Complains: Do you usually give way to a car that wants to change lane?

Tjkbeluga

I've been encountering this problem ever since I started driving here in march. When I want to change lane, mostly because I want to exit from the highway or when I want to make a turn soon, I noticed majority of the behind car on the lane I want to enter would be either simply bo chap and driving as if I don't exist of worse, step on the gas to close in to stop me from entering... What's the problem? Macam like I'm going to outrage their modesty.... Is it so hard to slow down to let ppl enter the lane. I can understand in the case where there is a queue, some car just want to cut queue, that I will be tulan too. What I'm talking about is usual driving speed. Also, I don't mean those sudden "makan" into ppl's lane.

Welcome back to Singapore..when is the last time you drive here?

Typical SGporean kiasu-ism mentality..everything also cannot lose..

but nevertheless, i have met some better drivers tho...

maybe in your scenario they are already faster than u, so if they give way to u they have to brake quite hard or jam brake, which is quite dangerous? or maybe they are quite near u, near your side?

Edited by Ldlian987

I've been encountering this problem ever since I started driving here in march.

There are always such bustards around. Dont worry, u will get used to it...

Anyway u can make full use of this "phenomenon" to your best advantage.

For me, whenever i need to switch to another lane(lane 1 especially on highway), all i have to do is to simply make a right signal in advance.

Person will amazingly "automatically" speed up. As obedient as my pet dog at home. [sly] And all i need to do is to maintain my current speed all the while. [:)]

Edited by Seevic

No... It's not that the car behind was approaching at a steady speed. Also, it's not like I'm travelling very slow too. I'm talking like when I want to enter into the lane, I turn on my signal. Then I see if car at the back too near, I wait... one car pass, 2 car pass, 3, 4... It's like already 10 sec still no one give way... simply bo hiew... sipeh tulan....

Another pet peeve of mine is, driving in lane 1, so long as there's someone in front of me and I keep a decent distant, I don't understand why some car still tailgate me so close as if I hog the lane. it no car in front of me, then I agree, I just give way.

I usually will give way to those cutting in but sometimes rushing for time, bo bians...

If you want to cut in, signal last minute. It actually works but 'bad habit'... [sweatdrop]

i see. then is your speed and the speed of those cars in the other lane about the same? like plus or minus 5km/h compared to them? when i'm driving i realize the trick is to match the speed of those or be slightly faster than them when lane changing, unless in front of u kena block then bo pian.wink.gif

no one will purposely brake and slow down to give way to you.

see an opening, signal then go in.

when i leave my signal lights on for a longer time, it is usually for the guy to speed up so i can move behind him.

Hmm... Maybe you are right... Got to learn to be more daring and just enter... But then, this seem so dangerous to me. Has to be very precise. Too fast bang car in front. Too slow car at the back say you rude, "chiam" his lane... Still feel it's more courteous to slow down for other cars to enter. This is definitely not the case of queue-cutting.

Yes, it's around the same speed, I must be position close to the gap before trying to enter right... Just that when that happen, the car at the back simply refuse to slow down a bit so that I have more space to enter. I don't think he even need to step on the brake... just release the accelerator for awhile will do...

i will give way to people who signal first. however, if i see someone who cant seem to decide when to change lane, i'll just close the gap.

When I started driving, changing lane is always a problem. I would always change lane way in advance of the exit whenever there is opportunity so that i do not have the hassle to worry that I missed the exit. After a few years of driving changing lane becomes natural to you. Just relax & enjoy ur ride.

Every city driving habits are different...try India..there is a sys within the chaos..

Anyway, back to SGP, there are many types of ppl...and peak and pff-peak hrs also brings out different moods in drivers too...just adopt a more defensive approach and enjoy ur ride although it does get frustrating at times....

no one will purposely brake and slow down to give way to you.

see an opening, signal then go in.

when i leave my signal lights on for a longer time, it is usually for the guy to speed up so i can move behind him.

It seemed that many of us uses this tactic, works well till today.

Anyway to TS, please dun take the advice to suddenly signal and cut in. All you need is a sleepyhead and many will be trapped in a traffic jam.

I also practice the kiasup method of switching to the turning lane in advance because Singaporeans like to do it last minute and it causes another hazard.

Just one point to note.

Other road users not in the wrong not to give way.

One should not have the impression that after signal means you have the right of the way to move in.

Like you said 1, 2 car pass and after like few minutes the cars still just pass and no one let you in. This probably means you have been trying to cut in a particularly heavy traffic lane with lots of cars quite closely together. So it might not be safe for the car to actually slow down to let you in cos there are cars close behind.

Furthermore, you probably try to lane change too late.

If you practise early lane changing probably you still wont miss your exit even there are lots of cars in the lane you need to change to.

And look at it this way.

If every road user thinks like you then woW, the amount of accidents sure will increase one cos signal is just an indication of intention and NEVER a right of the way.

Just 3 cents here.

totally agree..most drivers tend to change late...

for goodness sake, please plan your exit early and give ample time to signal look and filter out...most do it while at the front of my fender....knn...even if you signal, to hell w you, i wun let you inhur.gifhur.gifhur.gifhur.gif