Beei 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 Mapking sucks in Malaysia.. Even some big malls not in the maps.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 Yes quite agree. Today is 1st day using so I left it on all the time & found the warnings, like speed-cam approaching & it kept telling me to slow down as I was exceeding the speed limit, quite irritating. Anyway I wil only use it when I going to places I not familiar with. Otherwise I wil switch it off. I wil also use it on the boat when I go Indo & Sarawak for deep sea fishing trips. It can mark the good fishing spots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 I am yet to use it in MY. I want to try it out on my next driving holiday up north. At least I dont have to worry about getting lost next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 Maps not auto switch lah.. But for my GPS, only the mapking maps are linked for Singapore and Malaysia.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paffendorf Neutral Newbie November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 Oh yes!...that's why i 'shut' the voice down a bit muahahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 Oh OK. So every time I go JB, I must manually switch over to MY maps then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 (edited) Thats not the GPS fault but cause of the lousy map..... Quote Wahhh...good pricing. Mine almost wana spolit liao. My girl keep pressing it like computer game. One common problem is GPS dont really work in ulu places in malaysia. My friends tried thier other brand GPS too. Same as mine, just blank blank one. In places just off tebrau highway nia. In KL also give imaginary left/right turnings that simply doesnt exist. So dont go too far off from the main road....even with GPS. Edited November 18, 2008 by Dwoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 Hahaha. But the "ladies" voice not too bad lah. Not like a robots electronic voice. Maybe just for fun I wil switch the language to some foreign language once in awhile to get everyone in the car laughing at the strange pronunciations our roads wil have in a foreign language. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 Switch map??? I'm using garmin... no need what. Although not linked, but still can see where you're going.... unless you're navigating. But then, if not linked, then you cannot chart a route in the first place. Buy maps???? Look closer in the internet lah..... dunno about Shinco... but for garmin, got heaps of them (free) and I've got a very good detailed Thai routable map, all ready for Samui. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 My set has an Icon which allows me to select maps from Sin, Mal, Brunei Sarawak & several others. If I try to Navigate indoors with no satellite signal, it automatically goes to Sarawak maps. Shinco I dont think got free maps. Maybe thats why the set is so cheap. Anyway I dont really need maps other than SG & MY for my driving around only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 yo Dude! Welcome to world of gps. actually how do u switch map in shinco? from mapking, u switch to which MY map?? I know Holux can have both mapking and malsing! that's why it is really a good buy Most SG/MY garmin users using Malsing maps. Good enuff to topo MY/SG. So where u heading for next for driving holiday? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear November 18, 2008 Share November 18, 2008 (edited) Being portable.... i bring it for my holidays where I rent a car..... then load in the appropriate country map. Was in Phuket and used a free map was horrible.... roads not updated and got lost... then only used it in general instead of navigating. Now after searching around.... no more using those crappy free maps (which the site owner will want you to donate to get the updated version) ..... got proper "free" ones.... Edited November 18, 2008 by Dwoon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 There is an Icon which allows u to select maps. Just go in & choose the map u want. This shinco cannot run other 3rd party maps. Only MapKing fr SG & dont know what for MY maps. So far I never tried the MY maps. Actually I dont mind going to Kuantan again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 18, 2008 Author Share November 18, 2008 Well I guess what they say is true then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acevin Clutched November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 Yes. SLA maps are one of the best. IMHO... Not automatic.. need auto switch to malsing. Shinco also got include malsing MY map inside. When u navigate, it will prompt u whether destination, mid-pt or etc.. u can select mid-pt for each of the stop. Though I hv not tried different mid-pts, but I tink shld b ok.. Also I dun let it plan my route. One thing no gd abt this is that, even if u select shortest route, the route may not neccessarily be the shortest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acevin Clutched November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 (edited) Edited November 19, 2008 by Acevin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acevin Clutched November 19, 2008 Share November 19, 2008 Quote Oh yes!...that's why i 'shut' the voice down a bit muahahaha.... Hahaha... sama sama.. find it irritating, so set voice to low level. Spatial view gd enough.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 21, 2008 Author Share November 21, 2008 In SG I prefer to use the Mapking maps. It also has MalSin maps for Sg, west & east MY so it pretty much covers alot of areas. I have started programming many locations in SG & MY into "favourites" so I can recall them easily. I do have a problem using "search" cos it seems many locations will not b revealed tru "search" It has to b manually programmed into "Favourites" for future easy reference. Im using some MY maps to store places like Kuantan, Melaka, Karak Hway etc. I tried the mid-point function & it seems to work ok. Main problem is if u miss a mid-point, the GPS keeps telling u to turn back to it although I have already passed it by & am already on my way to the next mid-point. I guess I must get used to the "fine tuning" of the setting of "favourite" locations. I wil try out multiple mid-points soon & see if it chooses the shortest route for me. One thing I cannot stand is the constant "nagging" to "please slow down" . Another thing is the non-existent speed cameras it keeps warning me about. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...