Route88 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 (edited) Condo D is really bochap, maybe en-bloc soon Edited December 14, 2008 by Route88 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Sometimes too strict also no good,some guards yaya papaya one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 My friend has her IC misplaced by the security when visiting a company. The security service for that building was managed by CISCO. When questioned, got so many funny reasons like there are different CISCO officers managing the security post at that time, dont know who responsible. Then all the CISCO officers there started pointing finger at each other. Eventually, all of them pointed to a CISCO officer who happen to be a Malaysian, will be resigning in 2 weeks time & return to Malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Building security do not demand for your IC. This is well understood by everyone in the industry. They ask for photo ID, and if u provide your NRIC, that is your own initiative. If not comfortable to provide, then dun provide, and dun enter. Entering any private buliding is subject to the MCST's terms and conditions of entry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 What sort of security do you want from Lower-end condos in Singapore? You pay peanuts then get Monkey lor. Some Condos don't even have security guards to begin with. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 These condo management's top priority is getting the cheapest security service. Quality of security service, will they be highly concern? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Quote People ever wonder why the condo committee has the legal right to keep your IC? During the time that your IC is in the guard's care, a lot of things can happen - they might mis-placed the card and you have a lot of trouble (and cost) to get it replace. Worse, they can steal the information on your IC and even make photo copies to apply for credit cards, etc... Apply for credit card not so easy, since you need to send in a photocopy of the IC and the card will be sent to the address on the IC anyway. But i have read on newspapers that someone kanna harassed by Ah Long to return money he didn't borrow from. The victim suspected that the security guard whom he handled his IC to at some place used his IC to borrowed $$ from the Ah Long. So guys, if you have to exchange for a pass, please use your driver's licence and not your IC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Quote People ever wonder why the condo committee has the legal right to keep your IC? During the time that your IC is in the guard's care, a lot of things can happen - they might mis-placed the card and you have a lot of trouble (and cost) to get it replace. Worse, they can steal the information on your IC and even make photo copies to apply for credit cards, etc... Yup, only in singapore... Not just condo guards, but when visiting companies, etc. the security likes to retain IC in exchange for a visitor pass. Seems that IC is viewed very lightly here. In some other countries, it is illegal for others (except police) to demand your IC. Even the police cannot retain your IC without strong reason. Yup. My ang mo clients sometimes reject when the security want to keep their passports in exchange for a visitor pass. They told me what you wrote too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I used to stay in condo c & D option. it the same condo just the guards practice C & D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Quote Condo D is really bochap, maybe en-bloc soon ha ha true my condo was en-bloc but the guard management practice option C & D for the last 10 years maybe anticipating en-block 10 years later Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 So what did ur ang mo clients do in the end? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Most substitute with their company pass. Got 1 guy substitute with his golf club membership card. Those who didn't bring other photo IDs bo bian gave passports with my assurance that they are in good hands. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I think it depends on who are the residents. Some petty residents complain on the slightest thing ! I was at a sengkang condo for a colleague's baby boy full month and being a big group we obstruct a small area of the walkway but still accessible for people. Then the security came over to inform not to block the passage way, got residents complain. Sometimes cant understand, why cant the residents be mre understanding. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Well perhaps he is too tired and bo chap.. Besides the guards are not well paid hardly 1K per month + long hours . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 The minimum market rate should be around $1300 to $1400. Usually security company is paid like $1800~$2200 for each guard by condo management. Generally 8 hours shift, 1 hour lunch break. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Well paid or not, it is still their duty to do a good job. They accepted the job knowing the responsibilities and salary in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Normally I find condo security are more lenient to those who drive. Walk in visitor are subjected to more scrutinity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I also encounter some fairly slack condo security. But I also kenna some super 'on' ones from some lousy, cheapo condos. I once visit a relative new condo in town and they guard was rather slack....and I tot the security fails big time (for such a luxurious condo)...But I was wrong. I couldn't even get into the lift lobby. I needed to have the relative to let me in and within a very short time, I also have to get into the lift and press the right floor button. Otherwise, I have to call them again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...