Highwaycode Neutral Newbie December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 ASIAONE / MOTORING / NEWS / STORY Wed, Dec 10, 2008 The Star Folk fear angry deity may be cause of accidents Some Chinese believe that accidents on the North-South Expressway near Tangkak are due to an angry Datok Kong (Grandfather Deity) in the area, reports China Press. Residents believe the deity is a guardian of a hill or an area and they would hold prayers for protection. The daily reported that the stretch of the highway was prone to accidents and several would occur each year. The latest involved a bus heading towards Johor Baru and Singapore from Perak on Sunday which killed 10 people. Earlier this year, two separate accidents killed seven people along the stretch. A trader, known only as Chan, told the daily that nearby residents believed that the area was guided by the three Datok Kong before the highway was built. But no prayers were held to appease the deities when the highway was constructed. "We believe this had angered Datok Kong who will 'catch' some people every year," he said. He added that locals believe that the stretch is 'dirty' and would take extra precaution when driving. "According to some Malays, the area was previously a Malay cemetery and not enough prayers were held before construction work started," he said. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highwaycode Neutral Newbie December 12, 2008 Author Share December 12, 2008 (edited) The crash, which took place early on Sunday morning, left 18 others injured. It is believed to be among the worst crashes ever on the stretch of road. It took place near Tangkak, about half an hour's drive from Malacca. The bus, which was ferrying 28 passengers from Perak to Johor and Singapore, crashed into a tree and overturned. Most of the survivors said they did not know what had happened as they had been fast asleep. Firemen took about four hours to extricate the bodies from the wreckage. Police have detained the bus driver, 38, and his assistant, 26, to help in investigations. The injured were taken to Muar and Tangkak hospitals. Edited December 12, 2008 by Highwaycode Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Near Tangkat at nite drive with care....my friend who lives in Tangkat tries not to use NSH at nite. Its really dirty there....it was said that lots of roaming souls looking for pple to take over their place. Its one of the most accident prone area on NSH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 When i hear things like this, my skin tingles. I have to believe that there is some element of truth in it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Some people when they lack ability to decipher natural phenomenon will claim the supernatural. Idiots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 (edited) 1) Remember the Chinese temple at the site where Bukit Merah Swimming Complex now sits? It refused to move and bulldozers were ordered in to raze it. The MP died of a heart attack shortly after. 2) http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...7409&sec=nation Edited December 12, 2008 by Kklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarahelly Neutral Newbie December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Some people when they lack ability to decipher natural phenomenon will claim the supernatural. Idiots ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 that stretch of highway, along with some parts of melaka and seremban are known for it's crosswind.. crosswind is dangerous to vehicles travelling at high speed because the likelihood to drift from your lane is higher.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 you think it's crosswind, but it's angry deity huffing and puffing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 (edited) Deities??? I don't think Deities will KILL innocent lives when they are angry Edited December 12, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 (edited) If I put a Pah-Kua in my car, will it scare away the deities I also heard PEDAS got hantu, they come in a white vehicle with flashing lights on top and if u dont slow down they normally want your 'driving licence'. Edited December 12, 2008 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 i think the hantu come and make trouble maybe. the deity part, i think abit make no sense. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
C3p0 Neutral Newbie December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Some people when they lack ability to decipher natural phenomenon will claim the supernatural. Idiots Believe in it and it will be there, don't believe in it then it won't be there (Xin Ze You, Bu Xing Ze Wu). Something like that in chinese la, I translate ha ha. But I think as human beings, as far back in time as our caveman ancestors thousands of years ago, we usually claim certain natural phenomenon to be works of supernatural power when we can't decipher it. E.g. lighting and thunder used to be gods making angry noises. But we can't blame those caveman when they all they know is to hunt, make love, makan then sleep. (the order may be wrong ) But it is not right to term these people as idiots la. I would say, ignorant, would be a more appropriate word. Just like last time when people thought the world is flat, and if walk to the end of the world we will drop down and die... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 yalor... that one not call deities but ghost or satan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 that stretch of highway, along with some parts of melaka and seremban are known for it's crosswind.. crosswind is dangerous to vehicles travelling at high speed because the likelihood to drift from your lane is higher.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Like tat the bus driver relief liao....blame it on devils. Sure kena screw in hell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear December 12, 2008 Share December 12, 2008 Any map of that area? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...