Xtrider82 Neutral Newbie November 28, 2008 Share November 28, 2008 Quote Easy leh.....just ask her what is she doing in Singapore for so many years since she feels that Singapore is not up to her expectations.....Finally ask her to shut her mouth if she wants to stay here for long. Agreed, she can always leave Singapore since she thinks M'sia is so fantastic. NO ONE is pleading with her to stay. She can always go back M'sia and work. But oh no! Wait!! Guess what?! Our MONEY is BIGGER! So what to do? Your poor female colleague LPPL, "suffer" in S'pore so she can earn money to send back home - while whining all the time about how lousy Singaporeans are. Another classic case of biting the hand that feeds you. Why do we have to suffer such attitude from such.. people? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear November 28, 2008 Share November 28, 2008 bro. every countries got kiasu ppl. Even a lot of ang mo also kiasu. But then, Singaporean is kiasu in a certain way that make it "unique". it is a certain way they act for kiasu that make ppl stressed on "kiasu" when it comes to singaporean. of course, this is not a good way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear November 28, 2008 Share November 28, 2008 (edited) Quote Singaporean never tough it out before not like Malaysian. There are more tough Singaporeans than there are Malaysians...There's so much welfare/protection for all the Malays in Malaysia!And look at the efficiency and pace of Malaysia, you think they really 'toughing out' meh? Who is she trying to kid? So many complain about singaporean; is the colleague actually complaining about her own hubby? Anyway, just to point out about this 'tough' thing... the malaysians who come and settle here are mostly the race that does not enjoy the 'welfare/protection' - and in fact, have to face up to the discriminatory practices... so of course, having survived and made it through their system against the odds, they feel 'tougher', certainly. Hmm...so we should be limiting the comparison to between the non-bumuputras and Singaporeans then By the fact that they are here earning Singaporean salaries instead of in Malaysia shows that they have not survived and made it through their system there because they cannot "face up to the discriminatory practices" and chose the easier way out by seeking employment in a better environment (equivalent to 'quitters' termed on emigrating Singaporeans by 'someone') If we are referring to them getting through the education system, theres also a high number of Malaysians in our universities too...That was back in my uni-days. I'm not sure about now, but I'm quite certain that that had not changed. Another thing, and this is only from my personal encounters. I find that Malaysian guys are less mature than Singaporean guys. I've always attributed this impression to the fact that Singaporean guys having to serve NS. Edited November 28, 2008 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 Quote my ex company got a few msian, they r v nice in nature..i see them quite poor thing cos they are v young, beginning age 20+ only, came from msia to work in spore. Their families all in Msia waiting for them to remit $ back. i cant imagine myself go Msia to work and miss my family in spore so much back to the topic, ya your friend is quite arrogant, no EQ leh, her 1 sentence shoot the whole singaporean You are quite rite! Most Malaysians are really nice. The TS is really unlucky got a bad one! i have known some malaysian friends/colleagues. there are good ones and bad ones. but we can't base on these to criticise or praise all the malaysians. its about individual and not nationality. human beings are like this,when they like one thing,they can find tons of reasons to say the thing is good. and if they hate one thing,they can also find tons of reasons to put the thing down. stereotyping is really a no-no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear November 29, 2008 Share November 29, 2008 if u notice,most of the humans comment without thinking..especially think about themselves before comments...and also comments always seems surface kind of comments u just shoot her "if Singaporean so much negative things by what u say,why married a Singaporean,and work in Singapore.Not happy can dont come" best to win a debate is to use thier own words shoot back their mouth. in hokkien call "Zui Ta Lan" sometimes it works 100 times better than to kb at such people..u can see how xia suay they are.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skinky 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Quote Ok my side of the story: I have a Malaysian female colleague whom i lunch regularly with and she likes to put down Singaporean. Saying things such as: Singaporean never tough it out before not like Malaysian Singaporean too kiasu not like Malaysian Singaporean dont care for their families as much as Malaysian Singaporean cannot make it cos go Malaysia for cheaper petrol and things Singaporean dont know how to value money Compare me to her Malaysian brother who is 1 year younger and currently married and already has a roof; me is 28 years old, not married and still living with parents. Sometimes i think about it i also very Tulan with her. Its not that i am a very Singaporean Singaporean but to me she has no rights to say such things. Cos whatever she say just put down Singaporean. I am not putting down Malaysian here but i think its not nice to put other nationality down. I think she got low EQ. Furthermore, why i think she has no right to say this is because: She works here, earn Singaporean dollars. She stays here, married Singaporean husband. Furthermore I never never put down Malaysians before in our daily conversations. These days when i see her, i also dont feel like talking to her le. Sianz. why such people exists? I think, you should just ignore her and carry on how you wanna live your own