Which car would you rather be in during an accident

Maxxtotal

Which car would you rather be in during an accident  

43 members have voted

1. 1.

• The big old Volvo 940 Estate
    • The small Renault Modus with 5 Star ENCAP?

Which car would you rather be in if both the car crash head on?

The big boxy and heavy Volvo 940 Estate famous for its safety during its days or a much newer Renault Modus with 5 EuroNCap Star ?

Will the 5 star safety Renault Modus mean anything when crashing with a car almost twice its size and weight?

Renault%20Modus.jpg

volvo940.jpg

watch video:video-fifth-gear-106.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3ygYUYia9I&feature=related

The whole purpose of this clip is to justify the ncap rating....but generally, advancement in safety design has improve significantly over the past decade and we'll continue to see more improvements in our lifetime to come.

Actually if you look carefully the Renault's driver also suffered quite serious injuries although the Volvo is immediate fatal....in the even that this is real, even the euro ncap 5 may not be enough to save the renault driver who might succumb to injuries after the crash.

so ncap is just a rating, best is still to drive safe and drive without thinking about ncap, which might give false sense of security.

Edited by Pocus

[laugh][laugh]

Landrover enough liao.. i've seen cars kissing the rover.. in the end rover perfectly fine.. the car can say total loss! [sweatdrop]

Bro, read up on the height of a car's bumper in relative to surviving a crash.

5 stars NCAP doesn't mean anything if your car's bumper goes under another car's.

If lambo kena say prado, the prado may just drive over it like a ramp.. so actually may be ok lah..

But after seeing this video.. am glad my ride got 5 stars... but sure hope i wont need to test it myself.

The whole purpose of this clip is to justify the ncap rating....but generally, advancement in safety design has improve significantly over the past decade and we'll continue to see more improvements in our lifetime to come.

Actually if you look carefully the Renault's driver also suffered quite serious injuries although the Volvo is immediate fatal....in the even that this is real, even the euro ncap 5 may not be enough to save the renault driver who might succumb to injuries after the crash.

so ncap is just a rating, best is still to drive safe and drive without thinking about ncap, which might give false sense of security.

nah this video aint made to justify Ncap. this is entertainment. the producer made this video is made to entertain curiosity as in any TV show. cos many ppl including myself would have bet that the volvo tank like structure will survive better than the little renault. so it is an interesting show to demonstrate that in this case where these 2 cars, tho diff size has bumper of similar height,

1. size and weight does necc means better safety

2. ability of the front to crumple and dissipate energy, as well as the ability of the reinforce bar to keep the other vehicle from crashing nearer

3. The strength of the safety cage to resist deformation and hence protect the passenger is crucial

but frankly, I think more accident happens from rear-ending than head on.

and I think crashing impact from the driver side is more scary and deadly than frontal collision.

Short of a real tank, there's no such thing as a car that's hard enough to really survive head-on crash like that.

Further, modern crash science have figured out, to protect occupants, you need to crumple the car body at the right places to absorb the crash energy, and thus protecting the occupants.