BMW 520I - Damn Cheap !!!

Gs300999s

Just came back from PML,

320 Basic : $118k

320 Professional : $126K

120 : $106K

All price are to be reg before 2009, with an Open Cat COE bidded $7k previously.

Err, Cfm the 120, which is the Cabriolet is going for only $106K?????

Or u meant the 118i, the 5 dr H/B?

Just got back from their showroom, asking 148k . . . i think if negotiate till the cow comes home, can get below 145k !!!

That's why if you noticed ..loads of 5 ser on the road. Mostly ah peks.

5 ser drop standard already. Most people can own one

That's why if you noticed ..loads of 5 ser on the road. Mostly ah peks.

5 ser drop standard already. Most people can own one

agreed most people can own a 5er

everyone can own a chery

heh [;)]

Err, Cfm the 120, which is the Cabriolet is going for only $106K?????

Or u meant the 118i, the 5 dr H/B?

I saw the newspaper ad saying the 118i is going at below 100K..

actually i do agree with the pricing , the 118i really shouldnt be more then $100k

if PML tag it at about $90k+, i think there will be quite a few converts from the Japanese side.

actually i do agree with the pricing , the 118i really shouldnt be more then $100k

if PML tag it at about $90k+, i think there will be quite a few converts from the Japanese side.

if one look at it from a hatch market point of view, it really shouldn't be more than 100K..there will be few takers if it is 100K or more..however if one is looking at the OMV level of 31K and as a premium brand, most rivals with cars of such OMV level usually do sell over 100K..e.g the A3 is selling over 100K even when the OMV is below 30K..

The A3 omv is > 30k lah. Was considering the 118i few wks back.. The options included really cannot make it for the BM. The comfort level of the car is worse than the golf.

btw a golf and a 118i.. i rather take the vw.

The A3 OMV which is over 30K is the turbo charged one if I'm not wrong. that one is selling at close to A4 level..

The normal A3 is only 28K OMV and it was selling at above 100K two months ago. there are two different versions of the A3.

118 options CMI...I agree with you on tat..but if you look at the price vs omv and resale value in future, you will lose much less if you take the 118 compared to the A3...you just use the depreciation calculator to do your sums and you will realise most of the time people lose very little when they buy a basic entry level car from PML..and tat is why their mkt share is so solid..you buy the A3 or the A4 from PA you will bleed big time when you want to sell it in future (unless you keep it for min 5yrs or more) even though the options and features are much much better than BMW..

Edited by Damienic

The A3 OMV which is over 30K is the turbo charged one if I'm not wrong. that one is selling at close to A4 level..

The normal A3 is only 28K OMV and it was selling at above 100K two months ago. there are two different versions of the A3.

118 options CMI...I agree with you on tat..but if you look at the price vs omv and resale value in future, you will lose much less if you take the 118 compared to the A3...you just use the depreciation calculator to do your sums and you will realise most of the time people lose very little when they buy a basic entry level car from PML..and tat is why their mkt share is so solid..you buy the A3 or the A4 from PA you will bleed big time when you want to sell it in future (unless you keep it for min 5yrs or more) even though the options and features are much much better than BMW..

Depreciate is high.. i agree.. but frankly, what are you looking for when you get a BM or and Audi ? I think it probably the badge as well as the comfort and also preformance lor..else you can settle for top of the line japanese car.

118i.. offer you the badge.. but you will always be remind that it the cheapest of the them all.. Comfort is not there.. and preformance. i think the A3 does a better job.

Depreciate is high.. i agree.. but frankly, what are you looking for when you get a BM or and Audi ? I think it probably the badge as well as the comfort and also preformance lor..else you can settle for top of the line japanese car.

118i.. offer you the badge.. but you will always be remind that it the cheapest of the them all.. Comfort is not there.. and preformance. i think the A3 does a better job.

Of cos..tat is why Audi AD is still doing pretty well...there are still considerable segment of the people who dun mind paying more for the audi A3 and A4s cos simply in terms of build quality and options, it beats the 118s and the 320s hands down..but you must also know that in SG the cost of buying a car is an awful lot and depreciation is a huge concern esp with how our system is being structured...buyers of new cars faced obscene depreciation for the 1st two yrs..

why is BMW in SG such an attractive proposition to many people? cos they can buy a car with the prestigious badge and lose much less compared to other similar segment contis such as Volvo, Audi, Saab and Alfa Romeo(only Mercs and BMW is exception). Lots of the 320 owners can get the 320 at 118K..after 1yr it can be sold at 96-98K..the loss is 20-22k..for the A4 (let's talk abt the prev A4 model instead of the new one cos there isn't much new A4 on sale in 2nd hand mkt yet to give an accurate pic), lots of people are buying it at 130K but when they turn one yr old, the value is worth around 94-96K at most..how much is the loss? easily 12-14K more than wat the 320 owners loses....why is that so? our resale mkt is simply just determined based on Paper value + Body value. As we all know, paper value very much hinges on OMV + COE..when the 320 is selling at 118K with 38K OMV and the old A4 is selling at 128-130K with OMV of 35K, the paper value after 1 yr is already lower for the A4...and somemore you are paying a considerably higher price for the new audi to begin with...and to make matters worse, even the body value is higher for the 320 than the A4 despite the A4 itself being loaded with much more options than the 320..so when one want to sell it after 2-3yrs down the road, the loss for the Audi is tremendously higher than the BMW even though we can all talk abt how CMI the basic BMW is.

There is no right or wrong here...actually I'm not here to argue whether one is wise or unwise to get the A3 or 118 but just throwing light onto why the 118 can be a much more attractive proposition than the A3 for some people...it depends on wat one's priorites are..as you point out, wat is one buying a luxury conti for in the first place? for the quality? or just for badge and value? or? if one can really afford it, then by all means go for the Audi instead of the BMW..That is why I have always suspected that the buyers of entry level Audis are a different breed from the entry level BMW..their focus and priorites are rather different..even the wealth level I suspect is different... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Damienic

i think BMW has lost it's appeal.. becoming more like normal cars.. my friend earn only 5k a month can drive a 5 series.. we all know it's below 200K .. like lost it's appeal

If you want to compare this way, 5 series also have owners earning millions a year. Don't think you will find that with a Cherry. Not to make a dig, clearly the whole car resale prices are treading down.

agreed most people can own a 5er

everyone can own a chery

heh [;)]

There are people who can afford a new 5er anytime but will not bite.

But I doubt richmen want to bet their image and safety with a Chery. [:p] Maybe Chery best bet is to get a Minister to buy it and endorse its safety and performance.

Regards,

If you want to compare this way, 5 series also have owners earning millions a year. Don't think you will find that with a Cherry. Not to make a dig, clearly the whole car resale prices are treading down.

But 5 series are becoming like nothing special... Merc still upkeep their standard.

I was quite surprising to find a used latest model C200 going for $8K per yr.

C200

Like i said, it's the car prices treading down, combine with the increasing wealth of Sillyporeans in latter years.

i think BMW has lost it's appeal.. becoming more like normal cars.. my friend earn only 5k a month can drive a 5 series.. we all know it's below 200K .. like lost it's appeal

5K drive 5 series?? is he living on grass or wat?? [laugh]

I was quite surprising to find a used latest model C200 going for $8K per yr.

C200

Like i said, it's the car prices treading down, combine with the increasing wealth of Sillyporeans in latter years.

I thought C-class is the entry level executive car from Mercz. I once read from a web articule that people in the west usually don't go for car loan. Partly the car price is lower and they usually drive it for many many years.

Regards,