Ahyoo2002 2nd Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 First, I must say, I am not the one who put up the petition [/size] I read today's Straits Time which saying that some used car association wants to ask government to cut COE quota immediately or else the used car market will collapse. Like this also can? Anyone have access to the online version can post here? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thypig33 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Would love to see the used car market collapse leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 the reply should be "it is free market"...if not it will be slapping their own face.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 The used car mkt will only decline for time being...once the mkt are flooded with cars with $2 - $1000 coe for next couple of yrs, it will be much the same for used car mkt.. The coe crash is good...once coe starts to trade consistently lower than 10K, buyers will be used to this kind of premium that nobody will rush to buy car when it goes abv 10K even when economy is back to good old days..anyway, this is not first time used car mkt is hit..back in the old days where mkt is full with 2nd hand cars tat has coe of 25-30K for sale and coe plunged to 14-15K, people aren't too keen to look at used car too at that time too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 totally agree man...revenge is sweeeeeeeeet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuz0004 Clutched November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Thu, Nov 20, 2008 The Straits Times Motor groups want COE supply cut MOTOR trade associations representing hundreds of car dealers are doing the unthinkable: petitioning the Government to cut certificate of entitlement (COE) supply in the wake of plunging prices. The Singapore Vehicle Traders Association and the Automotive Importers and Exporters Association said nosediving COE prices - which culminated in a crash yesterday - will drive down the cost of new cars, killing the market for second-hand vehicles. Mr Neo Nam Heng, president of both trade associations, said the sector is heavily reliant on used car sales and reducing the number of COEs is necessary to 'save the industry from collapse' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 First, I must say, I am not the one who put up the petition [/size] I read today's Straits Time which saying that some used car association wants to ask government to cut COE quota immediately or else the used car market will collapse. Like this also can? Anyone have access to the online version can post here? Hmmm....looks like I can get my Q7 now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liuz0004 Clutched November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Yup, 2nd hand car market will collapse. but they wont die la! sell the car cheaper only wat. in any case, they take in cars based on paper value. now all cars export or scrap and get back their paper value lor. why still need petition? wan to earn more huh? haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Yeah...it's payback time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 They collapse before... some years back at turf city.. it was like ghost town... but they r really blood sucker, the profit they had been getting during good times should be able to tide them over economic crisis.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thunder7890 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 I agree with you, hopefully to see more used car market to collapse cause too much used car dealer flooded in the market already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Yup....a few of those bas%$&$^ deserve to close shop... bloody swindlers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bankai87 Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 yah i hope they bloody collapse, last time earn so much no noise now coe $2 immediately one day suddenly can have 170 bloody jokers come together and sign petition.. since when they so bloody efficient? how come when the buy and sell used car that time not so efficient? tell them go to fxxk off and fxxk spider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Alot of 2nd hand dealers also doing PI for new cars meh. They still benefit in some ways as more ppl will rush in to buy new cars from them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 Yup, 2nd hand car market will collapse. but they wont die la! sell the car cheaper only wat. in any case, they take in cars based on paper value. now all cars export or scrap and get back their paper value lor. why still need petition? wan to earn more huh? haha correct. these dealers make so much and when u sell them your cars they quote you paper value. yet when they sell you cars, they quote depreciation! burn in hell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 strongly agree with you last time I bought my 1st car from used car dealer, he earned so much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 This sounds like another "bailout" plan, otherwise alot of 2nd hand car dealers will be retrenched. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear November 20, 2008 Share November 20, 2008 2nd hand car dealers already earned enough, it's time to take a break loh only LTA heart pain to lose $18 millions, anyway they will take back their lost money from car buyers, esp those $2 COE buyers carefully look after your pocket lah[sweatdrop] ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...