Sony 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Geees.. how come I can never meet up with such dumbo and give that kind of reply ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 welcome to singapore road. u will eventually used with such driving manner. Its actually very simple, signal before turning, the car behind will speedup and once its clear, u proceed to change lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 (edited) Quote Hi, When I started driving, changing lane is always a problem. I would always change lane way in advance of the exit whenever there is opportunity so that i do not have the hassle to worry that I missed the exit. After a few years of driving changing lane becomes natural to you. Just relax & enjoy ur ride. Thats correct! If going to exit then should keep to the left early. I dun know why some people stay on Lane 1 until almost at the exit then jam brake and swere 3 lanes and then exit! This is the reason the CTE is jam at AMK AVE 1, Idiots trying to cut to Lane 3 from Lane 1 last second. These are the same people that drive slowly on Lane 1 and dun allow people to overtake them! Ya.. if wanna exit soon, why stay on lane 1? if you got problem in switching lane yesterday, why can't you switch lane earlier today? Driving for 11+yrs, i dun hv such problem of TS since day1.. i switch lane earlier and sometime totally avoid Lane1... anw, quite often than not Lane 1 has become one of the slower lane on expressway in recent years.. anyone know why? Edited December 15, 2008 by Getzoooom Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Use hand if u wanan cut right, very useful, switch on signal light, hands go out of the window, ppl will brake and slow down for u, after that give a "thank you" hand sign. At least make them feel appreciated and better by giving way to u. Left lane very hard, maybe can make a fake hand with a stick and stick out of the car at the left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 Most drivers don't like to slow down to give way to others. So speed up and match the highway speed when you exit will make it easier. I usually give way if I only need to ease off gas of brake lightly for him to come in front of me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear December 15, 2008 Author Share December 15, 2008 Thanks guys for all the opinions so far... Anyway, RiceRacer... Yea I can understand that it's not nice to make ppl slow down, just that sometimes bo pian have to change lane due to unfamiliar area. I don't deny I sometimes lazy and make late changing lanes. Just I most buay tahan is those beng beng not so near one see me want to enter his lane, purposely speed up just to stop me from doing that. That one peeves me off. Anyway, like some of the guys said, just learn along the way, don't get too bothered by other driver's behavior and always think first how you treat other drivers before expect to be treated. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 15, 2008 Share December 15, 2008 To add on, most of the times that i gave way, the fella will cut in and then slow down and drive at his lesiurely speed then i got to overtake him again from the left... which make me ask myself, why did i bother to give way in the first place when he is so inconsiderate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 I'm not too sure what all your instances were like. My humble view is this: If someone is going to exit the expressway, or make a turn while driving, then they should try to keep to that turning lane as early as possible. Don't try to get to the correct lane at the last minute. It can be both dangerous to other drivers and frustrating to them as well. If we think in advance, plan ahead, then the "need to make a fast exit / turn" will reduce drastically. Cheers On 11/27/2008 at 5:15 PM, Tjkbeluga said: I've been encountering this problem ever since I started driving here in march. When I want to change lane, mostly because I want to exit from the highway or when I want to make a turn soon, I noticed majority of the behind car on the lane I want to enter would be either simply bo chap and driving as if I don't exist of worse, step on the gas to close in to stop me from entering... What's the problem? Macam like I'm going to outrage their modesty.... Is it so hard to slow down to let ppl enter the lane. I can understand in the case where there is a queue, some car just want to cut queue, that I will be tulan too. What I'm talking about is usual driving speed. Also, I don't mean those sudden "makan" into ppl's lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 On 11/27/2008 at 5:15 PM, Tjkbeluga said: I've been encountering this problem ever since I started driving here in march. When I want to change lane, mostly because I want to exit from the highway or when I want to make a turn soon, I noticed majority of the behind car on the lane I want to enter would be either simply bo chap and driving as if I don't exist of worse, step on the gas to close in to stop me from entering... What's the problem? Macam like I'm going to outrage their modesty.... Is it so hard to slow down to let ppl enter the lane. I can understand in the case where there is a queue, some car just want to cut queue, that I will be tulan too. What I'm talking about is usual driving speed. Also, I don't mean those sudden "makan" into ppl's lane. Find gap, signal, squeeze in. Practice makes perfect. Judge the car speed (front car and back car) and adjust your speed accordingly so that when you squeeze in, the car behind dun have to jam brake. At most he just need to tap brakes. Do this for a month and very soon, it becomes natural. