills do they have??? ask them to be more realistic that they have to start from ground zero when moving to private sector. dun expect ppl to call him sir here and there and take orders from him hor...else can ask him to fly kite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 that is king man ... better scenario if he was yr ex OC ... man HK drama serial in the making ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainman 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 I have dumped many of the ex-rsaf applicants' resumes to the bin.... No relevant experience yet asking for senior staff pay. Advice to them : be more modest in expected salary, you can't demand anything yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 u will be surprised how many DBS 'key officers' were from SAF........key officers referring to MD level.. of cos..those are high level ex-saf ppl, overseas scholars etc.. =) They are there as gahmen need to "take care" of them when they reach retirement age at 45. Just look at our tourism top man -- ex- Gen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 ya . i took a 50% pay cut when i left. some of my cohorts are adamant abt having a similar pay scale citing reasons of experience in a world class goverment sector , heading a team of 45 . ( OC ) ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 I hate flying with Ex Air Force Pilots Found these ppl are more arrogant... in or out of the force... (there may be some exception though) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 He is not independent at all at his work. It has been mths since he joined and keep asking me how to do this and that. I had taught him wat to do already, the rest is up to him. But he need someone to spoonfeed him!!! Hello, told him to wake up, he no more in SAF leh!!! Me treat him as equal lah. My boss very good and leave a lot of work up to us to progress but ppl like him is like a lost sheep. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Are ex-SAF regular officers sought after in the private sector? If someone writes that in his resume, will they look more attractive to potential employers? Any one worked with ex-officers before? Do they rate highly in terms of work ethics, maturity and analytical skills? So what kind of achievement should they put in their resume ? "My greatest achievement in SAF is that I managed to charge many people and put them in detention barracks as compared to my peers." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjkp Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 So what kind of achievement should they put in their resume ? You reminded me on the last few rounds of interview I attended. It made me think : are they hiring an MD, CEO .... when all I need is a junior exec job.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...