Auto Car what to do when Stop at traffic light

Tunge

Hey peps, i have a question for those who learn did ur TP with Auto cars. i got my licence some time back on manual but now driving auto, question is what is the recommended procedure when waiting at red light. I understand that switch to neutral is not recommened (did it when i just started driving auto but stopped after reading the forums) as it'll wear out the auto transmission in time.

so are u taught to say on "D" and step on foot brake (what i'm doing now) of can pull hand brake and release foot brake. hur.gif

Edited by Tunge

as for me, i hardly pull the handbrake while gear is on D, mainly just stepping on the footbrake.....if the stopping is more than 5 mins..then likely to engage 'N' and pull handbrake.

You have so much faith in your hand brake.... [shocked]

Normal - Gear in D, footbrake...watch out for chicks crossing the street.

Safety Type - Gear in D, footbrake & handbrake together and look for green light

Kiasu - Gear in P, footbrake + handbrake

Shift into P only if you are going to wait for a extended period. (like a couple of mins.) For traffic light stops...leaving it on D and footbrake is good enuff. But I think the test will need you to engage handbrake as well during traffic stops.

Actually its for safety...cos in case some blur block come smashing into your rear...your car will not jump forward that much.

Not dunno, just that this is really common sense and I dunno if you have any. If stop at traffic, it is up to individual to put to neutral or not. For me, if the wait is not long, then I will just step on the brake. If long, you can still choose to put to neutral or Parking, to give your foot a "rest".

I would leave the gear at D and step on footbrake. I use my left foot to brake when my right foot is tired.

I use the hand brake only when I am going to stop for quite some time and it is used with the P gear.

my style;

1)In 'D', + foot brake, normally

2)In 'D', + foot brake + handbrake. if you kiasu

3)In 'P' or 'N', + Hand brake if you want to relax your legs

Not dunno, just that this is really common sense and I dunno if you have any. If stop at traffic, it is up to individual to put to neutral or not. For me, if the wait is not long, then I will just step on the brake. If long, you can still choose to put to neutral or Parking, to give your foot a "rest".

well... i think u don't understand my post, so i'll assume u r not too clever, or u don't read very well.

i'm not asking about what is the common sense way to stop... i'm asking what is the TP recommended procedure, well u can at least call me anal then.

"D" + "foot brake" at red traffic light (I got used to this & it is no longer an issue after a while)

"P" + "hand brake" while waiting for friends

auto cars are meant to be idiot proof.. so.. jz step brake, stop, accel, go.. dun need to go thru so much hassle lah..

But last time i did try to switch to N when approaching red light to save fuel.. but in the end give up.. too trouble some..

But even for auto, there are many variations of auto.. cvt, just automatic, even selespeed, or sst etc.. so be it gg to N of not, and if it affects the transimission or not, it is not a standard thing..

Like my selespeed, it can be driven like an auto car, but it is actually a manual gear box with actuator and such.. but for normal auto car, the transmission mechanism is very different.. so my take is that probably for me, gg N is ok since basically it is a manual gear box at heart. For Auto, dun know if it will affect the torque converter or not..

yeah actaully it's no issue to step on foot brake at "D"

maybe the actual qn i wanna to know is it bad for the brakes to engage hand brake while on "D" (w/o stepping on footbrake)

I think what TS is looking for are drivers with class "3A" license to share what was taught in driving school.

flowerface.gifthumbsup.gif