MSCP parking encounters

Mcfguy

On 11/30/2008 at 1:24 PM, Mcfguy said:

Lately I kenna twice the same scenario in MSCP. I went up first up slope, proceed to drive to middle stretch of MSCP of that level, identified a lot, saw a car just coming up the slope, I signalled to park, the car behind come up fast to my car so close. The first time, the driver behind refused to budge and I was forced to go up another level and come back down. I realised that driver later park just 2 lots further from where I originally wanted to park.

The second time, I proceed to park. The driver behind has to reverse a little and when I park, he drove past and stare at me menacingly.

I've read and heard about ppl signalling to change lane and kaisu drivers from behind quickly drove up to prevent it. Now, in MSCP also kenna same.

stop before the lot.. move in front only when jokers behind come to a stop..

if you overshoot the lot, then most likely you are travelling at quite a fast speed, this come to a abrupt stop when you see empty lot.

As for car behind, at times, there's one hold chain of cars, thus it's not easy.

From another perspective, I have seen cars do last minute brake coz suddenly got lot become available.. but there's plenty of cars behind, so how to reverse? some are in the midst of slope somemore..

anyway, this is singapore.. got to get use to it.. there's jokers that cannot spare a min in waiting as well.

In other countries, people wait while one park. in here, the parker wait while all cars are clear off 1st

On 1/5/2009 at 8:38 AM, Horsee said:

Next time, try to signal (in advance) & see how..

or get GF to go up and chop lot using tissue paper 1st [flowerface]

i normally try not to tailgate car in front in case he may stop suddenly for a empty lot....

and yes, before u park, u let all the cars clear first coz got one time i already reverse liao yet this stupid vios honked me to look out for him going straight like its my fault for reversing w/o checking... :wacko:

I recently encountered one guy at the compass point carpark who was tailgating me at the carpark. I found an empty lot and signaled in advance to park by switching on the turn right signal light as the lot was in front of me on the right side. I then drive past the lot to reverse park.

The guy continue to tailgate me and stop behind me preventing me from parking so i stopped and wait for him to reverse...he waited for quite a while before finally reversing his car...i then reverse parked but when the guy drove past me he stared at me and waved his hand at me to indicate his unhappiness..

I got out of the car and confronted him to understand what he is unhappy about and this is what he told me:

Me: Whats wrong?

Guy: U want to park dunno how to signal ar?

Me: I did signal? didn't u see it?

Guy: Where got?

Me: I turn on the right signal didn't i?

Guy: U should be swithcing on the hazzard light not the right signal! Signal right is to indicate that u are turning right!! u know anot!!

Me: I am reversing to the lot on the right so i indicate right...somemore there's no right turn here..so its obvious what i am doing.

By this time cars behind are beginning to horn so i gave up and let the guy go...

I'm still puzzled by the guy's comment. Can the bros in the forum comment on which is the correct way to signal when u want to park? I feel the guy is trying to find an excuse for his tailgating behavior as i've seen lots of pple signaling right when they are parking...but i might be wrong so it might be good to confirm in case i meet someone like this again.

hmm....

usually...i just turn on the hazard lights to indicate my intention to park...i used to signal left or right....but i noticed other cars tend to turn on the hazard lights...

dun bother about crap drivers like them lah...

keep kool....be safe. [drivingcar]

Lately I kenna twice the same scenario in MSCP. I went up first up slope, proceed to drive to middle stretch of MSCP of that level, identified a lot, saw a car just coming up the slope, I signalled to park, the car behind come up fast to my car so close. The first time, the driver behind refused to budge and I was forced to go up another level and come back down. I realised that driver later park just 2 lots further from where I originally wanted to park.

The second time, I proceed to park. The driver behind has to reverse a little and when I park, he drove past and stare at me menacingly.

I've read and heard about ppl signalling to change lane and kaisu drivers from behind quickly drove up to prevent it. Now, in MSCP also kenna same.

I normally put on hazzard....my intention is clear for the car behind...either he over take and go or he will wait for me to park-in first.