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 i usually do.. but sometimes i regret.. why? its because after i let the bugger in, he road hogs! lan lan suck thumb.. until the opportunity arises to overtake from the left Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 On 11/27/2008 at 5:15 PM, Tjkbeluga said: I've been encountering this problem ever since I started driving here in march. When I want to change lane, mostly because I want to exit from the highway or when I want to make a turn soon, I noticed majority of the behind car on the lane I want to enter would be either simply bo chap and driving as if I don't exist of worse, step on the gas to close in to stop me from entering... What's the problem? Macam like I'm going to outrage their modesty.... Is it so hard to slow down to let ppl enter the lane. I can understand in the case where there is a queue, some car just want to cut queue, that I will be tulan too. What I'm talking about is usual driving speed. Also, I don't mean those sudden "makan" into ppl's lane. sorry but i really have to ask this qn... are u a lady driver?? bcos most of the time, lady drivers give me impression of once they start to signal, the car behind sure need to give way cos they signal already... sad to say but this is a fact which i saw all this time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twofouronenite 1st Gear January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 Depend on my mood, I song I give way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Barramundi Neutral Newbie January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 Normally give way. The main problem of giving way to car signal to lane change is that they hog in front of me...so in the end, have to overtake from the left. *@*&$%@ Lane change hoggers is very common in Singapore road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 On 1/7/2009 at 1:52 PM, Barramundi said: Normally give way. The main problem of giving way to car signal to lane change is that they hog in front of me...so in the end, have to overtake from the left. *@*&$%@ Lane change hoggers is very common in Singapore road. yes, very common. had one idiot last minute cut in and i had to jam brake. horn him he buay song and stop in the middle of the road to stare at me from his rear view mirror. fine. i horn him some more.. it was on CTE and all the cars behind me had to stop. talk abot idiots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear January 7, 2009 Share January 7, 2009 On 1/7/2009 at 12:24 PM, Zniper said: sorry but i really have to ask this qn... are u a lady driver?? bcos most of the time, lady drivers give me impression of once they start to signal, the car behind sure need to give way cos they signal already... sad to say but this is a fact which i saw all this time... agree agree! plus many other things. they driving in their own world, got their own different thinking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redpicanto Neutral Newbie January 8, 2009 Share January 8, 2009 Well, Singaporean like to queue but cannot let people cut their queue. Same to driving. For me, u signal, i slow down. U signal when u're beside me, u wait for me to speed up. U cut without signal, i drive side by side with u. Cool down, you will learn and get used to the driving skill from some of our singaporean. Safety 1st. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholassoong Neutral Newbie February 11, 2009 Share February 11, 2009 Hi All, Jus wanna vent my frustrations over the accidents I have encountered in the last two weeks. Two weeks ago, I was on the way home. Stopped at a traffic junction getting ready to turn right. When the signal turns green and I was moving off, a lorry suddenly cut into my lane without signaling. I jammed my brake but still hit him. As a result of this, I had to pay 600 plus and claim 1.5K from my insurance. I hope that my workshop and insurance will work hard to fight the case for me. But with no witness and no admission of liability from that f--ker, the chances are slim. A few days after I got back my car from repair looking brand new, I got into another accident. This time round, a lady driving honda civic bumped me from the back when I was waiting for the traffic light. Note that my car has already been stationary for a while and she just came charging into my car. As a result, my back bumper suffered a few scratches. Going through all these jus makes me feel all the more helpless and hopeless. I've come to a conclusion that there are too many idiots out there who doesn't drive safely and considerately. I hope that we can all pass the msg around to drive safely and responsibly. In the above two instances, I felt that I was really innocent and it's so unfair to me that I've to pay money and time for the mistakes of others. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear February 11, 2009 Share February 11, 2009 On 1/7/2009 at 2:06 PM, Nolicense said: yes, very common. had one idiot last minute cut in and i had to jam brake. horn him he buay song and stop in the middle of the road to stare at me from his rear view mirror. fine. i horn him some more.. it was on CTE and all the cars behind me had to stop. talk abot idiots. real idiot.... how can stop in the middle of CTE. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...