Petition to cut COE quota now

Ahyoo2002

I think we better be careful of what we wish for. If 2nd hand dealer goes down, there will be more people roaming the streets looking for a job.

2nd hand car dealers also out there to make money. If car stuck 6 mths means value drop. So business not easy too. there are cars they make a fair bit, but also those that they only make insurance and finance commission. there are cars sold at a lost too, trust me.

This is a reflection of the general state of economy, if it hurts the country, everyone will be affected. Unless you are really prudent and cash rich. Some jobs you never think can get retrench one also kenna left right centre.

I am vested so my views you take with a pinch of salt lah.

No one gains with businesses closing down and suffering.

Strange also no one complains about ADs, Performance Motors got 70 sales person, you go figure out how much they make lor!

Edited by Gs300999s

back out ones are those buying 2nd hand.

2 reasons i have heard so far :

1. coe 2 bucks = economy really jialat, so better lose the 1k than commit now

2. coe 2 bucks, can discount or not coz must peg to new car price, else i dun buy.

Edited by Gs300999s

Thu, Nov 20, 2008

The Straits Times

Motor groups want COE supply cut

MOTOR trade associations representing hundreds of car dealers are doing the unthinkable: petitioning the Government to cut certificate of entitlement (COE) supply in the wake of plunging prices.

The Singapore Vehicle Traders Association and the Automotive Importers and Exporters Association said nosediving COE prices - which culminated in a crash yesterday - will drive down the cost of new cars, killing the market for second-hand vehicles.

Mr Neo Nam Heng, president of both trade associations, said the sector is heavily reliant on used car sales and reducing the number of COEs is necessary to 'save the industry from collapse'

Used car dealers can always downsize and retrench their staff, just as other companies are doing ... why must ask govt help to cut COE to let them survive ... when the economy is going downtrend, do the bosses still want to keep their 7 series, S-class etc, at the expense of others at during recession.

COE prices going too low may be good for car buyers but not good for the car owners in the long run. COE numbers should be cut in bad economic conditions and put into a "reserve" pool to be used during the good times to prevent COE prices from ballooning into huge amounts.

No dun cut the COE...cut those 2nd hand car dealer profit marging can liao

from min 4-7 k per car...to 400-500 per car...like than pple will go and buy 2nd hand....good for both party

I think there is more to this.

If the 2nd hand car market collapse,the only recourse for buyers sourcing for their 2nd car would be to export or scrap. Not exactly in the seller's best interest also.

I may be wrong, but most folks trade in their cars for export/scrap. No?

First, I must say, I am not the one who put up the petition sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

[/size]

I read today's Straits Time which saying that some used car association wants to ask government to cut COE quota immediately or else the used car market will collapse. Like this also can? hur.gif

Anyone have access to the online version can post here?

Hmmm....looks like I can get my Q7 nowbounce1.gifbounce1.gifbounce1.gifbounce1.gif

Q7 good. can put a lot of barang barang..

[:p]

I post this reply to all as there is no 'reply to all' option.

First of all: I come in PEACE [nod] and I am NOT a used car dealer nor have anything to do with the car industry except that I am a car fanatic.

I do not see the rational in many MCFers saying that

1) 2nd hand car dealers should collapse aka close shop.

2) They are the 'baddies' cause they make a tidy profit from their sales.

Many of us here do businesses or work for someone who does a business. Is it not the whole idea of a business to make money? IF one does not make money when there is good demand (i.e. influx of car buyers) or when the economy is good, when else does one make money?

I think it is extremely silly and childish to say that just because these guys make good profits they deserved to be punished this time round. Because if u do sit back and think is that not what you try to do for your bosses or yourself (if u are the boss), i.e. maximize profits?

Everyone works for the money. If it was for the pure passion and love of a job I dare bet my last dollar that at least 90% of MCFers will not be going to work.

While the truth remains that the used car industry and any other industry for that matter has bad eggs, why the myopic view that they should close down? If that

Edited by Darkness

Please dude u can trust no one these days.

Anyway I never said trust car salesman or anyone for that matter. Just that it's very sad that adults who are also in the process of making money for themselves and their companies seem to talk in total contrary to business practices and hoping for the collapse of a certain industry just because they make tidy profits.

Instead consumers should use this as a bargaining tool and get a better deal for themselves be it at AD or at 2nd hand dealers.

PS: Any way cut COE quota also good for us what. Lesser cars = Slower implementation/increase of ERP/congestion etc.

Lower COE quota is good for existing drivers, but not would-be drivers.

It may also encourage people to keep their cars longer than 10 years.

Actually to be fair, that guy probably didn't know the car got problem. They take in so many cars, and they don't drive them everyday or even check them. Most of the cars after sent for polishing were just parked there waiting for buyers. When you sell your car to 2nd hand dealer, do you tell them your car got what and what problem? No right?