On 12/1/2008 at 12:00 AM, RadX said:

The other thing is...when innal tending to park, we signal left or right depending on the lot. Here...in this bloody place, ppl on their bloody hazards knn...how the hell did they passhur.gifhur.gifhur.gif

They just passed like you....KNS

On 1/8/2009 at 2:51 AM, WINXP said:

I recently encountered one guy at the compass point carpark who was tailgating me at the carpark. I found an empty lot and signaled in advance to park by switching on the turn right signal light as the lot was in front of me on the right side. I then drive past the lot to reverse park.

The guy continue to tailgate me and stop behind me preventing me from parking so i stopped and wait for him to reverse...he waited for quite a while before finally reversing his car...i then reverse parked but when the guy drove past me he stared at me and waved his hand at me to indicate his unhappiness..

I got out of the car and confronted him to understand what he is unhappy about and this is what he told me:

Me: Whats wrong?

Guy: U want to park dunno how to signal ar?

Me: I did signal? didn't u see it?

Guy: Where got?

Me: I turn on the right signal didn't i?

Guy: U should be swithcing on the hazzard light not the right signal! Signal right is to indicate that u are turning right!! u know anot!!

Me: I am reversing to the lot on the right so i indicate right...somemore there's no right turn here..so its obvious what i am doing.

By this time cars behind are beginning to horn so i gave up and let the guy go...

I'm still puzzled by the guy's comment. Can the bros in the forum comment on which is the correct way to signal when u want to park? I feel the guy is trying to find an excuse for his tailgating behavior as i've seen lots of pple signaling right when they are parking...but i might be wrong so it might be good to confirm in case i meet someone like this again.

U r right to use sgnal light. That is being taught in driving school. Remember Parellel or reverse parking u r taught that?

  On 1/8/2009 at 3:36 AM, Twofouronenite said:

U r right to use sgnal light. That is being taught in driving school. Remember Parellel or reverse parking u r taught that?

Thanks for confirming my suspicion.

i remember and thats why i confronted him when he waved his hand at me hinting that i am in the wrong...if there were other lots available i would have parked elsewhere but it was the peak period and all the lots are full so i have no choice...

I hope i dun run into him again....i was damm upset when he accused me of not signaling cos i feel that he is being unreasonable...but this is part and parcel of driving and i didn't want to hold up all the innocent drivers waiting to go home so i decided not to argue with him...

On 1/8/2009 at 3:57 AM, WINXP said:

i remember and thats why i confronted him when he waved his hand at me hinting that i am in the wrong...if there were other lots available i would have parked elsewhere but it was the peak period and all the lots are full so i have no choice...

I hope i dun run into him again....i was damm upset when he accused me of not signaling cos i feel that he is being unreasonable...but this is part and parcel of driving and i didn't want to hold up all the innocent drivers waiting to go home so i decided not to argue with him...

There will be ppl like dat around, think they r right. Getting upset only make ur BP go up, no point!

  On 1/8/2009 at 3:57 AM, WINXP said:

Bro,

Cool down:)

If want to parking, just using hazzard lights. You signal left or right will make people confuse too. But this guy taligate you sure WRONG!!!.

Some people using hazzard light all the way in the carpark. So, when you behind him, don't know where she want to park too. A lot of pattern people everywhere.

But most I hate one was NEVER PUT SIGNAL when want to parking. So I purposely stop infront the empty of them, make them difficult to park in.

i personally use the hazard light to indicate parking or waiting for lot, as i feel some drivers will get confuse to weather u r turning/moving off/others if i signal left or right.

technically you are right.. so don't be too bother by such person...

maybe if you encounter such person, you shd apologies and tell him you shd take out triangle plate and place on the road before you reverse, so that others will siam you..

On 1/8/2009 at 2:51 AM, WINXP said:

While signalling right/left is the correct method for reverse, hazzard lights are more commonly use. When I just started driving, I also signal left/right to reverse until I realise most drivers use the hazzard lights instead, I follow suit, more clearly understood.

encountered sooooo many times in soooo many carparks tat i already gave up.

now, i'll just stop and wait till the car behind finally reverse loh, i can always take out my nds and play while waiting [thumbsup]