Named Drivers Insurance issues

Silverjoe

you mean the insurance isit?

If so, it simply means who are the other 2 drivers that may drive your car, and in case they kena accident while driving it, they are covered though the excess should be more.

not necessary. i was given a quote for driver with >30yrs driving exp.

after which i completed the form and added in 2 named drivers. 1 of which is below <26. No change in the premium quoted.

only thing is the named drivers have higher excess but still lower than non-named drivers.

anyone can drive the car as long as authorized by the owner. non-named drivers just pay a much higher excess (sometimes $3k) if buang.

the owner excess is ard $500. named drivers' excess is between owner excess to an amount less than non-name drivers.

if don't put also good. anyone wants to drive ur car u just tell him/her that the insurance only cover owner and wife. [thumbsup]

Edited by Lab4games

Most insurance policy I come cover anyone above 26yrs old with at least 3yrs driving experience. If the drivers meets these...I don't think you should pay extra to get them as named drivers. Better to pay higher excess in the event of own claim.

Usually during renewal. If your car is regularly driven by someone else like wife or grown up children etc then put their name down.

Some insurance companies the excess for the named driver is the same as the main driver. Furthermore no diff in premium. (I guess as long as the named driver does not fall into a dangerous cat they do not increase the premium).

Best is u call your insurance company and ask them for the exact charges if any.

my teenage son is going to learn driving this year. he is so fascinating about driving my cheap EK. (tio poisoned by me)

i have a few questions here before anything goes wrong.

1. do i have to include his name when he starts driving my EK? (if i would be sitting right beside guiding him)

2. what if (touch wood) he gets into an accident (assuming it was his fault) when he was the driver, is insurance covered if at the time his name was not included in the car insurance?

3. what if (touch wood) he gets into an accident (assuming it was a 50/50 case) when he was the driver, would insurance company takes responsibility to fight the case if at the time his name was not included in the car insurance?

4. is it a common practice for car owner to add new driver name here or most of them would just ignore? i thought car was any-rider and it covers whoever driving it as long as it got the permission from the owner. that's what my understanding 30 years ago.    

5. how much does it costs to add a P and young driver's name? is there an option of diff price for solo driving or driving with a guide by the side?  haha

now i know why prices of COE are not going down. youngsters these days started to plan for a car even before they own a driving license.  :lll._.:

tia

I think most people would not really bother adding names to the insurance until the next renewal.

BUT, we all know how anal insurance companies are, so.... you know the answer

He is still learning mean no license yet? can insurance cover a leaner without license?

Find a big space in JB, less chance of getting into accident.

likely your current insurance won't cover you teaching him how to drive..

So if touch wood, Jialat.. You pay your own self..point is don't try la.. U make the roads unsafe.. Let him learn in a proper place.

And if he gets his license, and drive your EK, better inform insurer asap. At most premium increase only..

My ACO also driving a car in my name. Got license recently too.. I include.. Quick quick

Edited by BenTong

If you do so in spore you are breaking the law.

Requirements are you must be a licensed driving instructor and must be seated at all times next to the learner driver

my teenage son is going to learn driving this year. he is so fascinating about driving my cheap EK. (tio poisoned by me)

i have a few questions here before anything goes wrong.

1. do i have to include his name when he starts driving my EK? (if i would be sitting right beside guiding him)

2. what if (touch wood) he gets into an accident (assuming it was his fault) when he was the driver, is insurance covered if at the time his name was not included in the car insurance?

3. what if (touch wood) he gets into an accident (assuming it was a 50/50 case) when he was the driver, would insurance company takes responsibility to fight the case if at the time his name was not included in the car insurance?

4. is it a common practice for car owner to add new driver name here or most of them would just ignore? i thought car was any-rider and it covers whoever driving it as long as it got the permission from the owner. that's what my understanding 30 years ago.    

5. how much does it costs to add a P and young driver's name? is there an option of diff price for solo driving or driving with a guide by the side?  haha

now i know why prices of COE are not going down. youngsters these days started to plan for a car even before they own a driving license.  :lll._.:

tia

Depends on what are the terms of your contract. When I first got my license, my first car under my dad's name. No need to put my name as the insurance he got covers any driver. But the excess is higher for driver below age 25 IIRC. So anyone can drive but if the driver that get into accident is below 25, they use the higher excess.