Multiple Collision

Devilmaycry

20081203.185050_bus_rotator.jpg

Wed, Dec 03, 2008

AsiaOne

Multiple "car" collision

Seven people were injured in a multiple-car collision this morning along Commonwealth West Avenue, next to Clementi MRT station.

The cause of the multiple collisions was attributed to an SMRT bus, Wanbao reported.

The SMRT bus reportedly careened into the back of another SMRT bus. The resulting force sent the second bus crashing into another two cars which were in front.

The accident occurred at 8.25am this morning during the peak hour traffic.

The two cars caught in the collision were a Mercedes-Benz and another saloon of a Japanese make.

The owner of the Japanese saloon, Mrs Zhang, a 63-year-old housewife, told Wanbao that she was dropping her daughter by the road when the accident happened.

"I have been letting my daughter alight here everyday without an incident," Mrs Zhang told Wanbao.

According to Mrs Zhang, there were seven casualties in the accident. The injured were passengers from either of the two SMRT buses.

Luckily, the passengers only suffered light injuries - they mainly complained of back pains or headaches, Wanbao reported. Some passengers also suffered superficial injuries.

Among the seven, two refused to be admitted to the hospital for check-ups. The other five were sent to the National University Hospital for treatment.

The Traffic Police is currently conducting an investigation on the accident, Wanbao reported.

Rest my case, this woman obviously don't know the traffic rules in Singapore. Double yellow lines still wanna stop/park the car. Self pawn bet she gonna say hazard light faulty to TP soon [thumbsdown]

Where is the "multi-car" accident? Only two cars what! How come the two buses also considered as cars meh? Multi-vehicles accident sound better lah.

If the insurance want to play puk...Can claim the car drivers are breaking the traffic rule and stopping illegally by the road side is self-instigating an accident to happen!

Own self created incidents due to illegal acts and disregard for safety of others road users cannot be considered as Accidents right? So ins can don't pay?

Tot it was not illegal to stop at double-yellow line to let passenger alight/aboard. Only not allow to wait/park.

Taxi always stop to pick up passenger.

The owner of the Japanese saloon, Mrs Zhang, a 63-year-old housewife, told Wanbao that she was dropping her daughter by the road when the accident happened.

"I have been letting my daughter alight here everyday without an incident," Mrs Zhang told Wanbao.

Complacency

[nod][nod] double yellow line ca stop for immediate alighting/pick up..

if the bus bang into the car, then it's the bus fault liao..unless it's bus lane..

huh?? double yellow line cannot stop and alight passenger meh?? since when the rules change liao. I always alight my wife on double yellow line near MRT station also leh... I remember when i get my highwaycode last time, the traffic rules allow the driver to do so leh. Only zig zag line not allow nia mah... [hur][hur][hur]

Edited by Tigershark1976

double yellow line can stop and wait!

single yellow line same as double yellow except can park between 7pm to 7am!!

single zig zag line can stop to drop off and pick up but cannot wait!

double ZIG ZAG then is no stopping at all times!!!

sexist and can't get facts right still want to put down others!

Edited by Gwensilvz

that area where people always stop off is technically not bus lane, it's broken yellow line indicating bus lane ahead...

im not supporting the auntie though. even if it's legal it's still inconsiderate, holding up the buses behind and the vehicles filtering out from a left turn.

Complacency

Yup, bro! MSK syndrome [:|]

Unbroken double yellow lines, actually it is meant for no stopping no waiting, you can see how UK, HK enforce this rule. However, in Singapore, since no one follow this rule, LTA came out zig-zag single yellow line (allow to stop and alight / pick up, but no waiting/parking) and zig-zag double yellow lines (no stopping no waiting at anytime).

Even allow to stop and go, still need to observe the traffic condition, as the driver of saloon car said, had been doing this for everyday, doesn't mean she is right, of course she thought she was right to do this.....

Edited by Safetyleo

Unfortunately most drivers think they are right or they have the right or it's not illegal or blah blah blah...

All of which are crap. No one bothers about the traffic flow behind them, whether they will cause obstruction to others or not. U can even read some comments here that says double yellow line can stop and wait... [rolleyes][hur]

Bcos of such stupid and selfish mentality, accidents happen. I see so many inconsiderate thick skin morons parked their cars along the road blocking others like they own it when there's a carpark nearby which they can wait there. Selfish Basta*ds [furious] .