Paddie 3rd Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Heard frm many taht the 520 boh lutt (underpowered)... maybe shld test drive 1st. I was one of those who thought the 520i would be underpowered but I was very pleasantly surprised when I test drove it. Of course it's not super fast but it's very acceptable considering the specs, and the 6-speed auto is a LOT better than the Merc E200's 5-speeder. Makes the car feel responsive and crisp, unlike the Merc which has 184bhp but is jerky and unrefined. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 I think the second hand 523 are only going for $8.5k per annum dep at your online website. How much is a new $145K 520's dep? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...0/bmw_520i.html how can the 156 bhp 200nm bmw do century sprint in 8.2 seconds? when c200 kompressor, 184 bhp, 9 seconds, audi A4 160bhp and 250nm, 8.6 seconds. is it the bmw got damn tok kong transmission? or is it typo? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Its definitely a typo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 According to carbuyer.com.sg it is 10.6s. http://www.carbuyer.com.sg/car-prices-specs/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Its cheap now bcos a new BMW 5-series will be out soon, next year if not wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 sounds more likely but i didn't want to discount the possibility given my limited knowledge of BMW or conti in general. so better clarify first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xuexun Neutral Newbie November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 the 520i 2L engine not enough power one.. tried before, not shiok to drive. i'm currently driving the e46 318i already hiam no power already, now they put the engine into the 5 series... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Wa lau eh... a car costing $148k is considered cheap? You must be very rich! Even if I got the money, I will still think twice throwing $148k into a car leh..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crius Neutral Newbie November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 I agree man, my dad drives the E60 520i with the old 2.2 litre IL-6, and he complains that even that is underpowered. I think the 2.5 litre and up engines are best suited for this car. But then again, we can't really blame PML for bringing in a 2.0 520i given how C&C was pricing the E200s. After the 2.2 520 was phased out, the entry level was the 523i and it was priced significantly above the price of the E200s. Some people will just do a base model to base model comparison and conclude that BMW 5 series is not worth it. So oh well, discerning drivers will just have to choose for themselves which they want :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 I think the second hand 523 are only going for $8.5k per annum dep at your online website. How much is a new $145K 520's dep? I dont think so. $8.5k is too low, something fishy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Heard frm many taht the 520 boh lutt (underpowered)... maybe shld test drive 1st. I was one of those who thought the 520i would be underpowered but I was very pleasantly surprised when I test drove it. Of course it's not super fast but it's very acceptable considering the specs, and the 6-speed auto is a LOT better than the Merc E200's 5-speeder. Makes the car feel responsive and crisp, unlike the Merc which has 184bhp but is jerky and unrefined. test driving alone is not "chun" becos there is a lot of psychological influences. the fact that it is a 6 speeder already will give you the feel of power. for good built and value for money , nothing beats the volvo S80 2.5T to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 you think S80 2.5 is fun ?? wait til you lay yr hands on the T6 thats evail man !! but frankly, the current S80 dont appeal to me. Too long and not wide enough. no commanding presence 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Dude, this isnt a discussion of which is the more wicked car becos then, the T6 is also no big deal. I'm comparing the price/category with the 520i which is the topic lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 (edited) I would rather get a secondhand 523i upwards anytime. doesnt mean the 520i 4cyc is lousy anyway the current 320i and 520i are basically targetting mostly inexperienced buyers who probably care more for other things such as brand, build, etc. I've the same thought too. Those who gotten the 0 series as new are likely to be more brand conscious than performance/technology. It probably seems cheap to them at $148K, so long it is a BMW. Regards, Edited November 17, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 (edited) sorry i digressed .... btw .. my 2 cts just to stay online ... 520i with IL4 SUCKS !! Edited November 17, 2008 by Comnao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 Heard frm many taht the 520 boh lutt (underpowered)... maybe shld test drive 1st. no need to...I'm telling you that its underpowered cos i drive many of these diff beemers @ work 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qr25vet Clutched November 17, 2008 Share November 17, 2008 i can slap a BMW badge on a pile of dung and ppl will still buy it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...