life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 One suggestion for u. Instead of asking "Why such person exists?" , Ask yourself this : "Why did I allow myself to be annoyed by it ?" Just to share with you, I been thru quite 'tough' times. EQ related, I have a habit to put myself down when critisied. I feel inferior. It bothers me a lot. So bad that, I got this mentality that, "if something happens to me, its your fault." Thinking back, how foolish! :) Quote Ok my side of the story: I have a Malaysian female colleague whom i lunch regularly with and she likes to put down Singaporean. Saying things such as: Singaporean never tough it out before not like Malaysian Singaporean too kiasu not like Malaysian Singaporean dont care for their families as much as Malaysian Singaporean cannot make it cos go Malaysia for cheaper petrol and things Singaporean dont know how to value money Compare me to her Malaysian brother who is 1 year younger and currently married and already has a roof; me is 28 years old, not married and still living with parents. Sometimes i think about it i also very Tulan with her. Its not that i am a very Singaporean Singaporean but to me she has no rights to say such things. Cos whatever she say just put down Singaporean. I am not putting down Malaysian here but i think its not nice to put other nationality down. I think she got low EQ. Furthermore, why i think she has no right to say this is because: She works here, earn Singaporean dollars. She stays here, married Singaporean husband. Furthermore I never never put down Malaysians before in our daily conversations. These days when i see her, i also dont feel like talking to her le. Sianz. why such people exists? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crispicrispi Neutral Newbie December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Quote you don't sound neutral. and iam don't have to take your reply so hard. but you just seem defensive. there are times when story are just one-sided. but there are also times when story are not so complicated as you think. why do you keep thinking that TS friend is refering to only one person and not as a whole which she kept mentioning(singaporeans)? as mentioned above,if TS friend does not like one person,can she criticise as a whole? So you believe me now?? It sound so one-sided from the begining. It 's just so simple to understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktgan Neutral Newbie December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Quote i ever heard some malaysians saying that SG chinese can't speak mandarin or write in chinese well. Some kind of mentality. hahaha, as far as i know, malaysians chinese is 50 steps laught at 100 steps. alot of their chinese also cannot speak proper mandarin, cos they are in the government school, so well verse in malay, hokkien, teochew and cantonese. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantohheng Neutral Newbie December 1, 2008 Author Share December 1, 2008 i think its hard dont to feel anything when people try to put you down. then you will start thinking whether its really your problem or not. but then comparing 2 different nationalities is not very nice lor. if all one cares about is how to put down the others, then this world will be black colour le. 1 cent only cos i only left dollars.....hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 why are you still lunching with her????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenzomaz Neutral Newbie December 1, 2008 Share December 1, 2008 Why bother.... She The mighty Malaysian got screw by a lowly Singaporean everyday and bear the fruits of a Kaisu, unfilial kids which wun even care abt her when she old... I pity her loh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic December 2, 2008 Share December 2, 2008 It's MY culture to blame Singapore.. From politics to everyday, day to day issue, it's always Singapore fault.. That's how they see their problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mean76 1st Gear December 2, 2008 Share December 2, 2008 I have a malaysian colleague who is working and renting a place here with his wife. - His one year boy is in M'sia being taken care of by his parents-in-law. <-- $$$ - His father, who is in his 60s, not working and currently receiving treatment <-- $$$ - He is paying for his dad's car back in M'sia via installment <-- $$$ - He is paying his own car here in SG (We need to due to work) <-- $$$ - He is also paying off his debt borrowed from bank for his wedding (2 in M'sia) <-- $$$ - He is paying for the rental here plus football channel, His only passion come weekend. <-- $$$ - Wifey is paying for her own Uni debts, her family allowances and their savings Imagine if he is working in M'sia and not in Sg, can he afford to pay all these??? I think all is enough said. We are half-crushed by our burden and it's no joke. There's nothing to be angry about. We should concentrate more on ourselves than to worry about such comments. Let her husband be the one worrying about their lives here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 2, 2008 Share December 2, 2008 Quote why are you still lunching with her????? I guess she must be TS's supervisor and not colleague. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantohheng Neutral Newbie December 2, 2008 Author Share December 2, 2008 -trying hard not to already- Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantohheng Neutral Newbie December 2, 2008 Author Share December 2, 2008 Ya i also crushed by burden. so sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantohheng Neutral Newbie December 2, 2008 Author Share December 2, 2008 nope - negative. not my superior just a colleague who is here earlier than me but nope i dont report to her. we just same department reporting to same manager. Department is small so quite difficult not to lunch together suddenly. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...