Tunge 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Author Share December 11, 2008 Quote Hi bro, driving school teaches their students to leave in "D" and step on brake when at redlight. Stopping on slope to leave in "D" and release foot brake after pulling hand brake. Only shift to "P" and pull hand brake when going to stop for a long time(waiting for friend for example) Hope this helps. THANKS! this is exaclty the kind of clarification i need. cheers To those who shared what u normally do, thanks also, at least i know i'm not alone... To those who give dumb replies... Whatever. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Author Share December 11, 2008 Quote eh.. put to N or P, pull or step on hand/foot brake.. then open door, take out 2 brick. 1 put in front wheel, 1 at the rear wheel.. then go back to car and put on seatbelt in case there's rear impact on cars that don't stop... when lights about to turn green, remove seat belt, get off car and take away the 2 bricks.. then go back car, put on seatbelt, check mirror, see hair messy anot, then step on brake, remove hand/foot brake.. and finally, put to D and drive off when it turn green.. but I think by the time you finish, the light shd be turning red again if i was a 4 yr old boy i might laugh at ur joke... but anyways thanks for putting all the effort to write such a corny joke.... n also happy u have a good pal RadX who appreciates ur "joke" just for u => Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Author Share December 11, 2008 Quote I first saw this topic I thought you not sure what to do, hanky panky? haha anyways, for me, just step on brake lor the title abit misleading now that i re-read it... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear December 11, 2008 Share December 11, 2008 sure... you are welcome.. glad you learn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cefiro_dude Neutral Newbie December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 I heard frequently shifting to N when stopping at traffic lights will prematurely wear out the solenoid shift valve for the autobox. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched December 13, 2008 Share December 13, 2008 Quote Hey peps, i have a question for those who learn did ur TP with Auto cars. i got my licence some time back on manual but now driving auto, question is what is the recommended procedure when waiting at red light. I understand that switch to neutral is not recommened (did it when i just started driving auto but stopped after reading the forums) as it'll wear out the auto transmission in time. so are u taught to say on "D" and step on foot brake (what i'm doing now) of can pull hand brake and release foot brake. Hi Tunge, When you are waiting at red light, just leave your gear at 'D' and step on the brake. That's all. Reason being that light changes to green, you just step on the accelerator. This is the normal way of driving an auto car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 a friend told me once, if u drive/braked hard, avoid stepping on foot brake while waiting for extended time, cos the heat may warp the rotors cos the caliper only clamp on a portion of it, making the heat distribution uneven.. dunno, perhaps that applies to 2f2f drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 heat will warp the rotors? impossible cos we are not driving and braking lile F1 drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathstalker 2nd Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 My service engineer told me that the modern cars auto transmission is made to withstand frequent gear shifting - hence the reason he dismissed this "myth" when I say about the same thing to him. For myself, I tend to shift to "N" during long waits@the traffic lights, else I leave it to "D". The same engineer told me too, that shifting to "N" during long waits will help to save fuel & brakes i.e., the motor will no need to push the wheels when it's@ "D" mode, & the brakes need not work as hard. For the record, said engineer said this same info in front to a large audience - so he's very sure in this matter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 it's balls that u save on brakes if the disc is not moving vis a vis the brake pad, there can be no wear and tear at all otherwise, the handbrake will spoil very soon since it's probably in use 20 hours of the day maybe the service engineer wants more auto transmission to up lorry faster so he gets more biz. smart fella, really, u just need to know why he says what he says if u dun like my tone, i apologise, but i just want to set some facts straight. i have nothing to lose or gain by sharing this advice. thus, if u wanna ignore, it's ur choice also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Shifting to N will wear out your gearbox. If you step on the foot brake and you get hit in the rear, u will naturally take your foot off the brake and smash into the car in front. Best too use hand brake if stopping for more than 2 seconds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I do like your tone and completely agree with you. I couldn't have said better myself! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 I always have this thinking too... For manual, prolly... But for Auto, I realize the RPM will be even higher when you Neutral it.. So not sure whether it takes more petrol than brakes on D... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 Quote Hey peps, i have a question for those who learn did ur TP with Auto cars. i got my licence some time back on manual but now driving auto, question is what is the recommended procedure when waiting at red light. I understand that switch to neutral is not recommened (did it when i just started driving auto but stopped after reading the forums) as it'll wear out the auto transmission in time. so are u taught to say on "D" and step on foot brake (what i'm doing now) of can pull hand brake and release foot brake. You should come to a full stop, engage the handbrake and release the foot brake. If you handbrake is properly adjusted and you know how to pull it so that it is FULLY engaged, that should be sufficient to hold your car stationery. So many people have said the same thing, but NONE have pointed a very good reason for using the handbrake - so that you do not unnecessarily keep the brake light on and irritate the driver behind you. People who just continue to step brake at the traffic light at night are just as bad as those damned inconsiderate farkers who use their rear fog lights in clear weather. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Quote You should come to a full stop, engage the handbrake and release the foot brake. If you handbrake is properly adjusted and you know how to pull it so that it is FULLY engaged, that should be sufficient to hold your car stationery. So many people have said the same thing, but NONE have pointed a very good reason for using the handbrake - so that you do not unnecessarily keep the brake light on and irritate the driver behind you. People who just continue to step brake at the traffic light at night are just as bad as those damned inconsiderate farkers who use their rear fog lights in clear weather. yip totally agree w u abt tge brake light thing... that's also part of the reason i asked abt braking at red light at traffic stops. anyways i've really gathered lots of info here, thanks for all the CONSTRUCTIVE contributors so far Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Author Share December 14, 2008 Quote Hey peps, i have a question for those who learn did ur TP with Auto cars. i got my licence some time back on manual but now driving auto, question is what is the recommended procedure when waiting at red light. I understand that switch to neutral is not recommened (did it when i just started driving auto but stopped after reading the forums) as it'll wear out the auto transmission in time. so are u taught to say on "D" and step on foot brake (what i'm doing now) of can pull hand brake and release foot brake. Hi Tunge, When you are waiting at red light, just leave your gear at 'D' and step on the brake. That's all. Reason being that light changes to green, you just step on the accelerator. This is the normal way of driving an auto car. Thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitrous Neutral Newbie December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 If switch to N at traffic lights the most, will wear out solenoid. But shifting to N when approaching traffic lights is a big NO NO! U will burn ur ATF and damage ur gearbox in the long run. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear December 14, 2008 Share December 14, 2008 not true. i dun find the brake light that bad at traffic lights leh. traffic jam, yes, but boh pian. i rather drivers use their foot brake at lights, with or without the handbrake. the reason being that handbrake only brakes the rear wheels, while footbrake brakes all wheels. having said these, i dun practice what i suggest. i drive manual and use handbrake. if i dun handbrake, then it's clutch out and footbrake, gearshift still in 1st ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...